We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as it seems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baltic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baltic to your Saves list
Hotel Baltic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via 20 Settembre 89, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #916 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
A TripAdvisor Member
“not as it seems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although cheap and good central location, this motel false advertised itself on its website, our room looked nothing like the pictures we were under the impression we were getting, "buffet style" breakfast consisted of stale bread buns, jam, coffee and watery juice and there was a misunderstanding when it said ALL taxes included on the website, (the city tax wasn't included, they may not be to blame for this but a heads up could've been helpful). Receptions also hard to find, it's on the third floor)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    69
    74
    44
    39
See reviews for
23
104
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

second time for me at this hotel and the standard was not good. this hotels is really a collection of rooms spread between three buildings, our room was along the street then around a corner through a secutity door up a flight of stairs through another security door then into the smallest hotel room i have every stayed in, was more like a walkin wardrobe. the bathroom was tiny but clean as were the towels and the bedding. our mini bar fridge did not work nor did our safe, someone came to look but could do nothing to help. noise from other guests echoed in the corridor so was woken early most mornings. good standard of continental breakfast. in a good location for seeing the sights but not good if looking for luxury or a view. wont be back !!

Room Tip: ask for a twin room as bigger than a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel Baltic aspires to be no more than 2 Stars, and they still have room to go to get there. They refused to provide the requested HVAC they had advertised - our four rooms for our group were all well over 28 degrees C (82+ degrees F) and it was late May. To get circulation we had to keep our window and the window in the room across the hall open while restaurants and garbage trucks made a racket immediately below the windows. Sleep was impossible Wifi was only available in their tiny lobby in a different building and only while the lobby was open. Despite booking four bedrooms with en suite bathrooms for a large family, we were split into two buildings and shared a bathroom with the whole floor for one of those rooms. For our trouble, they gave us a whopping 1% discount off of a bill of over $2000. DON'T USE THIS HOTEL. IT IS NOT AS REPRESENTED.

Room Tip: pick another hotel and spend a little more. You'll save money on cab fare and your trip will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

was staying in this hotel for 3 nights with my husband and an other couple rooms were very small we had two single beds in the room, the only way to get from one side of the room to the to the other was walk side ways between the two single beds thats how small it was .would not recemend this hotel was not worth the money. reception was dining room / coffee bar was a joke only thing nice was staff . our friends room was the same.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is what it is.. a small hotel located in Rome close to metro and buses, and if you're up for it then walk,, within 15 minutes your close to all the famouse places.
But the hotel is close to a very noisy street, the breakfast is boring, we spent money on cheese just to get something close to continental breakfast. And worst after walking around in sunny rome it would be nice to take a shower, but there were no hot water in the shover :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I use to go this Hotel quite often because I work close by to this Hotel, Comparing the price with the quality is simply GREAT!
The people that works there are very friendly and always available to satisfy your requests.
I would definetely suggest this Hotel to young couples ore business man.
Just close to all major attractions, 10 to 20 minutes walking.
There are some good restaurants in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baltic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltic

Address: Via 20 Settembre 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #916 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baltic 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baltic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baltic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.