We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Rome ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pinewood Hotel to your Saves list
Pinewood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della pineta Sacchetti,43, 00167 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #573 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My trip to Rome ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I thought the hotel was very nice. They only open the restaurant when groups request it. The people working there are very nice. No laundry facilities have to pay a lot to send them out. Far away from attractions and airport. Pinewood hotel Roma

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Client,
thank for your review and for the nice words about of staff.
We do have laundry facilities with same day delivery and of course....like in any other hotel...they are under payment.
Regarding the hotel location, we are just 25 minutes driving from Fiumicino Airport, which is outside town, and very close to some of the main attractions: we are just 3 metro stops, 8 minutes, from Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica!
Hoping to wellcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    161
    90
    26
    35
See reviews for
110
118
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
grenoble
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

In Rome for 3 nights at the Pinewood hotel rome. good choice because of their excellent value for money. Our room, a double room superior, booked on their home page , was on the 4th floor with balcony with view on the pinewood which is in front of the hotel. Classic lobby with bar aresa, Elegant corridor, large and clean room with a small bathroom but with marmo with bath tub. The friendly staff was always helpful and gave us many suggestion about the public transpostation: The Cornelia metro station is at 500 mt. , very easy than to reach the historical center and the Vatican City. Around the hotel there are many typical italian "trattoria" where we had our dinner and where they have very cheap prices. We could park our car free of charge at the hotel private parking place. In The breakfast room, located on the ground floor is served a buffet breakfast american style, but if you ask for an italian coffee ( espresso) the waiters will bring it to you . We had good time in this hotel , for sure we will suggest this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: superior room have jacuzzi idromassage bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Mr Mariano,
thank you so much for your positive review. The most important thing for us is to make all our guests happy with their stay.
Actually you have pointed out our main goals: keep all rooms clean and comfortable, offer quality food at breakfast, be friendly and assist our guests in all their needs, all with "excellent value for money".
As you have stated, we are very close to the metro and bus station, so that our guests usually forget their car in our parking place for the entire stay and move by public means of transportation.
We really hope to wellcome you once again in the future and thank you for choosing Pinewood Hotel Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

i have seen different reviews on this hotel. few negative, but many positive. i decided to book this hotel for my trip to Rome with my family ( 2 adults and 3 children - 3 - 5 and 9 years) . we asked for a family room and got it on our arrival. a setting room with 2 sofa bed, a bathroom with jacuzzi idromassage shower, a sleepping room with a large bed and a baby cot for our little baby. It was great solution the apartment was large , clean and very comfortable. The staff incredible friendly , the italian are always very warm and friendly with the children. We could park our car at the hotel private parking place free of charge. The hotel is not in the center but it is good located in a quite area, facing a bid pinewood. the metro station is at only 500 mt. and in 6 stop we were in the historical center, from where we could visiting Rome by walking. The breakfast is served on the groud floor with fresh and various product. In this hotel we could feel at home with their family atmosphere. WI.FI. connection was included in the room price which was very reasonable. they have good value for money. we left this hotel with the intention to come again for our next City trip to Rome and will sugest this hotel to our other friends with family .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Direttore at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mrs. Stefy,
thank you for your preference beeing with us at the Pinewood Hotel Rome with your family. We thank you for your positive review , it is important for us to see that our attentions on behalf of our clientele are appreciated and are bringing satisfaction to our clients. We hope to see yuou again at the Pinewood Hotel Rome.
We tyake this opportunity to wish you and your family a good start in this new year.
Gennaro Guida, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very bad, thanks to the manager. This man was very rude to us on several occasions, he made you feel like you were not wanted. Upon arrival he was sitting beneath a "no smoking" sign smoking, then he came up to me and I had to deal with the stench on his breath. When I asked questions he would say things like "like i told you yesterday", with a pompous look on his face. He gave us directions twice, both were either wrong or completely lacking, such as not telling us that the "bus" we were to be on was actually a train.
The room was very small, our was a "family" room but was extremely tiny and crowded. They just threw some hideaway beds in a very small room and called it a "family" room. Don't stay at this hotel, you will find better service and accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear client,
first of all we are very sorry for your complaint, because our main goal is to make all our clients satisfied and happy with their stay.
To answer your review it is very important to us to point out the following.
Your reservation was for a FAMILY ROOM FOR 3 PERSONS, but at you arrival you were 5 persons. We did our best to arrange the room you had booked in order to accomodate the whole family. Actually, we gave you a Family Room of 32 square meters, with two connected bedrooms, one with one double bed, the other with two single beds and a sofa bed. In between a comfortable bathroom with bath and shower column, both equipped with jacuzzi system.
We did not charge you any supplement for the two extra beds, and we also served free breakfast to one of the two extra persons.
We are glad to inform that at the Pinewood Hotel it is also possible to book FAMILY SUITES FOR 5 PERSONS, of 38 square meters, made of 2 connecting bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sitting room. All at a reasonable price
We sincerely tell you we did our best to offer you a good service and make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Anyhow, we would really like to wellcome you once again in the future, so that you can change you mind on Pinewood Hotel Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week as part of school group trip, and I was pleased with the hotel. The owner and staff are extremely nice and did a great job with our large group. A few of us arrived early and the staff offered to store our bags in a locked closet, which made it no problem to go back out until the rooms were ready.

The property is located a 10 minute walk from the Cornelia metro. It's not centrally located for touring, but was a good match for our purposes: i.e. nothing too tempting for high schoolers! There are a couple of restaurants, coffee shops, and a market walking distance from the hotel. It's not far from the Vatican, which made it a good location for us since our group performed there several times. There's a place out front for buses and taxis to drop off. Across the street is a park. I didn't go in but several in my group went running in the park during the day. I probably would not go there after dark.

The public spaces of the hotel worked well for us. The lobby is large with a number of couches and a small bar which made it convenient for the adults to gather in the evening, and for the group to convene before the bus arrived. There is also a terrace which the kids used to hang out even though it was chilly. It was nice for them to have a separate place to socialize but where they were contained. I bet it's wonderful when the weather is warm. We all went up to the terrace New Year's Eve and watched the fireworks. There were a few evenings where people brought cheese, crackers and wine and hung out in the lobby and the hotel staff was very gracious about that. I paid $20 Euro for the week for wi-fi and never had trouble getting on. It was fine for email, but a little slow.

The hotel serves a breakfast buffet with good coffee, two kinds of juice, 3 flavors of yogurt, cereal, granola, milk, rolls, cheese, ham, sweet buns, and fresh fruit (apples & clementines the week I was there). The staff does a good job of keeping it replenished. There is not an actual restaurant, but the hotel did provide 3 dinners for our group and all were far better than I expected based on TA reviews. The bread was a little stale, but the pastas, soup, and salad were very good. Some meats were better than others.

Now for the rooms. This is a typical European-style hotel room, and because I'd read the reviews here I wasn't disappointed. These are not rooms you want to hang in, but everything was very clean and I was comfortable. My single room had a twin bed, a little desk with a drawer, a small closet, a cabinet that looks like it may have held a fridge at one time, a small shelf over the bed, a suitcase stand, a safe, and a bathroom. It was not roomy, but fine. I pack light so it wasn't a problem, but there is very little storage space. There is an individual thermostat in each room, and I was comfortable, but others in the hotel had rooms that were very warm and did not seem to respond to thermostat changes. My room was adjacent to the elevator and was on the side of the hotel. I always bring a noise machine and I slept soundly.

The bathroom was roomy enough with a narrow but full length tub/shower with jets. I just used the basic shower and it was fine. I had great water pressure and the water was hot. Several others in my group complained of not having hot water for showers and they were not happy about it. There were no luxurious towels and only a sink top to put things on, but there was a hairdryer and lighted magnifying mirror. Towels and complementary toiletries were always restocked.

The hotel has some wear and tear in the rooms. The "chrome" finish was broken off the bidet handle, there were were scuff marks on the wall. I didn't think this was a big deal in a hotel that caters to tour groups. Don't expect an American-style 4-star hotel and I think you would have a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mr Thorn,
thank you for your preference beeing with us at the Pinewood Hotel Rome. We thank you for your positive review.
We are glad you found our staff helpful and nice. it is important for us to see that our attentions on our clients are appreciated.
As you have noticed we are in a good location, right in front of the Sacchetti Pinewood, where most of our guest have the possibility to go running. We are at walking distance from good restaurants and different kind of shops. Bus and metro stops are also very close.
Also thank you for the nice words regarding our restaurant and bar service. You are right our terrace facing the pinewood is very much appreciated by our guests all over spring, summer and autumn.
Of course we will take into account your detailed description of our rooms and bathrooms to make them better and better.
We really hope to wellcome you once again at the Pinewood Hotel Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

we ( me, my wife and our 2 children ) have been in Rome for Urbi et orbi and booked this four star hotel connected with the Vatican City by subway. We booked a Family room for 4 persons, we received exactly what we book for, a sitting room with 2 sofa beds for our children, a bathroom and a sleepping room for me and my wife, Big space and all clean. The Cornelia Metro station is at only 500 mt. from the Pinewood Hotel Rome and in 4 stops we have been in St. Peter Square on Dec. 25th. 2013 for the Urbi et Orbi. It was a big emotion. The hotel is clean and our room was very quite, a family room superior with balcony facing the pinewood which is just in front of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and assist us for all our need like restaurant suggestion, public transpostation info, time opening different museum , churches and more. The breakfast was served on the ground floor , the 2 grils at the service were professional and they were smiling every morning. We can suggest this hotel for family travelling in 4 or even 5 persons. The staff is very friendly with the children

Room Tip: for 4 or even for 5 person ask for a "family room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Direttore at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I would like to personally thank you for your kind and helpful review, very detailled even on the good connection of our hotel to the Vatican City.
I am very glad that you found that our staff was always professional and welcoming. I am especially happy that our" Family room" was to your satisfaction and you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Pinewood Hotel Rome were central to ensuring a memorable stay in the heart of the Eternal City. Thank you for havin bringing to our attention the good behavior of our 2 girls serving the breakfast in our restaurant
We make every effort to ensure that each guest’s stay is as enjoyable as possible, and we are always happy to personalize the breakfast service – offering always fresh product to our clients. Thank you once again for staying at our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we booked this four star hotel on their home page. We arrived by car to Rome and were looking for an hotel with parking place. The Pinewood Hotel Rome offer the parking place for cars, free of charge. The hotel is at 500 mt. from the Cornelia metro station, our room was clean and large with wi.fi. internet connection. the breakfast was reach even if it was not really a british breakfast, but we could have an italian cappuccino every morning. The staff was friendly and helpful . They gave us good suggestion for restaurant and also for the public transportation. We had a good stay, all was to our satisfaction

Room Tip: room with balcony and pinewood view are superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review.
Actually most of our guest appreciate our parking place, where they can leave thier car free of charge for the entire stay and use metro and bus to easily move around the city. The hotel is just at 500 mt. from the Cornelia metro station and only 50 mt. from the bus stop.
We are glad you found our room clean and large and our italian cappuccino good at breakfast. Our staff to be friendly and helpful is of great importance to us.
We really hope you will come back for you next visit in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Via della pineta Sacchetti,43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.