We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarin Hotel to your Saves list
Clarin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palermo 36, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #514 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was close to termini station but was a decent walk from the main attractions.

Pros: clean rooms, breakfast included, good price for Rome with private ensuite, and friendly staff.

Cons: very small room and bathroom, no a/c, no hot water at night, lack of water during some periods of the day, no safe, and very outdated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    35
    19
    20
See reviews for
26
56
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nov-k
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during my week visit to Roma. Very nice hotel, if you plan to running around the Roma and them come back to calm and nice place for sleep that is your hotel. very friendly staff, good breakfasts. very good located, 10 minutes by walk to railway station, and 15 minutes to Coleseo and Piazza Vinezia.
when i will go to Roma again on the next year i plan to stay in this hotel !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My brother and I stayed at the Hotel Clarin from 7th to 11th June 2011. The hotel is very basic but clean and friendly staff. Very well placed for a base. Continental breakfast was adequate. If you want a clean place to simply put your head down, it will fit the bill.
Many cafes close to the hotel and even an Irish Bar at the top of VIa Nacionale.

One important warning. we bought a 1 Euro ticket for the bus to go to St. Peters. These tickets are valid for 75 minutes. We got a number 64 and when it stopped we were amazed at how packed it was. We managed to squeeze on and two stops later some more people got on. There were two inspectors and when we produced our tickets we were escorted off the bus and fined 100 euros because we had not validated them when we got on. We did not know that we had to but even if we had, we could not reach the machine because of the crowd in the bus. The inspector pretended to be sympathetic because we were tourists but he insisted that he had to fine us. He offered to settle for 50 euros each if we paid on the spot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel I was a bit unsure of the hotel as you have to buzz to get in and the hotel is up on the second floor but it seems like its up higher as there are lots of steps. The elevator is like a lift from a 100 years ago and we got a great laugh off it when we saw it first. Despite the initial unsureness our room was spacious, although the bathroom was small. It was very clean and the room was serviced daily with fresh towels provided. The staff were friendly especially the older man who despite having very little english and us having very little italian, was very helpful and was always cheerful and smiling. The location of this hotel is perfect and is very near the train and metro and we had no problem getting around. A few mins walk to the colleseum, trevi fountain and pantheon. The only downpoint is that the breakfast was terrible with very little choice. I would recommend it to a friend if they were looking for somewhere ideally located but didn't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The hotel is located less than a mile from the train station and there are plenty fo resturants in the area. There was a market within walking distance, they also sold liquor and beer. You could walk to all major tourist locations from there, if you didnt want to walk a cab was inexpensive and the train was close. The staffg was great, helped with directions and even went and got a cellphone my wife left at a nearby resturant. It was not the fanciest place but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

i've been in clarin hotel a few months ago.. it vas a very nice trip! the location of the hotel was very usefull to go all around the city, and it was very easy to approach al the main bus and train stations. the people at the reception were very kind for each request, and at our disposal really 24 hurs!
the rooms were clean and quite.
very nice hotel i reccomand you for your journy, with family, friends or partner!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

If you need a place to sleep in Rome, this is a great value for your money.
Great location, very simple and clean.
Don't expect any luxury, but a convenient place for a good sleep after a long day in Rome.
And hey, this is a LOT!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarin Hotel

Address: Via Palermo 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.