We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mozart to your Saves list
Hotel Mozart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Greci, 23/B, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #187 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a pensione, not a hotel. But they charge hotel rates (we paid less for the Intercontinental de la Ville atop the Spanish Steps the same trip). We were told to stay in the Vivaldi wing. That's down the street and around the corner and then into an old mews, in a strung together office building on a split level floor. Rickety one person 1890s cage elevator. No amenities in the sparsely furnished room. A pensione! OK when I was 19 and paying $10/night; not OK for anyone paying these rates and looking for a hotel with a modicum of amenities. Oh, and no taxis anywhere near, so get ready to lug your suitcases around till you find one. On arrival, the seasoned taxi driver had to stop and ask where it was, then let us off way short of the place. Scary. Be warned.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay that's a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, management at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear stewardsdad,
thank you for your time commenting our hotel. We aprecciate all comments: goods encrease our enthusiasm, bad make us grow especially when accurate.That’s why I read your comment again and again to better undestand the reason of your disappointmen. About the judgement of the room there’s not much I can say: it’s probably a matter of personal taste, but nevertheless I have to notice that the comfort, the size and the design of the rooms at the Vivaldi are the first reasons for their good comments they have on Hotel Mozart section as well as in the Viavaldi Luxury Rooms section (there is in fact one special page for Vivaldi Luxury Rooms here on Tripadvisor).
About the price, the revenue managment system that all hotels now adopt (every day has his own rate which increase as the availability decrease), sometimes may place our rate at the same position of a five star hotel (especially if this hotel has a lower rank on sites like Tripadvisor), but on the average this does not happen. Let me also notice on this behalf that it’s never convenient to compare 5 stars hotels with hotels of other categories only because in two different dates they have the same price because it’s obvious that you will find differences in the services. Hotel Mozart is a small, cozy hotel and we want to create a familiar atmosphere for our guests, with the help of our friendly staff, and the offer of our constantly renewed rooms and common areas. We are proud of what we are and wish not to look like something else! It’s for the traveller to look after what he wants using this amazing site as well as our official web site that really helps to get an idea of what you can expect from us before you leave your home.
About the lift, I have to admit that you are absolutely right: we are conscious this is not the lift that our guests deserve and this is why we have been “fighting” for years with the co-owners to change it and we are very happy to inform you that we recently succeded in our mediation and that soon we will have a brand new lift!!!
About the taxi: we are in the hart of the city, there is a first taxi stand on via del Corso (250 meters on the left from Vivaldi) a second at Spanish Steps (300 meters), a third at Piazza del Popolo (350 meters) and we constantly call taxi for our guests, which normaly arrive in 3-4 minutes. Nevertheless if you have been particularly unlucky with the taxi or did not ask us to find one for you, I don’t think it’s fair to ascribe it to Hotel Mozart.
I wish I could have a direct speech with you for better understanding the reasons of your hard review in order to improve the comunication of the image of Hotel Mozart: our mood follow the mood of our guests, and we are working hard for not leaving any guest disappointed.
I remain with my best regards,
Gabriele Vanzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    377
    90
    29
    20
See reviews for
184
385
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I just spent a week in Rome at this fabulous Hotel.
It is within walking distance form all the major sites including the Vatican (20 mins) Colosseum (30 mins) Pantheon (10 mins) and 5 mins to the Spanish Steps where there is a metro to take you anywhere else. It's even a shorter walk to the park where the Villa Borghese is located which is a great place to see the sunset.in particular the two brothers who are the concierge are


The staff at the Hotel are really obliging with suggestions for resturants, which there are plenty to choose from, or anything else you may need to inquire about like I did seeking out a dry cleaner and a barber both of which were within 2 minutes of the front door. In particular are the two brothers whom are the concierge's both of whom were of great assistance.

Breakfast was ample and the roof top bar which has great views over the roof tops of the surrounding environment was enjoyable after a day of sight seeing.
Of course it is right in the heart of the shopping district virtually on the corner of Via del Corso.
If you are looking for a great place, clean and friendly professional staff then Hotel Mozart is an easy choice.
My partner and I stayed in the Mozart Apartment which if its available and your in Rome for more than 4 nights I suggest you look at this option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Shoalbay,
thank you very much for your wondeful comment about us on Tripadvisor.
We could not have done better in the description of our location in the heart of the city! And... as you spoke about the sunset, how not to mention the breath-taking colours at sun rising at Trinità dei Monti, above Spanish Steps?
We are so glad your holiday in Rome worked out fine and that we have been able to help you in all your needs with Cesidio for your dinner reservations and the “bell boys brothers” Kiko and Jeff for your everyday needs (and not only for your luggage!!). It’s good to know you were also satisfied with our generous breakfast and had the chance to enjoy the beautiful roof terrace bar (weather is helping us a lot in this season!!).
Nice also to hear that we succeed with our guests of the Elite Apartments, cozy flats of 50 sq. m. for up to 4 people with all hotel services (breakfast included), within a two-minutes walk from the hotel: you or your friends will be maybe happy to know that now you can book them directly from our official web site also for only one day, keeping the same good value!
Thank you again for your words, and hope to seeing you some other time on this side of the Ocean!
Gabriele Vanzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

So centrally-located and yet so reasonably-priced. Loved the breakfast- good variety and lovely cakes. Tania, the waitress, remembered our preferred coffee on the second morning and her service was excellent and always with a smile. The other waitress, Jasmin, could be seen to give very friendly service too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear BT1956,
thank you very much for your warm review on Tripadvisor. The best rewards for those working in “hospitality” is having their work recognized and this is why we read immediatly your comment to Tania e Jasmin (and they were so happy, you should have seen them!): thank you very much indeed! These are the things that make our “breakfast ladies” keep serving our guests with passion and always with a smile, even in the most rushed moments.
No doubt our breakfast is one of the most complete and aboundant you can find in Rome (it may seems presumptious sayd from me, not even have I the experience to tell this, but this is what you actually read again and again in our comments and what you can pictures yoursel from the images of our official web-site ). Yet, for how much you can give in term of aboundancy and quality, everything has a special taste when served professionally, courteously and, when time allows, friendly!
And if we can do it for a reasonable price, your satisfaction is ours as well.
Tania, Jasmin and all the staff of the Hotel Mozart hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Mozart has been one of the best hotel experiences in a large city in years! The Staff was very helpful and polite, the breakfast was very good with all you (we) could ask for.
The room was nice and clean allthough a bit on the small side, but when in Rome do as the Romans, be outside. Infact the Hotel was really what you expect in the older part of a large city. It was cosy, "warm", and friendly and close to everything.
The Metro (Piazza Espagna) was just around the corner, as was the Spanish Steps. You could infact reach all of Rome's tourist attractions by foot. A round trip by foot, will take about 7 hours walking with good planning. You'll be fit as a fiddle when you come home.
Shopping street 10 meters round another corner (Via del Corso), with all that your creditcards can desire.
Many good restaurant near by (Restaurant Alfredo was very good).
So, if you and your partner would like a stay in one of the best cities in the world, in a very good and reasonable priced hotel, why not try Hotel Mozart. You might just enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Espen1960,
thank you so much for your nice words about us. To tell the truth it’s very easy to be of help to people like you because of your ever-smiling and friendly attitude, which makes our job a real pleasure! This said, it’s good to know that even our smallest rooms (you had one, I admit!) can’t affect the pleasure to stay with us in our beautiful city. You took advantage of our strategic position and I agree with you that Rome in this particular location keep you in shape: even if the Metro “Spagna” is at a few steps, you rarely feel the need to take it, because when you get outside the door you’re already in the middle of the beauty and you can walk almost to every tourist attraction and to the most well known boutiques of the city. Not to talk about restaurants, which are many, close and very good, as the one you mentioned.
So we really hope you’ll be with us again in the future, and if you do, please contact us directly, give us a call, write us an e-mail and this time we’ll give you our best welcome (and a bigger room!!)
Gabriele Vanzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

excellent location..clean rooms very good breakfast with homemade cakes friendly bilingual staff all very knowledgeable about Rome and the surrounding areas of interest. close to all the famous sites and metro at the Spanish steps

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear liz g,
thank you very much for your nice words! It’s always a pleasure to see you come back again and again at the Mozart and your opinion is especially important for us because it comes from “someome of the business”.
Rossella greets you from this pages and asks you how turned out the cake with the recipe that she gave you - if you already happened to use it, of course!
You know we’ll keep waiting for you with open arms and be sure that next time some of us will be visiting NY we will take advantage of your hints as you did with ours! See you soon!!
Gabriele Vanzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We began our Italy trip in Rome and we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Mozart. The staff was friendly and very helpful, our room and bathroom were very nice and actually quite large by European standards. The location is great - close to many sights and the metro. The breakfast was the best we had of all hotels in our Italy trip. We also really enjoyed the roof top bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SunderPdx,
thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor! We are so happy that we were able to help you in all your needs and that you appreciated our location as well as our rooms, our breakfast and our roof garden. It’s good to know that our hotel was a good start for your trip to Italy, and we hope everything worked out fine for you and that you really enjoyed our beautiful country!
And if you ever come back to Italy, please start again with Hotel Mozart!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Old world atmosphere and a lovely roof top terrace. The outstanding breakfast included fresh fruit and vegetables.

Our room/bathroom was small but very clean.The bagage and room cleaning personal were very efficient and friendly. A forgotten item was immediately sent to our homeadress.

Room Tip: The lift only goes as far as the third floor. Our room was one of two on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear lars l,
we are happy to know your item is already in your arms! They say when you forget something in someone’s home that means you want to come back! Hope this was your case! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Via dei Greci, 23/B, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#130 Family Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Rome
Hotel Mozart Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.