We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soggiorno Comfort

Soggiorno Comfort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Soggiorno Comfort to your Saves list
Soggiorno Comfort
Via Palermo 37, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,527 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location, clean room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

If you are looking for a centralised location, clean room and nothing else, this is the place for you. But you are expecting WiFI in the room, non-Italian TV channels, decent breakfast, and clean air in the lobby, you have better keep searching...
I have been travelling through Central Asia, a third country, where they didn't have strong WiFi in the hotel room. But here in Italy, I would expect nothing less. I have also stayed in other Italian hotels, both city and country, they generally provide WiFi access in the rooms.
The TV only have Italian channels. I will expect a hotel caters for tourists to have TV channels with other languages. I had English, French, Italian, Japanese, Chinese TV channels in Central Asian cities and I would expect a Roman hotel will be able to provide it as part of the service.
It is better off if they don't provide any breakfast at all. We had weak cappuccino and supermarket croissants. The least I expect in Rome is a decent coffee and a fresh pastry, which we found in the cafe downstairs.
There is a big No Smoking sign in the reception area but it is full of cigarette stench. If the staff insists on smoking, maybe the hotel should provide a good exhaust so the offensive smell won't linger.
All in all, this is just an average hotel with a great location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

On January 13, 2014, I made and confirmed a reservation for three nights for my husband and me to stay in this hotel for September 17, 18 and 19. Thish also included airport pick-up. After waiting at the airport for an hour we finally took a cab to the hotel. After lugging our suitcases up four flights of stairs we learned that even though we had sent all of the required information the receptionist, Romolo, had lost our reservation and would take no accountability for it. I would warn anyone staying here to ensure their reservation is confirmed. We had to stay in three different hotels which not only cost us time but money for cab fair. Also a warning that Romolo has a sign on the desk stating that his credit card machine is not working. Don't believe it! This is a scam to avoid paying Italian taxes. Breakfast was awful but service was worse.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roreni, Direttore at Soggiorno Comfort, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Signora, trovo veramente scorretto quello che ha scritto in quanto lei non aveva prenotato con il Soggiorno Comfort, aveva soltanto mandato una richiesta di disponibilità il seguente modulo
> Soggiorno Comfort
> Via Palermo, 37
> 00184 Roma - Italia
> Tel.: 0039 06 4741546 - Fax : 0039 06 47883497
> info@soggiornocomfort.com www.soggiornocomfort.com
>
> Gentile Signora
>
> Siamo lieti di confermarLe, al momento, la disponibilità di due camere
> Doppie per il periodo:
>
> Data arrivo: Data partenza :
> Notti :
>
> Il check-in è dalle ore 12,00 alle ore 21.00; il check-out è previsto
> entro le 10:00.
>
> Si prega comunque di specificare l'orario di arrivo previsto.
>
> Il prezzo della camera è di Euro per notte ed include prima
> colazione (servita in camera) e servizio.
> Le stanze sono tutte dotate di: bagno privato con doccia, aria
> condizionata, minibar, TV satellitare, cassaforte e Wifi gratuito.
> Soggiorno Comfort è situato nel cuore di Roma a distanze percorribili a
> piedi dal Colosseo, Fontana di Trevi, Stazione Termini, Piazza Venezia.
> Via Palermo è una strada parallela di Via Nazionale dove si possono
> trovare negozi, ristoranti, pubs e numerose linee di bus tra le quali
> quella per il Vaticano. Inoltre a poca distanza si può accedere ad
> entrambe le linee della metropolitana.
>
> A conferma della prenotazione vogliate compilare e reinviare, via mail,
> il seguente form che resterà riservato ed utilizzato ai soli fini della
> stessa.
>
> A ricevimento dei dati seguenti, riterremo confermata la prenotazione
> e sarà nostra premura darvene comunicazione immediata.
>
>
> NOME CLIENTE:
> NUMERO DI PERSONE:
> TIPO DI STANZA:
> DATA DI ARRIVO:
> DATA DI PARTENZA:
> Orario di arrivo previsto :
> TIPO DI CARTA DI CREDITO:
> NUMERO CARTA DI CREDITO:
> DATA SCADENZA C. CREDITO:
> TELEFONO FISSO completo:
> CELLULARE:
>
> La carta di credito, i cui dati sono indispensabili per l’inserimento
> della prenotazione, non sarà utilizzata in quanto il pagamento del
> soggiorno , contanti o carta di credito, avverrà direttamente in albergo
> al momento della partenza.Unica eccezione: in caso di NO SHOW ( mancato
> arrivo senza preavviso ) sarà addebitato l’importo di 1 notte.
>
>
> Nel caso desideriate un transfer dall'aereoporto all'hotel o viceversa,
> possiamo effettuarlo, con la nostra compagnia, al prezzo convenzionato
> di
> euro 45,00 per 2/3 persone e bagaglio, in orario diurno; notturno o
> festivo + 20%.
>
> In tal caso vogliate fornirci:
>
>
> Aereoporto (Fiumicino o Ciampino)
> Compagnia aerea
> volo numero
> orario arrivo
> terminal n. ( se noto )
>
> Qualora avesse bisogno di ulteriori informazioni non esiti a
> contattarci.
>
> Cordiali saluti
> Ricevimento : Remo
> Va riempito in ogni sua parte . Senza queste informazioni come posso prenderla in aereoporto o prenotarle la stanza .Quindi lei era senza NESSUNA prenotazione é dopo averla AIUTATA a pernottare a ROMA in piena stagione questo è il ringraziamento un saluto ROMOLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. I forgot to email the hotel and inform them of my estimated arrival time (WHICH YOU SHOULD AS A COURTESY SINCE THEY DON'T HAVE A 24/7 FRONT DESK - THIS WILL ALSO HELP YOU), and was a little worried about how checking in would work when we arrived at about 7:30pm. However, when the cab dropped us off, an employee of Soggiorno Comfort was waiting at the front door down on the street for us. He warmly greeted us, buzzed us in the massive front door of the building, and put us on the elevator up to the floor where the hotel was. After checking us in and answering questions, we were put in room 6 which is BY FAR the best room since it's the farthest from the reception. It had 2 single beds, a AC unit, small flat screen tv, private bath room and shower, and a large closet, and one window that opened. I think we also had a plug in fan. It was VERY clean and large - especially by Italy standards.

When you check in, they make you fill out a breakfast food request - basically it's a menu and you circle what all you want served. Then you choose a time and they deliver it on a big tray to your room in the morning! It was great! But beware that the time and your selections are set for the rest of the trip once you fill it out - but I'm sure you could change if you just asked (which we didn't).

It's a 10 minute walk to the Colisseum, train station, bus stations and cab stands are less than 5 minutes, and plenty of great restaurants are very close. Pantheon and Trevi Fountain are probably a 10-15 minute walk. There's a mini-market right around the corner. It is a very safe street/area and it's very nice because its a block away from the crazy hustle and bustle of the main street so it's very quiet but still close enough to everything.

One thing I would note is that somebody smoked a pipe or something while we were there - I don't know if it was coming from the rooms - or maybe a staff member/owner lives on site and smokes - but the lobby and common area smelled like pipe smoke the whole time. It should be noted, however, that our room in no way shape or form smelled like smoke. In fact, there is a big rubber guard at the bottom of all the doors that help to protect from things like that and more importantly keep the sound out. We had room 6 - the farthest away - and it was very quiet, but I would imagine the other rooms would be very loud so I can only recommend staying if you can get this room. I saw room 5 - which had 1 single bed - and it was a TINY room with a TV, private bath/shower, etc. that would be good for a single traveler on a budget.

Overall, we paid something like $63 USD a night (it was on sale but not by much) and it was a STEAL. Note that when you check out ANYWHERE in Rome, you have to pay a 2 euro per person tourism tax on top of what you get charged for the room.

Room Tip: We had room 6 - the farthest away - and it was very quiet. It had 2 single beds, a AC unit, small fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Soggiorno Comfort offers excellent location. All the major things to see are well within walking distance. The train station as well is nearby.

Would reccomend proper directions to the hotel as it is located in one of the bylanes.

Hotel rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Cons:
- No wifi in rooms.
- Cash only for payment
- Rude staff
- Terrible breakfast

Pros:
- Great location

The staff barely speaks English which isn’t that big of a deal except when he buzzed us in we didn’t hear/ understand him. We didn’t know the place had a lift so we lugged our 4 bags up the stairs. When we arrived to the hotel entrance on the fourth floor the front desk guy was chuckling and pointed to the sign reading, “Make sure you close the wood doors on the lift so we don’t get in arguments with the neighbor’s”. So he listened to us struggle up the stairs, never offered help or even bothered to let us know there was a lift and to make matters worse he laughed about it; it definitely wasn’t a warm welcome. It didn’t get any better from there.

The hotel description listed wifi in the rooms, they do not. Even the room next to the lobby doesn’t so it doesn’t matter which room you have. There is wifi in the lobby but a poor signal. The lobby is small and fills with guest trying to use the wifi or the staff hanging out at the computer desk. At night when everyone is back from sight-seeing sometimes there wasn't anywhere to sit.

Breakfast was un-edible with a pile of plain untoasted bread and packaged croissant. I can live without breakfast but I need some caffeine in the morning. They served the worst espresso, undrinkable. It tasted like watered down instant coffee. I actually think it's better if they just didn't offer breakfast.

The room was clean (and fairly new furniture) but at the expense of sleeping in. The maid would start banging around at 8AM. (There is a sign telling you to leave your room by 11AM so the maid can clean.) Feeling under the weather one day we got a late start and hadn’t left yet. She came right into our room without even knocking. Besides the regular door lock there isn’t an additional lock or chain to keep someone from coming when occupied.

The credit card machine wasn’t working and there is a sign letting you know that it isn’t working. Dated from March!

If you were only staying one night here it would probably be ok but I feel like with so much to see in Rome most stay longer. Even though the location was great and the rate was cheap I wouldn’t stay here again. We hadn’t booked Soggiorno Comfort for our entire stay in Rome (thankfully!) so we ended up moving to a hotel across the street. Not too much more and so much better.

Room Tip: A room towards the front gets a lot of noise from people entering. Probably one towards the back is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Three years ago, I gave a negative review (A/C didn't work, refrigerator didn't work in the first room we stayed in. Then there was the last-minute drama of our credit cards "not working" while a taxi was waiting for us.)

These problems seem to have been solved. We love the location, and the comfort of the room this time. We would gladly go back again. Thanks to "Romolo and Remo," who manage the place.

-- Steve

Room Tip: I would ask for a room a little bit away from the reception - perhaps a room facing the back. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What an amazing place to stay, the location is just perfect for the centre of rome and all the sights. You are no more than 7mins from the coliseum and 10mins from the Spanish steps. The location is just perfect! A great price for a simple yet very very clean room. The bathroom is perfectly clean, super hot shower (yes the door doesn't slide so well, but its not a problem to just lift it and move it!) Friendly people, simple yet ample breakfast,. The fact that you eat in your room is not a problem as you are keen to get out and see the sights. Air con in all rooms, small fridge to keep your water cold!, good double glazing on windows to block out the noise at night and a comfy bed. Just perfect! In the centre of London, England you would pay 3 times as much for this type of accommodation. The location of the hotel is in amongst windy little streets which superb restaurants so we kept it local at night. also check out some of the little boutique shops there too. It felt very safe and plush. Keep up the good work! Thank you! p.s. ignore people moaning about the breakfast, its as good as any continental breakfast we get in the UK, the coffee is hot, the milk is steamed, where do we get that!

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw where exactly the same so I expect all of the rooms will be just great. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soggiorno Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Comfort

Address: Via Palermo 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,527 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Soggiorno Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Comfort Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soggiorno Comfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.