We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable, easy access, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Of Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heart Of Rome to your Saves list
Heart Of Rome
Piazza Pio XI 78, Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #235 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Voorschoten, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, comfortable, easy access, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the heart of Rome. It was super clean we had a nice modern room with large balcony. Friendly owners who helped us pointing the best restaurants (risky point nearby; great pizzas!) arranged transport to the airport and gave always a smile and hello. Its a bit outside the city center but we actually liked to escape from the tourists for a while..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    46
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Heart of Rome for only a night and honestly didn't want to leave. It was one the most comfortable stays we've had in a while. Everything was super clean, modern and comfortable. It's close to public transport (a bus stop right in front) which takes you straight into the city centre. Breakfast was great. A variety of cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, cheeses and meats. Fresh brewed coffee as well as cappacino/latte made on the spot for you. Free hi-speed wi-fi, Rome travel books available to read. And a huge supermarket right across the road, and great inexpensive cafe's and restaurants nearby offering happy hour deal. Everything was great. It was also a bonus that both the 2 lovely gentlemen who I assume are the owners spoke good English and helped us out alot.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to the Heart of Rome for one week at the beginning of September.
First of all, the service was really individualized. Each day one of the boys who own the B&B was there to take care of us and they did it very well. We appreciated their good mood. Of course they were not available all day as in a hotel because they had things to do but it wasn't a problem because we only needed them in the morning. They gave us advice for our visits and restaurants and sometimes made the reservations for us. We had a problem with a blocked shower and they changed our room to satisfy us. Their first priority was our satisfaction.
The location was good. The buses were 2 minutes walk from the B&B and they take you to the city center in about 15-20 minutes and 10 minutes to the Vaticano.
They only negative thing about the public transports was that we were not able to access the B&B after midnight because there were no more buses.
The room was clean. We had the chance to have a room with terrace which was pleasant to have breakfast. It was really quiet excepted that we had a few times the phone ringing loud at the reception when we were sleeping. There was enough space for us in the room. The beds were clean too but it was two single beds put together instead of a king size bed. The wifi was working well. Something really uncommon in hotel and B&Bs: the two cleaning ladies, who cleaned the room perfectly and were always smiling.
Breakfast was good. There was a little bit of everything: toasts, marmelade, cheese, ham, croissants, corn flakes. When we asked for fresh fruits they brought us apples and peaches the next day.
Finally, we found that we had a right price-quality ratio.
We entirely recommend this place for young couples!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our first time to visit Rome and was not to sure how to go about staying there with costs and all. So selected by help from TripAdvisor " We selected the B&B named "The heart of Rome" as not directly in the old part of Rome but yet not right outside the heart of the city. So this reflected on the price to stay, etc.

Rome its self is a beautiful city full of charm and delight and I have to say that so does the "The heart of Rome". This is a B&B and not a hotel and so is more rustic and basic, more what you expect a local to live like (when in Rome so to speak). The rooms are fresh, clean and modern and the local area is safe. The guys that run it are a complete joy.

As my title states any trip being work and rest is about the lasting experience and we came away with memories of a wonderful visit and meet some fantastic people and we both look forward to returning to Rome and more so "The heart of Rome" in the furture.

Pros-
Price - B&B prices you will get anywhere in Europe considering your in Rome.
Placement - short bus ride or easy sunny walk to most attractions
Accommodation - Clean, fresh, modern and safe
The team of guys who run it. Outstanding gentleman in a rip off age to any visitor in a new place . They could not do enough for us. So helpful, so polite and such good fun. A real major bonus over other places to stay I am sure.
Walk around the direct neighborhood. City living and some fantastic shops.
Well priced supermarket across the road
Good restaurant below the B&B.
The quality of the coffee which every time you walked into the B&B you were offered. Loved it!
Your not in the old city so you can get away from the crowds and high costs.

Cons-
Not directly in the old part of Rome - but you don't need to be. Very easy to get around
Traffic noise - good and bad really, as you are directly in a city. We live in a very quiet town so it was a load on the senses.But all fun of city life.
Food - The breakfast was basic and maybe room for improvement, each to their own.
The football teams the guys support (Roma and S.S. Lazio). Everyone knows AC Milan is the best football team in Italy. Come on Charlton - up the reds!

I finish by stating you will have a great stay here and save your money for other things to spend on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here during our stay in Rome. Cristiano and Damiano took great care of us, arranging for our arrival from the airport to the B&B, explaining to us how to visit all the attractions and preparing the breakfast every morning (with delicious cappucino!). The breakfast had a lot of options as well to prepare us for the big days of visiting although there wasn't much variation.

The rooms were also very clean and modern. We didn't have a problem with the neighbors, but it's possible to hear people coming back to the B&B at night if you're a light sleeper. The B&B is also located in a more residential area, but there is a nearby bus stop with many bus stops to all the major attractions (except on Sundays when there's less buses available). It can take between 10-25 minutes depending on the attraction.

For the price, I would recommend this B&B !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading all of the reviews it seemed like a no brainer to book here, and for the most part the place lived up to expectations, but there were a couple of things that held this back from being very good.

The sleep comfort was only average. We were in room 6, and the bed and pillows were only average. there was also a huge amount of traffic noise, which detracted from sleep quality.

The owners however were fantastic. they went out of their way to be helpful, and offered a great restaurant recommendation.

The location is also a little bit out of the way. It is about 10 minutes by bus to the vatican and 25 or so to the centre of rome. not exactly in the centre, but it was still very convenient with lots of public transport close by.

If you could get a room away from the street i would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Heart of Rome as part of our Roman trip. For the price, we weren't expecting too much but took a chance based on the reviews - It went above and beyond everything we expected, as well as the reviews.

First of all, the owners truly provide great customer service - not only did they greet you on the main floor of the building, they brought up your bags for you. They were there for any questions we had and drew out a map of everything we needed to know about the area the day we arrived. They were friendly, and helped us on anything we needed. Since it is a Bed and Breakfast, they are there only regular hours (i.e., from in the morning to approximately 8pm) although they can accommodate you if your check-in or flight arrives later. Breakfast was beyond what we expected - they even served nice cappuccinos and caffe lattes (or espressos) if you needed...

The hotel is BRAND new - everything is modern and the rooms look like they were build the day before. Comfortable beds, incredibly clean, and for those of you looking for a modern, large, North American bathroom, you got it. Our room had air conditioning, fridge, and stove. Absolutely nothing to complain about the rooms or the hotel - luxurious.

As for the location, I am one to read reviews about this topic frequently, and if anyone complains about this particular one, they are either incredibly picky, or seemed to have mistaken this for a 500$ a night hotel in front of the Colosseum: The location was INCREDIBLE, particularly for the price of the hotel!! It was literally a 10-15 walk to the Vatican (my boyfriend and I walked each time) or a 3-5 minute bus ride. If you wanted to get to the metro, there are about 5-6 buses that pass directly in the front of the hotel to bring you there (and pass frequently as well). It is about a 10 minute ride to the metro (Cipro). The owners will provide you with the exact instructions on how to get from the airport to the gotel, which makes the trip very easy (TIP take a shuttle from the airport to Termini, then take the metro to Cipro, and then it is a short bus ride (10 minutes) to the hotel, which is a few meters from where you get off at the bus stop.

To us, this hotel was a catch and we definitely will be returning the next time we are in Rome, based on the rooms, the staff, and the location. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel, particularly for couples, small families, and friends who are looking for a great, clean, hotel minutes from the center of Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart Of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Of Rome

Address: Piazza Pio XI 78, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of Rome Hotel is a bed and breakfast in the centre of Rome, close to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican and in front of the largest public park in Rome, Villa Doria Pamphili.Rome, with its great history and its wonderful monuments, is the ideal place for both business travelers and tourists.Heart of Rome B&B is located in a strategic central position, allowing you to move easily through the city and reach the main interest point. We're just a few minutes from the Vatican and St. Peter Cathedral. Our location is one of the main transportation hub of the city (13 bus lines stop near us). In front of our B&B there is a taxi station and we are within walking distance from subway Line A of Cipro Vatican Museums, Valle Aurelia and Baldo degli Ubaldi.Our rooms are designed to offer all the comforts and facilities you need to have a perfect tour of the city.In addition to a modern and functional furniture each room has: Air Conditioning, Electronic Safety Deposit Box Free, Minibar, 32 "LCD TV, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer.The entire B&B is covered by Wi-fi and in our Hall there is a PC connected to Internet h24 a day. Included in the price you also have: breakfast served in your room, large private terraces and daily cleaning conducted by qualified personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heart Of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Of Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.