We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for spiritual reflection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of St. Francis of Assisi at Ripa Grande

Church of St. Francis of Assisi at Ripa Grande
Piazza San Francesco d'Assisi 88 | zona Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 06 5819020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 1,447 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1231 by the Franciscans, this church is dedicated to St. Francis of Assisi and still serves as a place of worship today.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Time for spiritual reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

St. Francis De Asisi - what a magnificent glorious place. Such tranquility from the first step off the bus. The morning has been so good for the soul, said my prayers for everyone specially my Uncle Clive. St Francis is there patron Saint. Had a nice lunch on the Hill next to the the church and got to walk in the footsteps of one of the greatest human beings. Feeling refreshed and renewed for the journey ahead.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“INTERESTING HISTORICALLY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Located on the edge of Trastevere, this church is of historic importance because it is where Francis of Assisi stayed when he visited Rome. His room is being restored. Church has a beautiful piece of sculpture by Bernini as well as other work. Visit here then walk to Aventine Hill.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
197 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“worth the trip to see Bernini's sculpture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The main reason we made the effort (twice as it was closed the first time) to visit this church was Bernini's statue "Ecstasy of Beata Ludovica Albertoni" . It is indeed an incredible sculpture. You are no longer allowed to take pictures of it. It is similar to his "St. Teresa in Ecstasy". St. Francis of Assisi lived in an adjacent hospice in 1219, but we couldn't figure out how to go visit his cell.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
222 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Beautiful statue in a little Trastevere church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This church didn't look like much from the outside, but we were doing a walk through Trastevere in late October 2013 so we wandered in and found it to be a rather pretty church, and it was also rather quiet so you could sit and reflect in peace. It contains a statue of the blessed Ludovia Albertoni by the sculptor Bernini, a very emotional statue of the woman, clearly sick but also firm in her religious devotion, which reminded me of his more famous Ecstasy of Saint Teresa (sorry, they did not allow photos of the lovely statue so I could not post any). It is worth it just to come to see this statue. We also discovered that the great Italian artist Giorgio de Chirico is buried here. If you are walking through the lovely Trastevere section of Rome, this is an enjoyable visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
222 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Pleasant church with moving Bernini statue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a typical and pretty church in the heart of Trastevere. We were surprised it contained a Bernini gem, a statue of Ludovia Albertoni, a very emotional statue similar to his more famous Ecstasy of Saint Teresa. We also discovered that the great Italian artist Giorgio de Chirico is buried here. If you are walking through the lovely Trastevere section of Rome, this is worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of St. Francis of Assisi at Ripa Grande also viewed

 

Been to Church of St. Francis of Assisi at Ripa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of St. Francis of Assisi at Ripa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.