We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits and Misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Villa Tassoni

Save Saved
You added Residence Villa Tassoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Villa Tassoni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Medaglie d'oro 138 | Andrea Cambiaghi, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #638 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Hits and Misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hits:
- Good location in a quiet neighborhood close to the Vatican. Bus stop just across the street.
- Charming building with a bit of history
- Large room. Ours was humongous suite for a triple. It had one bedroom and two double beds at the living area, a hallway, kitchen, dining table.
- Nice owner (actually saw him only during check-in) and the Filipino staff who was likewise very helpful and informative
Misses:
- The building badly needs renovation
- Rooms are dated
- the bathroom fittings are corroded
- Hot water is inconsistent
- Circuit breaker always tripped if you turn on an appliance simultaneous with the water heater. The breaker was inside the room so we learned how to fix it ourselves after the first incident.
- The young Italian staff seemed more focused on his computer than with guests
- Kitchen utensils are old and mismatched
- Partial shower partition

It was an overall OK, comfortable stay for 2 nights and the rate was very reasonable. I can just imagine how much nicer this place would be if certain improvements were made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    33
    19
    11
See reviews for
23
37
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was not a bad place to stay, it was a pretty good location and a reasonable price. It just wasn't up to scratch. We were in appartment 39, maybe others were better but things were lacking in the kitchen area, bathroom was horrible - we avoided using the shower because space was so tight, shower cracked and hot water didn't last long. Also radiators didn't work so we couldn't dry clothes, crockery and cutlery incomplete and not matching and it was not a nice view on one side. We didn't even get toilet paper topped up when we asked. For the money paid and the lack of attention to detail it just wasn't good enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Every year for the last 18 years, I have flown into Rome, crossing its seven fabled hills and ancient ruins to land at Leonardo Da Vinci-Fiumicino Airport. From there I shuttle my way through the Rome of today - busy streets, busy people, magnificent historic buildings untouched by time...I am on my way to my home away from home, the Villa Tassoni.

Located in the heart of a traditional Roman neighborhood, it is surrounded by fruit, vegetable and flower shops, supermarket, pharmacy, banks, restaurants.

Once the destination of European travelers, the Villa Tassoni now welcomes other travelers wanting an authentic Roman experience.

Passing through the wrought iron cancello (gate) and the glass lobby doors, I am welcomed by Sebastiano and staff. Each stay brings a new surprise - each air-conditioned non-smoking apartment and room is unique, with European style bed and bath, small safe for personal valuables; some include modest kitchenettes and/or balconies. There is an elevator, free washer/dryer and internet access. Airport shuttle, laundry and business center services are available.

In the mornings, I walk a short block to Bar Virgilio for my wake-up cappuccino and cornetto. I love to walk but often take the convenient 913 bus at the fermata (bus stop) across the street. The Villa Tassoni is just a few minutes away from all Rome has to offer...the Trevi Fountain, Coliseum, Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel, Vittorio Emanuele II monument, Via Veneto, Scalinata Spagna (Spanish Steps) and more, even the Central stain station.

After a dinner at the nearby excellent Il Peperoncino Dispettoso, I look forward to returning to the Villa Tassoni. The owners and staff have become like family to me.

Come and stay, and for you, too, the Villa Tassoni will become your home away from home in Rome.

Irene C. Petaluma CA

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just returned form a stay at Villa Tassini. We are a family of four. Two teenage daughters and my wife and I. It is in a great location(if a little run down) and handy for the bus to the Metro.I am giving very good but our room was full of contradictions. Spacious and air conditioned, two beedrooms, a living room and a separate kitchen and bathroom. But, no kettle. If there had been -only one cup. A decent fridge for water orange juice etc-but only three glasses! We bought a bottle opener from the Carrefour located at the bottom of the hill. Take the bus. 913 or 907. It's too far to walk in August! Now, you are probably thinking that we should have complained but realistically there were so many little things but actually they didn't spoil our stay. It might bother you so that's why I mention it. Francesco was helpful and here is another but. It would be really useful to anyone staying to be given a sheet of useful stuff. Eg location of supermarket, bakery, Metro and wothwhile restaurants. These are things you will have to discover yourself which takes time. Here are some tips. Forget Roma pass and buy the three day travel ticket or the week CIS. The 907 bus downhill will take you to the Cipro Metro stop. The 913 will take you to Via Giulio Cesare and the Metro stops Ottaviano. Two very close restaurants of excellent value are Il peperoncino dispettoso which is up the hill two minutes and the other is across the road run by Francesco. There is no eating service at the hotel at all. A small bakery is also just up the hill before Il peperoncino restaurant. This hotel is on a very busy road. The traffic is constant and intrusive. Single glazed windows??? We were in room 31 and got used to it. You might not! the buses run frequently which is convenient but they are loud and run through the night which may affect your sleep! The price was excellent so I'm not complaining.It's good value but..... Enjoy!
PS You can't survive in Rome without a plan of the bus routes and numbers.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be less affected by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Francesco was a delightful host....told us how to get around. The place is really beautiful - besides an air conditioning leak - perfect. About a mile to walk to Vatican city - Cipro bus/subway 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio - bigger room with an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Rather than spending money in shared bathroom double in city center, this is so much better. Spacious air conditioned room with kitchen, clean nice bed and toilet, sofa bed, TV, we had a large balcony overlooking the quite neat neighborhood. With a bus stop in front of the hotel and metro at the end of the street, city center is not far at all and very easy to get to. Our 2.7 years son loved the room and kind of set up his stuff like his own room. Didn't need much interaction with the staff, but they have been helpful with information as required. Very nice stay for us

Room Tip: Room with balcony is preffered
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Villa Tassoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Villa Tassoni

Address: Viale Medaglie d'oro 138 | Andrea Cambiaghi, 00136 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Villa Tassoni 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tassoni , a lovely place to stay in Rome. It's within walking distance of the Vatican Museums nearby St. Peter's Basilica and close to the Metro stop on the A line named Cipro-Vatican Museums. Villa Tassoni offers a wide range of accommodations: rooms, studios, junior suite, suites and apartments. Residence Villa Tassoni provides services like an Hotel, such as daily cleaning, change towels twice a week, change sheets once a week, heating, receptionist service, satellite TV, direct telephon, internet free, answer-machine, safe, bath, hair-dryer and full equipped small kitchen. In holidays (sunday) it's not effected the cleaning service and rates do not include breakfast. Only the studios, suites and apartment come with a fully-equipped small kitchen (Self-Catering), offering everything you need for a comfortable, enjoyable visit to the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Villa Tassoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Villa Tassoni Hotel Rome
Residence Hotel Rome
Residence Hotel Tassoni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Villa Tassoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.