We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balance between location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARS Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ARS Hotel to your Saves list
ARS Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Altissimo 20-24, 00141 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #445 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great balance between location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Though a little hard to find (up a side street 3 mins from the main bus stops), once at reception we were greeted very warmly and provided with a map of central Rome and a full, personal explanation from the receptionist on the best ways to get to the centre, the transport system and best places to visit. The room was clean and warm with a futon/sofa. There were also tea/coffee facilities, though don't fall foul of the snacks which are charged for (like the mini-bar). The bathroom was bright and clean and everything worked very well. Bed was comfy, thought the step up to the corridor and bathroom could be a bit of an adventure in the middle of the night in the dark! The hotel was quiet and breakfast excellent, though the one lady trying to manage the food and clear plates meant at peak times there was a lack of clear tables. Public transport tickets were readily available from the nearby shops and very cheap. It takes about 20-30 mins to get to the centre of Rome from the Ars. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel which offers a great balance between the cost of staying and the distance to central Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building, rather than through the garden. Also, avoid tpublic transpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    59
    29
    17
See reviews for
46
154
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice clean and modern hotel which is about 25 mins from the centre of Rome by bus. It is down a quiet back lane. The room had a minimalistic feel, especially as there were only 6 hangers in a tiny wardrobe, 2 small shelves and a trouserpress. There were no drawers or cupboards. It had modern clear plastic chairs, Italian tv, minibar and a kettle. Pity the tea making facilities didn't include cups, teabags and milk. There was free wifi and a safe which costs 5 euros for the whole stay. The bed was hard. The receptionist was very helpful, not only did she give us a map but told us about different priced bus tickets and places to visit. The breakfast was good with choice of cereals, eggs, cooked meat, cheese, toast, fruit and crossants. The reception area was very modern with free internet, magazines and papers are available but non of them in English. There was a very slow lift but it wasn't working when we needed it. The busses to Rome cost 1.5 euros for 100mins, the tickets are purchased from a nearby kiosk and the bus stop is not far down the hill. Taxi from the bus and rail terminus is 15euros. It is 1 hour from the airport. Not a bad hotel if you are travelling light but could be difficult for someone with lots of luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just arrived back from staying at the Ars hotel. The rooms were very modern and clean. Breakfast was cerials eggs yogurts fruit bread and cheese and ham etc. We got a taxi from the train station to the hotel glad we did as I dont think we would have found it as it was dark when we arrived. The staff on the reception were very kind and helpful.. We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As everyone else says this is a good little boutique-style hotel which is a busy bus-ride away from the interesting bits of Rome. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fine.
The only small point was that initially to us the reception seemed to be located at the back of the top floor of the hotel. This meant that on arrival we carried our bags up three floors to check in and then back down again to our ground floor room. It turns out though that coming in from the main road meant that we were using the rear entrance and we should have approached the hotel from the front which is actually up a side road.
Overall great value.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, Direttore at ARS Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you and hope to have you as our guest again in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed there recently whilst on a city break in rome/venice. Its decorated lovely but the actual rooms are very basic, it has a safe in the room which is charged at a flat rate of 5 euros and a small mini bar. The only down side to the room was that they were cold and the AC/heater had to be kept on all night and was noisy. The breakfast was lovely and had plenty of choices, the bar was small but offeres free internet access and did not offer much choice for food and was quite expensive so we went out to eat and drink each night ( there is a lovely bar called the IRISH PUB down the road from the bus stops, the owners are friendly and food is lovely). The only negative thing which we were unhappy with were the fact that they advertise a free shuttle bus into town but there is not actually one when you ask, they also tell you that if you wish to have breakfast in bed you are to leave an order slip on your door before 4am to be collected............nobody came round to take our order resulting in our lay in being rushed trying to get down for breakfast before cut off time. Getting into town was quite easy there is a bus stop down the road and you catch the number 90 (1.50 euro) straight into the town outside the station and all the tour buses are situated there. I advise taking the green line buses ( day pass) and they take you around all the sites in rome , you can get on and off at your own leisure.
WE HAD A LOVELY TIME IN ROME BUT BE WARNED THERE ARE BEGGARS EVERYWERE AND YOU ARE APPROACHED CONSTANTLY, THEY EVEN SEND THEIR CHILDREN TO YOU ASKING FOR YOU TO BUY THEM MEALS. This ruined my trio as it made me feel so uncomfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend & I recently stayed here for 2 nights.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and thankfully spoke wonderful English.

The room was basic but spotless (though the smell of the bleach was a little overwhelming!)

Breakfast presented a vast array of cereals, eggs, meats, cakes and fruit which was all very lovely, my only criticism was that the milk was warm!

The hotel itself is a bit of a trek out of Rome (30mins+ on the crowded bus, sometimes longer at peak times) and there's not much to do in the area.

I would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for an affordable place to use as a base while off exploring the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, Direttore at ARS Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you and hope to have you as our guest again in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked a deal to visit Rome & Venice which was v cheap. Having reviewed both hotels before booking I was aware that they were outside the centre & involved some travel.. However I was comfortable with the times some indicated of 10-15 mins by bus. Let me tell you that it is more like 30 mins on the no. 90 from Rome Termini & same to get to the historic centre on no.60. One night we just couldn't face the 15min walk from The Pantheon back to the bus stop & then a 30 min bus journey so got a taxi at 20euros. This soon adds up if u choose to do it often and makes it a less cheaper option than if you just book a hotel in the centre.
The rooms- cold & no temperature controls. The tiled floor didn't help matters. The window was not secure & could be pushed opened easily which being on the ground floor wasn't great-we took our valuables with us but there is a safe which I think you have to ask at reception for a key as its not in the room. The shower was pitiful & faced the wall no matter how many times I tried to redirect it. There was no iron in the room either.
The breakfast was pretty poor & bread stale. Not much choice apart from some awful looking scrambled egg & slices of cheap cheese & ham. A few pastries.
The bar was hardly a bar but looked like someone's drink cabinet in their lounge. Reception staff double up as bar staff.
On the whole the hotel is clean & modern but is v clinical & lacks atmosphere.
For a trip as short as this I see a hotel as somewhere to dump your things & sleep in but the hassle of getting to & from Rome centre meant we lost at least 45mins to an hour of our day before we'd even begun. And then to go back to a cold room which meant a terrible nights sleep shivering didn't set you up for a days sightseeing.
Lesson for next time- book more centrally. It certainly is worth paying more especially if you are only there for 2 days as we were and want to make the most of it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, ARS HOTEL at ARS Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good afternoon,

thank you for choosing ARS HOTEL for your staying in Rome and for your comment. After so many positive feedback that we have got recently about our position, rooms and facilities, we are a bit surprised for your message. We have been trying checking for your room number (as from your nickname we cannot understand much) because it is the first time we get to hear about a "pitiful shower" in our Hotel. Seriously, are you sure that you are speaking about ARS HOTEL? Furthermore, the fact that you would have preferred a hotel more centrally located, it doesn't mean that we are far away like you tried to say. We have the pleasure to welcome thousands of tourists all the year long, and you are the first one who got shocked for our distance from Down Town. Regarding the safe, it was your personal choice to bring your valuables with you because you could have just asked the reception for the key (even on the phone). With regards to the breakfast, I don't believe it is as bad as you described if we consider that we host (other than tourists) plenty of business men (italian and from all around the world) and nobody has never complained like you did. In conclusion, I bet you've never visited another hotel like ours (in terms of quality, cleaness and value) at the price you paid.

We really hope you will get back to us one day and change your mind.

Thanks and best regards,
ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARS Hotel

Address: Via Monte Altissimo 20-24, 00141 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#179 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARS Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive Hotel will warmly greet you to a refined epoch structure in the residential area of Monte Sacro.The quiet location allows you to rest between meetings and conferences or to spend a pleasant holiday.The very luminous rooms are well furnished. We offer every type of modern comfort; air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, telephone, ADSL internet connection and safety locks. A solarium, a sports gym with steam showers, an interior car park, a meeting room, a snack bar and a reading lounge with a Lcd TV are also available.The Ars Hotel is located approx 15 minutes far from the Termini station and 5 minutes form the metro station Conca D'Oro. We provide a shuttle service to take you either to Fiumicino or Ciampino airports with an extra cost.The meeting room is available for 20 people and can be set up for an audience, in horseshoe-shape or for a conference. There is the possibility to organise half-day or full-day meetings with coffee breaks and a business breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ars Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARS Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.