We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Pietrino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Pietrino to your Saves list
Hotel San Pietrino
Via Giovanni Bettolo, 43, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Tiburon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A short walk from the Vatican Museum this tiny hotel has some very cheerful people working there. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were down and it was cleaned daily. My single room was 69 Euros per night and it was perfect. There are plenty of small restaurants nearby and a small neighborhood feel. There is a loaner pc for those needing to check their email and the wifi was consistent and worked well throughout my stay.
A 24 hour supply of (ginseng) espressos, lattes cold filtered water and teas.
Downside: No 24 hour reception, if you receive a call after hours it won't go through. No big deal for me. Also, tv is 100% Italian, if you can go without CNN it's certainly worth it. The towels are a bit skimpy although they were in perfect condition but again, considering the price and location no complaints.
Finally the hotel provides free loaner bicycles, subject to availability. If you are lucky enough to get one it is a wonderful way to see Rome (if you're a bit of a dare devil).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
50
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndon, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel SanPietrino is a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in Rome. It is an easy 15-minute walk from the Vatican Museums and from St. Peter's Basilica. No breakfast is served, but they provide coffee, tea and hot chocolate and have a small refrigerator that guests can store juice in. There is a small shop just around the corner that sells juice and fruit. There is a small, nice & inexpensive panetteria (bakery) a 5-minute walk from the hotel on Via Barletta, 2 or 3 blocks on the right before you reach the Ottaviano Metro station. There is a small opening and stairs down to the bakery. You will look in and see tons of choices and many Italians waiting in the line which moves quickly. There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a nice pizza place (with other selections available) a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Go out the front door, turn right and walk to Via Della Guiliana and turn left. Go one or two blocks (the street name changes to Via Leone IV) and it is located on the right-hand side at the northwest corner of the block. We thought it was better (and definitely more friendly and less expensive) than Ristorante Tesone off Viale Angelico, recommended by the hotel. The staff at the hotel are friendly, helpful and speak good English. The rooms have hair dryers, but no wash cloths, shampoo or bar soap. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Ottaviano Metro station. We were in Rome for 3 days and bought a 3-day pass that is good for the metro, city buses and city tram. Very good deal, although it's a bit of work to figure out what bus/tram routes are good for you. We sprung for a city map at the local giornalaio (newstand) for 5 euro. It has routes, but no timetables. Also, be aware most Italian timetables are different for feriale (weekday) and festa (holidays and Sundays). Like many European hotels, the room is small, but comfortable. This is our second stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First trip to Europe ever and the San Pietrino made it perfect. Safe, clean and an extremely helpful, professional and polite staff. (They answered countless emails prior to the trip!) Our room was on the corner over looking the intersection. We slept with the window open and drifted off in the cool Italian air listening to the soft sounds of the city at night. Never anything overbearing to keep us awake. A 10 minute walk from the Vatican, one of the locations for the hop on / hop off bus tours and easy to find taxis. A block over from a major boulevard (that leads to the Vatican) with lots of shops and restaurants. One of the best is just around the corner below the hotel - Ristorante Pastarella. Yum! Some of the best breads, cheeses and wines. Rome began our 2 1/2 week tour through Italy and it was the absolute best way to start!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando,Fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the vatican, there are many restaurants in the area, but I deff recommend to eat breakfast at the cafe in front of the hotel. It is very cheap and the food is great. The reason we stayed at this hotel is because we found it the most economic in rome, but when we arrive we realized that it was a bit to expensive for what it has. The WiFi works perfectly, the signal it's strong, the room was very clean. The only down side was that we stayed in room #1 and when you open the window you realize is a patio, so you can't leave your window open at night, when it's hot. The staff was ok, they weren't that rude or friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

San Pietrino was conveniently located about a 15 minute walk from the Vatican. The best part about this little hotel is the food places around it. Across the street, there is a tiny cafe owned by Alfredo and Lia - so adorable and cheap! Also across the street is the Osteria de Angelo, where we had our first meal in Rome. It remained the best Carbonara we had on our trip. There was also a fantastic bakery about a block away (kind of underground) with everything you could hope for - yum. The staff was not particularly friendly, but one of the two ladies we met was at least helpful. The place was clean and quiet, with comfy beds and good A/C. Good wireless signal. We chose to take the discounted taxi service which was nice. Elevator was quaint and difficult to get in to - but that wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Based on Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor's recommendations, we decided to stay at this budget hotel near the Vatican.

Upon our arrival, the receptionist -- without introducing herself or welcoming us -- aggressively grabbed our luggage and told us to sit down while they finished cleaning our room (it was already after 2pm at this point).

When we enquired where the cups for the coffee were, the receptionist sarcastically replied "I already told you!" My mom and I could not believe what we were hearing. In short, the receptionist that afternoon gave us the rudest welcome we had ever experienced in our lives.

That said, the hotel is in a convenient location if you are planning to visit the Vatican and it's very clean. At about 100 euros/night, it offers good value for a budget hotel in Rome.

If the hotel owner could get rid of the grumpy, impolite staff, we would consider staying here again. Until then, this place should be avoided!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpietrino, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Pietrino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ladies,

I would like to apologyse for the behavior that I had to you, because wasn’t a professional one.
It was a very busy day and certainly without realizing I answered in an uncivilized manner.
I am sorry that you had a bad impression about me, because it’s not my way so..
All I can say is that you are always wellcome in our hotel and for sure next time won’t be any inconvenience.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here over the summer. Loved the staff. Henry was very accommodating. Drove us to the airport and to our cruise ship Very clean and quaint. Quiet neighborhood. Close to the Vatican Great place to eat across street osteria del Angelo. Would stay here again most definitely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Pietrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietrino

Address: Via Giovanni Bettolo, 43, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#219 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is beautifully decorated with terracotta floors and tasteful wood furniture. The extras such as TV/DVD/ADSL - are unusual for a place in this category. Housed in a 19th-century palazzo, it's a simple and cosy place, run by young and service-oriented staff providing 24/7 full support to the guests. No breakfast is provided - no great loss as it's surrounded by convenient cafes and restaurants. Some guides consider it the best value for money in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Pietrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietrino Hotel
San Pietrino Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Pietrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.