We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT ROOM RUINED OUR STAY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Aleph

Save Saved
You added Boscolo Aleph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boscolo Aleph
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di San Basilio 15, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HOT ROOM RUINED OUR STAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although the hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel the air conditioning was making the room warm rather than cooling it. The total lack of sleep on the last night before checking out ruined our stay. They even moved us to another room on the 4th floor but that also was no cooler. We had booked 2 double rooms for 2 nights and both couples were located on the 4th floor. We raised the issue with reception who moved us as stated to another room where we were told it will get cooler but as they just activated the air con in that room it would take 10 minutes. after 10 minutes it was no better than the previous room.
So after a restless night of little or no sleep we went down at 7am for breakfast as we were getting collected at 8am for our onward transfer.
Other than stating that they would report it to the manager no more was done.
The worry came when home i communicated with the General Manager who stated that the air conditioning was fine in both rooms!
In which case despite the positive aspects of the hotel i could not suffer the hot rooms again and feel convinced that the air con was clearly broken.
To end a 10 night holiday with 2 nights here was on paper going to be a great end to our holiday but the total discomfort caused by the temperature ruined our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    190
    115
    77
    39
See reviews for
64
256
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The lobby and bar area have some of the most unusual decoration I've seen -- but I loved it! The rooms were modern, quiet, with plenty space and a bathroom full of an amazing selection of toiletries. We were lucky to get one of the rooms with it's own terrace, and in October the weather was perfect for sitting outside until late in the evening.
The staff were all incredibly helpful and pleasant, and the housekeepers went out of their way to see we were comfortable. We found the beds were pretty firm, though, as were the pillows!
The location is very good, being really close to major bus routes and a metro station, but not noisy or too busy at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel located within walking distance of the eternal city. The hotel has a dark / red theme in the public areas but don't that put you off. Check in was swift and efficient . The room was modern and had everything you could wish for in a hotel room including a very large selection oF toiletries. I slept well and that is not always the case in some hotels. Room was clean . I had breakfast which has a good choice and good coffee ! I would stay there again but as someone else was paying I don't know how much it costs and I am sure that would influence me if I was paying :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two kids aged 4 and 2 for October half term and thought the hotel was great. We got a really cheap deal on Expedia secret saver hotels and were delighted with the value for money we got.

The property is luxurious, with a trendy lobby area and stunning roof terrace. The hotel kindly allocated us interconnecting rooms on the 5th floor - perfect for a family. The rooms were spacious and modern and we never heard any noise at all.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were so nice towards our kids. They went out of their way to give us a good experience and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is great. Central enough to be able to walk everywhere but not right in the hustle and bustle of the Fontana di Trevi, so we found it a relaxing place to stay.

Yes, the prices of food and drink in the hotel are expensive, but when you compare with the rest of central Rome, they are actually reasonable.

All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would choose to stay there again when I am next in Rome.

Room Tip: If you are a family, request interconnecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure how Boscolo Aleph is a 5 star property? Maybe we just had an old, grimy room and they have some newer renovated rooms but we paid a hefty penny to stay at this hotel and were thoroughly disappointed. If you do decide to book, make sure to ask for a newly renovated room (if there is such a thing). The lobby of this hotel is quite deceiving...it really makes the place seem luxurious. However, once you take the elevator up you'll immediately feel like you're in a a motel (we were only on floor 1 and were told the hotel was sold out so we couldn't be moved to a higher floor). And upon arriving in your room, the motel feel continues. The room was honestly the worst room we've stayed at during our 2 week stay in Italy so far. We were really shocked. The bathroom is a bit more modern but really ridiculous. The shower has no door...so water literally gets everywhere as you shower. We ended up switching hotels for the last 3 nights we were in Rome and stayed at Hotel Dharma, a boutique hotel, which was SUBSTANTIALLY nicer. I would definitely recommend Hotel Dharma over Boscolo Aleph.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Boscolo offered us the perfect stay for an enjoyable city break. The hotel is centrally located, with easy access to public transportation and excellent local restaurants within walking distance.
Our stay was made even more enjoyable by the wonderful staff. The front desk provided us with helpful recommendations to sight seeing, transportation and the best restaurants. Special thanks goes to Salvatore, who not only seemed to know all the best restaurants, but always made sure we got reservations and a good table..
The breakfast was great, choice of menu or a sumptuous buffet. Again, made perfect by the efficient and warm service , provided by the restaurant manager, Ciara. We so much enjoyed our stay at the Bosolo that we are sure to return.

Tip: Check out the night before, as the desk is very busy in the morning.

Room Tip: We had room 202, nice, roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just had my first European meeting at the Boscolo Aleph for 30 people. Alessandra who looks after you while you are there and Giulia were perfectly attentive. I cannot fault the staff in any way from the porters, through front desk to the great guys in the bar, the attention to customer satisfaction was first rate. I stay in A LOT of hotels and can honestly say I have never felt more at home at a hotel.
My only gripe would be the cost of drinks, €9 for a beer is a bit much ;)

Location is awesome as well 9/10

This is now my hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boscolo Aleph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Aleph

Address: Via di San Basilio 15, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rome
#147 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#155 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Aleph 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gifted architect Adam D. Tihany becomes a modern-day Virgil as he leads you on an amazing journey filled with heavenly places and sinful delights in his very personal interpretation of Dante's Divine Comedy: the Aleph. In this intriguing hotel near Via Veneto in the heart of Rome, the concepts of Heaven and Hell have been given an unexpected twist. You'll find true paradise in the luxurious Spa below, and surrender to the tempting treats served above in the Sin restaurant and Angelo Bar. Enter the Aleph and you'll be immediately caught up in a red-tinged vortex full of delicious sensations, striking contrasts, stunning details and sensual luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Boscolo Aleph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Aleph Rome
Boscolo Aleph Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Aleph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.