We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for value & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Antica Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Antica Roma to your Saves list
Residenza Antica Roma
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via del Tritone 82, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,060 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for value & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Older hotel (as are most in Rome), but clean and with modern amenities. Great location, close to Spanish steps and Trevi fountain, and the short walk from here to the Trevi fountain is along a wonderful semi-pedestrianized street (only an occasional taxi moving through the crowds of strolling gelato eaters). Good value and pleasant, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    173
    46
    19
    12
See reviews for
96
147
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family of three enjoyed four days here at the beginning of August. We found the staff to be friendly, courteous and efficient, and the breakfast buffet was both generous and delicious. The location was extremely convenient--we were able to do almost all of our sightseeing by foot. There was a taxi stand right around the corner from the hotel for those times when we did need transport. Although the weather was blazingly hot, our room was comfortable and cool. We hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staff is helpful especially Samson and Enzo who were always willing to call the tour company to make sure that we would get picked up.Location is great! Five minutes walking distance from Trevi Fountain. The room decor in the hotel is beautiful! I will be staying there again when I go back to Rome! Close to Bar Gelateria where the gelato, crepes, and cappuccino are great and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family visited for three days at the end of July to the first day of August. The location was great. Quick walk to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, great place to spend a couple hours after dinner. The staff, especially Nella, who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms was great! When we first arrived, it seemed a bit odd that our Quad room was behind a little office area, but that wore off quickly because no one sat there except for our first day. Being on the fifth floor gave us a nice private balcony as well. AC worked great, the elevator was old and small, but it worked. Our room was clean with a comfortable bed. The chairs could probably use some reupholstering. Free Wi-fi was nice. We would stay here again if we end up back in Roma!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used the hotel for our stay in Rome before and after our cruise of the Eastern Med. The central location and decent price make it great place to stay in central Rome.

The staff helped us find local tourist sights, restaurants, and arrange transportation. They will book a shuttle to the airport for only 50 Euros.

On both stays we arrived in the early morning at the hotel. On one trip our room was available and on the second trip the staff stowed our luggage and suggested places to tour based on how long it would take for our room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is close to Trevi Fountain and Plaza Barberini. Train station is a few minutes walk. The staff are extremely helpful and sociable. The rooms need remodelling. There's an old mustry smell as soon as you get in the room (reminds me it's an old building). Bed is basic. No extra pillows or bedding for the sofa bed, you need to ask early. Bathroom is small but clean. I wonder how an overweight person could fit in the shower or the washroom itself. Wifi is great. Be prepared to bring your own plug converter because all female plugs are Italian style and they have a very limited supply of converters for guests. The elevator is the smallest I've seen in my life. It fits 2 people only. If you're claustrophobic and refuse to take stairs, don't go here. There are good restraurants/ cafes nearby to eat. Overall, it's a good place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were guests of this hotel in June 2012 for our whistle stop tour of the beautiful city of Rome. We were using the hotel simply as a 'base' and were visiting for the purpose of exploring the city and spending as little time as possible in the hotel. On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and were swiftly checked in and shown directly to our room. We were pleased with the room size and the quality of decor, very extravagant indeed and made us feel like we were in a special city from the get go!! The beds were comfy, but were two beds pushed together rather than an actual double. The bathroom was clean, well designed and spacious. A perfect base for the intention of our stay. The staff on the reception desk were polite and helpful, provinding us with a map and setting us off in the right direction to explore the beautiful city. On departure we were asked about the quality of our night's sleep and our enjoyment of Roma...having got engaged on the Saturday we had very much enjoyed ourselves and the staff wished us their warm congratulations. This hotel is absolutely just right for a weekend of exploring the city, it is in a location as to which all of the main hot spots are easily accessible. We would return.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from rooms at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Antica Roma

Address: Via del Tritone 82, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,060 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Antica Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Antica Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Antica Roma Hotel Rome
Residenza Antica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Antica Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.