We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast
via Emanuele Filiberto, 161, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,346 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not too great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at Roman and Italian 2 for one week in August. First of all it is not very easy to find as there is only a tiny sign on the door and nothing else. The area is a typical "Chinese town" (at first we thought "Are we really in Rome?") but quite conveniently located: 10 minutes to Termini train station, 15 minutes Colosseum.
The room was clean but the shower is very small, water doesn't drain properly and keeps changing temperature. Needlees to say there is no Internet or WI-Fi connection and no air conditioning.
The staff can't really advise you on anything about the city but otherwise quite friendly. There is usually no one at B&B during the day and the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
23
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

Reading previous reviews again, i was annoyed at people not knowing about roman tax as everywhere has it in rome and it aint much so dont worry, We stayed 8th to 10th of august, we stayed in the ensuite which was spacious, clean, had aircon, fridge, numerous chests and drawers and wardrobe. We got there and the woman was waiting for us, gave us keys, took money, the 2euro tax par person per night staying and left... We got changed and left ourselves, arrived back at 10:30pm, up next morning at 7, breakfast which consisted of a crossiant and coffee, out at 8.30am..back again at 11pm...left the next morning.. Now why im saying this is that if you want to have a hotel and plan on staying there alot during your visit to Rome go ahead but dont book here, but if you only resting your head at night book here and you wont be disappointed.. It is cheap, clean, safe, perfect location for the tourists..we spent 98 euros for two people two nights in an ensuite with breakfast with lovely coffee which was very reasonable. Little coffee shop at corner of street you can get some water and sandwiches in from as the kitchen in the bed and breakfast is locked. Defo worth the stay:-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stood here with a couple of friends. For the first night we got a room in Roman and Italian 1, then we moved to Roman and Italian 2.
Both experiences were bad. First, when we arrived, there was a note in the entrance that said, 'please call me at this cell phone number'. One of us had a cell phone from a south american country. We had to make a very expensive call to reach Alessandra. She came about 20 minutes later and gave us one key. You only get one key, even if you are three people, which can be a problem if one of you needs to go to the hotel for whatever the reason. Because once she gives you the key, no one will stay at the hotel to open the door for you.... We found our room was dirty, and the mattress was old, even for European standards, everything was sort of dirty. When showering, water accumulated and didn't drain properly, which I found quite disgusting.
Alessandra didn't give us any soap. We had to ask for soap and she gave us some. The room was very noisy, you could hear ambulances, cars, people hanging out outside.
The blanket we got looked as if it had never been washed. Ever. And I am allergic, so...

Then we had to go to Roman and Italian 2, which is located in a more dangerous area, as we were told by locals who lived there. It's very close to Termini. The door to the building was open when we got there, and there was a lady who worked there, she was very rude and when we asked if there was a hotel in the building, she said no. We had our suitcases and everything. After going back and forth trying to find the place, we asked her again and she did say there was a "pensione" in the building. Ok, like an inn and a hotel are totally different things. I should say we speak Italian, just for the record. She was just being nasty. When we finally found the place, we also had key-related problems.... One of my friends was supposed to leave at 2pm the next day, so during "breakfast" (very poor by the way) we asked them if somebody could open the door for my friend who had to leave early and they refused. They expected us to come to the hotel with our friend, open the door for her, and go back to our tour. Like we had nothing better to do. Then, after check-out, there was no place where we could leave our luggage. Or a key to come get it anyway. So we had to go to Termini and leave our luggage there. So if you think that you have to pay to leave your luggage after you check out at 11AM, plus they charge you a 2 euro fee per person per day (or something, I can't remember exactly, but it wasn't listed on their website)..... then you realize you are better off staying somewhere else really..........Oh, I forgot to mention, when we moved to Roman and Italian 2, there was no soap there either, and this time when we asked, they didn't have any, so we had to use the hand sanitizer I happened to have.......
The room was less dirty, but the bathroom was nasty. And the girl who prepares breakfast always acts as if she were annoyed, so whenever you talk to her, you get the impression that you are bothering her or something.
There are SO MANY BETTER PLACES IN ROME for the same MONEY or LESS!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This little B and B is a great deal for the (relatively small) sum we paid. I was traveling with my boyfriend, and when we arrived, Alessandra was there to greet us and give us any info about getting around Rome we needed. We stayed in the "smallest" room (which wasn't small at all) for 5 days. The bed, cabinets, and dresser were quite large. The room also came with a small refrigerator, tv, and air conditioning (huzzah!). There are only three rooms, one of which is ensuite, so even if you share a bathroom, there are a max of 4 people using it. The breakfast is pretty simple (crunchy bread and jam with lemon croissant), and they'll make you a cafe latte or espresso to go with it. You have your own keys so you can come and go as you please. The whole experience sort of felt like staying in someone's apartment as a guest (minus being able to use the kitchen, which is locked up). The building is literally on top of the metro, which makes getting around pretty simple. The only cautionary statement I can throw in is that Via Emanuel Filberto is on a rather busy street. I wasn't that bothered by it, but if you're super sensitive to noise, it might be a little bothersome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Alessandra was just the sweetest person you can meet at Customer Service lobby. We stayed at the new Roman and Italian II which just open this year 2011.
The rooms was tastefully and beautifully decorated, it was big and spacious and the ceilings was so high, i was taken pleasantly surprised at how beatiful the place was especially for the economical prices. There were many storage spaces, a 3 chest drawer, a cupboard and a couch.
The bathrooms was a good comfy size and super clean, the heater was working perfect as i am terrified of the cold. We took the shared bathrooms which was not a problem at all as we are just sharing with 1 more other couple only.

Its a historical looking apartment buidling, once you enter the big wooden frame door, you will be greeted by a very pretty landscape courtyard, find Scalla B entrance on your left then you take a quaint lift up to second floor (or u can easily take the stairs) which where the bed and breakfast is. A great place for a getaway from the eternal noise and hustle and bustle, its super quiet and so serene. Would not reccommend if your group is a bunch of noisy party fellas though... as the place is really quite quiet, so you would need be consientious about the other guests staying there as well.

Breakfast is also included, simple crossiants and jam but i love love the coffee she makes!!

As we check in during evening time, we did not want to waste any moment of our time in the city and we took "an evening stroll out to the Colosseum to see the sunset" ( i never thought i will ever say that in my lifetime) which is about 10-15mins stroll away from the B&B. Supermarket (Conad) is nearby, which is one of the cheaper of the supermarkets. There is also an Asian sundry shop nearby, if your missing the Asian food already.

Its simply a Fantastic location nearby to all the great must see tourist location around the Rome City. All you need to do is to get a Roma Pass and your set for a perfect Roman Holiday!!.

If your looking for a beautiful, romantic, cosy spacious room with nice bathrooms, serene and quiet but fantastic strategic location... look no more ... and book this place!!.

Thanks Alessandra for your hospitality

Hugs

J-son and Esther
(from Malaysia)

Room Tip: Middle room is bigger but is shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

My partner and I arrived at Roman Italian after a very long journey overnight from the south of england. Although we couldn't quite find the entrance at first (Note- you need to ring the buzzer for Roman Italian by the big gold doors next to the steps to Manzoni metro station) once we were in we were warmly welcomed. Although the owner did not speak much English, we were shown our rooms, and given details of times for breakfast (fresh coffee and delicious fresh croissants) and after filling out a small form with our names etc, and left for a nap before exploring. We were aware Rome was small, but we were so surprised to find how close we could walk to everywhere, and Roman Italian was trully the perfect base as you could walk everywhere for for the Vatican, the metro was on our door stop! We were asked if we wanted our room cleaned and asked to leave the room unlocked if we did. We didnt do this however, as there was no safety depoisit box, and were carrying cash. As for sleeping, Rome is a noisy city, but the windows are double glased and as long as they are closed overnight the noise was not a problem, even my light sleeper fiance (who proposed in Rome!) slept fine with some ear plugs.
I can safely say that when I return to Rome, Roman Italian will be the first place I look to stay! Its the home of my Roman Holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Very nice and clean hostel! Suitable for couples. It is a family run hostel with three rooms. Location is great for sightseeing, it is on the main road, beside the metro line. Breakfast is regular italian: croissant, coffee and juice. Hosts were very nice and helpful. We had a great time. It is a little noisy due to traffic on the main road. If we again plan a trip to Rome, Roman and Italian would be our choice. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast

Address: via Emanuele Filiberto, 161, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,346 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman And Italian b&b
Roman And Italian Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.