We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant retreat from busy Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carpediem Roma Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Carpediem Roma Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carpediem Roma Golf Club
Via di Marco Simone 80 | Guidonia Montecelio, 00012 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #567 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant retreat from busy Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this resort easily, knowing that it is beside Marco Simone Golf Course and were quickly admitted to the grounds by the gate keeper. Check in was speedy and welcoming, with an escort to our suite. The staff in reception were consistently pleasant and helpful, responding to our various needs cheerfully, including translation, researching online events, and providing suggestions.

The unit we were assigned was clean, cool and comfortable. We had a ground floor unit overlooking the golf course and enjoyed sitting on our patio to admire the tranquil view at breakfast and lunch when we were in the resort. The daily cleaning (covered apparently by the mandatory club fee) included linen changes several times a week, and was offered largely at our convenience. The unit was compact and nicely appointed and we were able to prepare a number of meals there. The queen-sized bed seemed overly firm on the first night, but we quickly adapted. There was also a pull-out sofa which we did not use in addition to an upholstered chair and coffee table in the living area. The bathroom included a Jacuzzi style bathtub with both 'fixed' and 'hand held' shower options.

There was a group dinner at a local restaurant on Sunday night, with good food, which was well priced and served in a lovely outdoor dining area. This gave us an opportunity to meet our neighbours, who came quite literally from around the world. The following day, several of the men played golf at the resort next door, although they only managed 9 holes as it was very hot.

We were notified ahead of time that this resort is located well outside of Rome, which suited us nicely. We did get into Rome several times, but also enjoyed touring the countryside and many small, pretty villages. The shuttle bus does make two trips a day to the subway for those who do not arrange for their own transportation. A number of our fellow travelers also used the train system to go on Day trips to Naples and Capri which apparently worked well.

There is a good restaurant on the grounds, with several delicious menu options available each day, and we had dinner there several nights with our new friends. There are also laundry facilities (which we did not use) and a parking garage on site. An elevator provides access to the upper floor units. We visited a nearby grocery store several times to purchase a good assortment of groceries.

We enjoyed ourselves at Carpe Diem Romana, but we were happy to have our own transportation so we could explore independently. Given the heat, we would have liked to have access to an outdoor pool - we did not bother with the indoor pool. There is Internet available, but at an extraordinary expense.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor unit with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Carpediem Roma offered a much needed holiday. After a hectic year we just relaxed in the resort. Although tired after long trips to Rome city, Vence, Florence& Pisa etc. we would regain our energy on entering the resort. We loved walking the silent roads or just gazing at the sheep grazing in lush green meadows. The small hamlets in the neat vicinity were so picturesque.

The facilities were too good. The apartment with a living, tiny kitchen and bedroom was comfy. The jaczzi in the bath tub, the well-equipped kitchen, comfy beds, cleanliness maintained by staff, the earthy deco, the pool, sauna, gym and the warn friendliness of the receptionists all need mention.

Room Tip: We had a room in ground floor in front of restaurant. No problems whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were very pleased with our accommodations at this resort. The apartment was clean, spacious and modern. The kitchen had everything we needed for our simple breakfasts and lunches. We really appreciated the aircondition as it was well over 100F most of the days we were in Rome. The 2 ladies that checked us in were very friendly and informative.

One thing we weren't expecting was the 35 euro charge per person to use the pool and other services. We went and looked at the pool - but having to rent a bathing cap and slippers, along with the fact that it was an indoor pool and very hot and humid in the pool room, helped us decide not to use the pool at all. They also offered massages (for a price) - but the massage room was also very warm and humid. But - the pool and spa area were nicely done and very clean.

We did not try the cafe/restaurant at the resort.

Downsides - The resort is in the middle of no-where and there isn't anything to do nearby. We had rented a car and realized that we wouldn't have enjoyed are stay here without it. We drove 20 minutes on the weekend (and nearly an hour in traffic on weekdays) to the nearest train station, parked our car for 1.5 euros for the day and hopped the train (another 15-25 minute ride, depending on where you get off) into Rome. The hotel has a shuttle that runs to and from the train station, but you need to sign up the night before and the last shuttle is around 6:00 pm. The only time we were actually at the resort was early morning, after dinner and at night.

There are two grocery stores near the resort, but nothing is within walking distance.

It was a great "home base" for us, but if you want to hang around a "resort" - you won't be happy here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were told that this resort was on the outskirts of Rome but it is actually in the middle of no-where and car hire is essential. The shuttle bus service is extremely limited and only goes a couple of times a day. It is also a substantial distance from the nearest Metro and getting a taxi back is extremely expensive as is using the shuttle for a week. There is no possibility of spending the evening in Rome if you want to get the shuttle bus back. If you want to use the shuttle bus to go to the supermarket it goes in the middle of the day meaning that you can do nothing else.

Furnishings are basic and not what I would expect from Club la Costa accommodation. The knives were useless and it took several requests to get a replacement with one receptionist being extremely unhelpful. The range of utensils are also very limited. The couple running the cafe are lovely but the opening hours are limited and they close completely one day. The cafe is the only place on site offering some basic food provisions.

We had checked before we went and were told that CLC members should not be charged the mandatory charge of 35 Euros per person for use of the pool etc - but the hotel tried to charge us anyway.

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel and did not think it lived up to CLC standards. There is nothing to do in the evenings so children will be totally bored. I would expect CLC to do better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending two glorious weeks at this fabulous resort. We came to enjoy Rome and by goodness we did just that.

Our arrival and check in was made so easy by the delightful Maya, nothing could have been easier or more simple. She and Mara, the other receptionist, were a pleasure to deal with, enabling us to enjoy our holiday to the full. Departure was also made very simple.

We had hired a car for the full two weeks and both Maya and Mara gave us excellent suggestions on where to visit out of Rome.

The resort runs a shuttle bus to Rebibbia, the last stop on the Metro and apart from weekend and our first day we chose to use this form of transport. For just 3 euros a day, each way, you enjoy a stress free gateway to Rome. Try the hop on hop off bus for a day in Rome it is great to orientate yourself and runs rugularly with a headphone commentary. Your ticket includes the Metro and ATAC buses for the day, so excellent value.

The cafe/restaurant is excellently run by Michela and Enzo who provided nutritious, varied and enjoyable meals for a good value price, on the evenings we did not wish to leave the site, and their Cappuchino was to die for.

The indoor swimming pool is large and beautifully cared for. At the same location is a sauna, steam room and beauty treatments and the gym, while small, has all the exercise equipment and weights you could ask for.

We will reurn to Rome in a few years and WE WILL stay at Carpedium Roma Gold Club again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We were only two people but had plenty of space. Could just have accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were expecting the worst after all the awful reviews but were pleasantly surprised at the resort. Tip one is to put the Simone Golf Club as the destination as sat navs found this and the resort entrance is right next door.
We were early to book in and had no problem getting access to our apartment no 210 which overlooked the golf course. The apartment and the resort in general were very clean and tidy, but all a bit tired looking. A coat of paint would improve it straight away. The bed was comfortable and the Jacuzzi bath and air conditioning was very welcomed. The kitchen was fine with a full oven, microwave and a dishwasher. There were several English news and an English film channel on the 2 flat screen TV’s. The underground car park was really useful as the weather was very warm. There was also a small laundry room in the basement.
The little onsite bar/restaurant was fine for a quick meal and all the food was very good value. It also stocked basic foods. The local supermarket was only a 10 min drive and here you could get everything. We ate in the golf club for Sunday lunch, which was an easy but very warm 15 min stroll. The meal was a set one course choice costing 12.50€ and was very good. Most other nights we ate in the site restaurant.
The indoor swimming pool was a decent size for a proper swim, with Jacuzzi jets along one side. The sauna and steam room looked very nice but I didn't try them, but all were spotless clean, as was the whole resort.
Although we had a car we used the shuttle service into Rome very good value at 6€ return. We did drive to Tivoli, Asoli and Frascati, all only a short drive and worth visiting. The only organised tour we took was Rome at night, definitely a different view of many of the major sites. The only downside was the young guide was not very informative and the coach driver got lost returning to the resort at well past midnight.
We only stayed 5 nights which was enough for visiting Rome. The resort is fine and the bad reviews are in my opinion totally uncalled for. The staff are more than helpful, they would arrange free taxis to the local restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. Although it is a bit out of the way it is an excellent base for visiting Rome and other local areas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

After reading all the reviews, I wasn't expecting too much from the place. Having said that, we found the staff to be very good & helpful. The accommodation was disappointing though. Very small, not enough light & all the things we had come to expect of Club la Costa weren't here. Make sure you pack a small dvd player if bringing children as there wasn't one for the evenings. Plug adaptors a must & would recommend a plug in bug zapper as the mosquitos were everywhere (although we couldn't really blame carpediem for that) we later learnt that constant air con would stop them coming in. They do not provide dishwasher tablets (as I was used to) or cleaning cloths, products etc & worst of all was that there was no washing machine & we were a family of 5. You have to use the 1 washing machine in the basement/garage area which costs 5Euros per wash & the same for drying! The kitchen is not very well stocked but has bare basics which I discovered when attempting to make lasagne & couldn't because there wasn't any tray to cook it in! The plinth at base of kitchen cupboards kept falling off aswell which was annoying. We were expecting to have to pay a lot for the indoor pool but after our son was almost blinded by the strength of the chlorine in water & all our swimming costumes were bleached, they didn't charge us. I think the machine that regulated it wasn't working properly, which they hadn't been aware of. After a few days of settling in though we just got on with it & spent most of our time exploring Rome & other parts of Italy which was fantastic so it was a good base but you have to get a car! They provide a shuttle service to the metro but it I think it would limit you as you couldn't stay out in Rome in the evening & there is so much more to see throughout Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carpediem Roma Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpediem Roma Golf Club

Address: Via di Marco Simone 80 | Guidonia Montecelio, 00012 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Carpediem Roma Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpediem Roma Golf Club Hotel Rome
Carpediem Roma Hotel
Carpediem Roma Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpediem Roma Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.