We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for you with a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Santa Rosa

Save Saved
You added Residence Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Storta 591 ( Via Cassia ), 00123 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #559 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for you with a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a very good place to stay when you have a car like we did. Probably not that good if you don't, because then you either have to walk about 3 km or take a bus.
As said we did have a car, so we drove to the La Storta train station, where we parked our car in a safe parking place (about 1,5 € for 12 hours) and then took the train to s.Pietro station (30 min). So it's very easy to reach Rome. You can also park the car at the hotel, if you're lucky, even right in front of your room/apartment.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's not a five star hotel, so don't exept luxury, but for the price it's exellent. The rooms were not 100% clean, but it wasn't that bad, that it coused any problems.

A funny thing was when the hotel's sweet dog and cat came every day just to hang out with us. They already came the first day, and behaved like we have always been best friends. :P

All in all we had a very nice stay. And we will return this summer again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really calm and essential. Management and services are very polite and attented. Is 15 km from the capital but we got an occasion to go to eat in the restaurants of typical kitchen laziale of the outskirts among the other few expensive.Very economic it is the railway line that brings us to S.Pietro in 25 minutes with an European solo of cost. We are found very well.The structure is out Rome, fundamental to have the auto. It deals with a complex with small villaswith completely independent. Good and new structure, clean, comforting and endowed with conditioned air. Staff of the available reception and parking lot inside. The rooms upstairs with television and bed comfortable...
Compliments !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here end of June and booked the place as it was supposed to be near the city center of Rome
We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member, but that was the first and the last time we saw any of the staff around
The place is/looks old and could really need some make-over
True, there is a living-room and a small kitchen, but the furniture belongs in a prison-environment and the cooking-utensil are totally out-dated (also from that same prison ?)
The bedroom was a kind of smelly and the sheets did not look and feel fresh and furthermore we found 2 dead cockroaches under the bed
after I took a shower the hot water was finished and my wife had to wait 30-45mins before we had sufficient hot water again
It took us almost 2 hours (by bus & train) to get to the city (and more than 2 hours back) as we missed the last bus from the station to the hotel (we were lucky that a friendly Italian couple gave us a lift back to the 'hotel')
I could say a lot more negative things about this place, but we just want to forget this experience as soon as possible
never again !

Room Tip: maybe we were unlucky to have a 'bad' room, but I am afraid you don't find good rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went there with my bf, the room was quite dirty (ex. the blanked had some stain, probably blood...), he got mycosis on his feet later... the hotel staff was gentle but absent. We had also problem with the shower, it was without hot water and the location was much far than expected (it took more than 1,5 h to reach Rome).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the description and the pictures everything looked fine when we booked
The location is a kind of remote (but that was fine for us), the buildings looked fine from the outside but the interior looked like military barracks
Spartan,s ober, old and old-fashioned furniture and bed, really not comfortable
We stayed here in June and we booked this place because the descrition said the rooms had aircon, however the electric power of the aircon was switched-off and upon our request for power for the aircon it was flatly denied (they said the nights were cool and aircon was not necessary)
Even we insisted on a working aircon, they just refused to switch it on !
We had booked booked for 5 nights but we left after the 3rd night, without any refund
We didn't care, we just wanted to suffer any longer

Our advice: STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place might be little bit far from central Rome, but If you have a car it's not a problem. First, It is hard to find parking place in central rome hotels, and it is expensive. Here in Santa rosa, you can park for free and the parking lot is huge. (So you can park easily). and there is a front door which works only with a key so it's very safe. (The daybefore I came here, the theft have broken my window in central rome parking lot. It is relatively dangerous in Rome for travellers with car) Santa rosa has kitchen to cook. So if you are in a family trip, this hotel offers you a safe place with a kitchen like your house!
Rush hour might be annoying but with this cheap price, It's tollerable. (Acutually I strongly recommend you because of the cheap price. You can't find any other place with this kind of price and service)
And everyday cute cat and dog welcome you in the front door.
Receptionist is very kind.
I once again recommend this place, especially those with a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Whilst reading these reviews please keep in mind that these apartments are much cheaper than almost any other options for visiting Rome.

We stayed for a week in a 1 bed (though we did order a 2 bed) apartment at the Residence Santa Rosa and overall were happy with the choice. We payed about £280 for a week, which is cheaper than our rent at home!

Arriving at the station on the first day and feeling very lost (the station is very rural and absolutely unmanned) we were offered a lift from the bus stop by the Residence Santa Rosa staff who happened to be driving past (after this much travelling we would have got in the car with anyone!). Arriving at the residence we checked in and was shown to our flat, a large and pretty 2 story apartment just as the pictures show, complete with wooden lodge style decor. The receptionist/manager then took us to the local supermarket to buy our things for the trip and even picked us up afterwards, a nice albeit unusual touch!

The apartments are kitted out with just about everything you would need for a longer stay and included a sofa, TV (though this was not touched for the whole week) and accompanying furniture. The overall space is massive in comparison to a typical hotel, and the area was quiet and we always felt safe within the actual confinements of the residence. The flat really gave a perfect starting point to have breakfast, head in to the city for around 11 then get back to the residence at about 8. Rome itself is definitely worth visiting, and this is a perfect way to view the city for about £250 per person!.

Now on to the negatives... firstly the location is an obvious downside. The walk to the bus stop was always a race against the potential arrival of the bus at just about any time. A short 5 minute journey and you are at La Storta Station, which goes either to Valle Aurellia for the Metro A line or Ostiense (Piramide) for the B line. You can also train to and from the airport changing at Trastevere. All in all a trip from the resort to the coliseum would take about an hour (on a good day). As a quick tip the 31 bus to and from the residence goes from outside the station car park gates rather than the stops just outside the building.

The other downside for me was the general cleanliness, which was just a bit lower than we would have liked. It was obvious efforts had been made but our three main annoyances were the grubby kitchen ware which definitely needed re cleaning (nice to have this provided though), an infestation of ants which were never really sorted out and poorly dried bed sheets which smelt rather fusty. These issues may not offend people but did take a little away from the holiday.

Our last gripe is a minor one; the residence area was no way near as nice as expected. Although this could just be down to our own naivety. We had hoped (based on area shots, pictures on website etc) to have a beautiful sprawling area surrounding the flats to relax in after a hard days exploring, but really the area around was uninhabitable. The only outside communal area was a small dirty table surrounded by long grass (which was getting cut on our last day to be fair). From what we saw there really is no where around the area to sit down and read, or play any ball games or anything.

Overall, we were happy with our decision to stay here. The host was friendly and helpful and the apartments were big and equipped for self catering, but the lack of transportation does let it down. Even if you had a car it would not help that much as driving around Rome is terrible and often restricted. The key factor is, for the price of a holiday to a 3* beach resort we got to see the majesty of Rome, which was definitely worth any gripes here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Rosa

Address: Via della Storta 591 ( Via Cassia ), 00123 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Santa Rosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Santa Rosa Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.