We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Roma Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stendhal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stendhal Hotel to your Saves list
Stendhal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #274 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Roma Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed hotel at a reasonable price. We liked it so much we stayed there twice. Having stayed at higher priced and rated Rome hotels I would recommend this one wholeheartedly!! Breakfast was good but not fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Customer,
we are glad welcome your feedback about the Stendhal, the services, the staff and the rooms.
We waiting for your third stay to continue our journey together.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    225
    48
    21
    19
See reviews for
53
285
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in May this year. We had a wonderful time, the hotel staff were really helpful whenever we needed assistance and recommended some great places to eat nearby as well.

The rooms are very small, but are nicely decorated and clean.

It's in a great location as well, just a minute walk away from the train and you can walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

The excellent service made it one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Customer,
we are delighted to read your comments about the Stendhal,our services,our rooms and our staff.
We will be happy to welcome you soonest to strengthen your satisfaction.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We found the location to be the perfect spot! Easy walking (2 minutes) to METRO .
Great food with walking distance. Easy walking to Trevi fountain, Spanish steps area.

The hotel is very clean with a great atmosphere. We had a nice room on top floor, no problem with noise from outside or inside!

Breakfast included scrambled eggs, meats and some nice Sweets.

Was surprised by a nice bottle of bubbly the first night!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Customer,
we are very happy to receive your good review for our services and our staff.
These are the reasons that help us grow even more.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Hotel is a wee gem in the heart of Rome and we found it hard to fault. Located close to the very many interesting sights and restaurants in the Trevi Fountain area. Rooms are clean and delightfully appointed, staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the best in our many years of travelling the world. With the very reasonable rates we would give it a solid 9 and a half out of ten for our Rome experience and the half point missing that you are wondering about is only there in case for some inexplicable reason there is something better out there, but I doubt this.
So to sum up this is a must stay for your Rome experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Customer,
a lot of thanks from all the staff for your positive review.
we are well happy to have offered you our good service and we hope to welcome you for your next visit in Rome.
many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Stendhal Hotel is a small centrally located hotel. Simplistic in design with good prompt service. Stayed here in September for one night before going on a cruise. Excellent location - walking distance to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, shops, theatre and restaurants. Ten minutes to the train station. Room was very small, good size bathroom and very clean. As a solo traveller, I was accommodated in a room with a single bed which was not to my liking :( However, the bed was very comfortable as I had a sound sleep, good clean and crisp linen though furniture was outdated. Breakfast was satisfactory with average service. The hotel is fairly quiet considering it was located in the city centre. I believe the rate of about Euros 220 was a bit pricey for a four star hotel with limited services.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Customer,
many thanks from all the staff for your positive review.
We like to upgrade room in case of our availability, unfortunately september is high season and rarely we have rooms availability.
The rooms are elegantly decorated, and the furnishings is in tuning with the whole atmosphere of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you for your next visit in Rome to assign a free upgrade.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ok, so our room was quite small, but it had every facility we could wish for, and everything was clean and refreshed each day. The staff were super, and happy to help with any enquiries. The continental breakfast was very good, and served in lovely library-style rooms (which double as a lougn bar at night). Great location 3 minutes from Barberini metro stop and easy walk to many of Romes key attractions. Will definitely try to stay here again if we come to Rome

Room Tip: Lower floors room our friends had was much bigger. Not all have a bath, so ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear customer,
we are very happy to receive your good review for our services and our staff.
These are the reasons that help us grow even more.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked 2 double rooms for 5 nights, but upon arrival we were told that no rooms were available and we were moved to Hotel Barocco for 1 night (lovely hotel). The management apologized for the mistake later by sending us a bottle of sparkling wine.

The location was perfect ... walking distance to most of the attractions and plenty of restaurants around.

The rooms were small and dark (windows to the back of the building), but cozy and comfortable, although the supplied laptops did not work.

Typical continental breakfast was served on the main floor in a lovely (small) space that acts as a breakfast room, library / business centre and a bar, depending on time of day.

The staff (especially Paolo) were very friendly and helpful.

I was surprised to be charged for a telephone call (made with the help of the front desk person), which was supposed to be a collect call (to AMEX). We were in a rush to catch our train, so I didn't question it.

Room Tip: Watch out for thiefs in Rome! Our iPad was stolen while we were dining at the restaurant just around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Customer,
terrible feeling to get there and having to change hotels.
We are very sorry to have given a bad welcome but often the situation is intractable and, in a small hotel like Stendhal, has no chance to fix errors or misunderstandings.
We have rooms with a free laptop, usually it is an upgrade, but its use is linked to honesty of the former client. In your case, one laptop was working but the other had the connection off-line; we was unable to fixed and our tecnical assistence is not on duty at the weekend.
About the problem to the telephone call, we suggest to ask directly to the AMEX why a collect call number, suggested directly from their office, have a charge !
Of course we take this matter to improve our service to avoid other trouble.
We hope to meet you soonest to offer our best welcome.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stendhal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stendhal Hotel

Address: Via Del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#169 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stendhal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Stendhal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stendhal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.