We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fellini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fellini to your Saves list
Hotel Fellini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rasella, 56, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #271 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was fine for what we needed it for, but had just been spoilt in Sorrento so probably seemed worse than what it was. Our room was really small, although it was very clean. It had a good sized bathroom and shower which was appreciated. The breakfast however was below average which I found a little disappointing. When we checked in, we had the most helpful and friendly receptionist but unfortunately she went away on holiday that day so that was the last we saw of her, no other staff matched up.
The most annoying thing I found was the irratic times that the cleaners did the rooms. We were interrupted in the morning before we had even gone out for the day twice and then when we went back to the hotel late afternoon after sight seeing we found the room had not yet been cleaned!
The location was very good, but there are other nice hotels closer to the sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    203
    51
    24
    11
See reviews for
60
220
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at hotel Fellini for 5 nights and loved our stay. The reception staff are wonderful. The first day we arrived they helped us with many questions and booked a taxi service for our departure. The room we stayed in was 305 and was a small but clean room. We had free wifi in our room which was very good. Breakfast was next door and service was lovely. The food was fresh and a good start to a full day of sight seeing. My parents are staying here later in the month, so I hope they get the same great service and enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here at the end of July 2012. We were two couples. One couple had the attic room with the terrace and one couple had room 502. 502 is a small room with a small bathroom, but it had all we needed. Good double glazing so there was no road noise. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was good. The hotel provides a hair dryer and free toiletries. The attic room was very nice and the terrace was perfect, especially for an evening drink. The attic room had a fridge. Be aware that in the attic room, you hear more noise, especially the clock bells from the presidential palace. All hotel areas are beautifully clean.

The hotel location is perfect for sightseeing as you are 5 minutes walk from the Trevi fountain and the restaurants around there. You are also 5 minutes walk from the nearest metro and buses. The hotel staff were excellent and extremely helpful when asked for travel and sightseeing advice.

We also made us of the hotel taxi service from e airport. Very easy and good value for 4 people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Fellini during in July. My husband and I in the attic with a HUGE private rooftop terrace overlooking the splendor of Rome. Our kds (16 and 18) stayed on the 3rd floor in a nice size apartment unit. Staff suggested they bring in an extra twin bed for their privacy and it worked out great- they didn't even charge for it. We had a very old fashioned tiny elevator that took us back and forth and went up and down a lot of very cool marble stairs. Lobby was small but staff was so patient, understanding and helpful with everything. 10 minute walk to METRO, 5 minute walk to Trevi and right across from a grocery store and tons of restaurants. The only reason I put 4/5 was because the beds weren't the most comfortable but you had as many blankets and pillows that you needed. Free breakfast was a delicious value and time saving. Wonderful woman made you as many cafe lattes and espressos as you desired so you could start your day off on the right foot. The more time we spent in Rome (3 days) the more I appreciated this B and B!

Room Tip: Attic room itself is adequate but the private terrace is invaluable. If you get another room, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I'll start with the good. The two ladies in the reception could have not been more friendly and helpful. From the time I made the reservation everything was handled in a very timely and efficient manner. The limo service that the hotel arranged for us was excellent. The location was very good. Quite close to Trevi Fountain and The Spanish Steps. Not far from a train station. Also the breakfast was good. Now the not so good. Our room was right down the hall from reception and therefore was very noisy, sometimes well into late evening. The room was in need of updating. The curtains and bedspreads looked like they had not been changed since the 70's. The walls were in need of painting and were chipped everywhere. Our first floor view was that of an alley that smelled strongly of urine. The beds were adequate but squeaked whenever you turned or moved. The shower drained very slowly. Unless I was given a better room, I don't think I would frequent this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Rome and we only had three nights here. The location of Fellini has proved to be ideal with evrything that we wanted to see, from the Vatican to Trevi (on the doorstep) to Colosseum being within reasonable walking distance. The rooms are pretty small, but you only need to sleep and wash in the room. Breakfast is a simple continental and was included in our room rate. Right from the pre-arranged airport pickup, the staff have been very helpful. We have had great directions and assistance about anything to do with the hotel and tourist attractions. There are also plenty of small street restaurants within a stone's throw so you can experience authentic Italian food, wine and beer - not to mention the excellent espresso. We would definitely recommend this hotel and if we ever come back to Rome, this is where we will stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My second visit to Rome in 5 years and I am so glad that I decided to stay at this great little hotel once again. It seemed even better. I arranged a taxi via the hotel to meet us at the airport and we were met on time by a helpful rep of the cab company who told us where our baggage reclaim point was and where to go after that to meet the taxi driver. A warm welcome from Diane on reception who explained all that we needed to know and offered us a map and the best places to visit. We didnt need this as I had been before, but well worth it for first time visitors. Yes, the room is a little small, but it and the shower room were spotlessly clean (and I'm fussy!) and well decorated. Very comfortable double bed, which we were glad of after long days of walking about. We had a corner room right next to the tunnel on the first floor, but unless you open both sets of double glazing you wont hear it. There was more noise from other rooms and walls must be a bit thin. The A/C worked fine and we just used that as required. How much time do you spend in the room anyway ??? - The size is quite adequate.
Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided each time.
The location is just great for an easy level stroll to the heart of the main tourist attractions. 5 mins to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Vatican City would take you about 30 mins across the river, but you can just get on the Metro at Barberini station (5 mins walk) and go 2 stops down the line.
Breakfast is now served 2 doors down at a litte restaurant. I dont see what others have complained about in this respect. We were there for 5 days and witnessed the 2 friendly ladies very busy re-stocking the plates of fresh pastries, hams, cheeses, bread, fruit salad etc etc. as well as serving coffee and clearing up. It can get a little busy ( service is from 7am - 10am), but we never failed to get a seat and enough to eat.

We ate in the evening at several of the many restaurant choices in the alleyways that lead to the Trevi and on to the Piazza's of the pantheon and Navona. There's plenty of choice for your euro and I dont expect you will be disappointed at any. One of the nearest to the Hotel "Le Presidente" is very expensive, and we witnessed a number of parties querying the undecipherable, scribbled bill. Food was OK, but not worth the extra money.

If you are looking for tours, try Real Rome Tours. google them. Took 2 tours that were very good indeed.
I would certainly reccommend this hotel to friends and stay there again on other visits.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep with windows open get room furthest from tunnel. Corner rooms may be slightly l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fellini

Address: Via Rasella, 56, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in Rome
#262 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fellini 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fellini is located just a few steps away from the bustle and romance of the legendary Trevi Fountain, whose extraordinary surroundings have formed the backdrop for the creation of true cinematic masterpieces, such as “La Dolce Vita”. Hotel Fellini is ideally located near Piazza di Spagna, Via Veneto, and Piazza Barberini with the metro station of the same name. Other attractions in the city are also within easy walking distance: the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. Hotel Fellini offers rooms and Junior Suites which have recently been refurbished down to the smallest detail and equipped with air conditioning, telephone, an ADSL socket, satellite TV and a safe. In addition it offers its clientele free Wi-Fi connection and a generous complimentary buffet breakfast. Our multi-lingual and highly professional staff are always at the full disposal of our guests to answer queries or to offer advice on: restaurants, tours of the city and transfers to and from the airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fellini Hotel Rome
Fellini Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.