We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and not much more.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna to your Saves list
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Covina, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and not much more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is centrally located and the manager is cordial. Nothing else is commendable. The lobby is a closet like room which is not always staffed. Our room was clean but very small. The view unlike the pictures on the web site, was of scaffolding on the adjacent building almost within arms length. The breakfast room is small and food offering very limited. The T.V. did not work. We were not in Rome to watch T.V., but it should have functioned. We stayed at hotels and agriturismos from Milan to Venice to Florence to Rome and in between.
Rome is teriffic. This Hotel was the only disappointment and not worth 180 euros per night, even at Rome prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    13
    6
    11
See reviews for
12
53
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yanbu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is in a great location being only 250 metres from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station. room is ok (we booked triple room, even we were 2)
breakfast is not good even it was in room price.
no reception after 11pm. good restaurant adviced by the staff was very good and not turist one (i think it s name is ramba or rampa, near AMEX)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at Il Piccolo for 5 nights and, eventhough the triple is tiny, the balcony, the elevator, and the cleanliness of the room makes up for it.
Great location to Trevi and Spanish Steps.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room, with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanotar, Direttore at Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
and we will wait for you!
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I agree with most of the negative reviews: the rooms are ugly and small (even for us Parisians, used to small spaces!) and grungy and the service ranges indifferent to hostile. There was no iron available, unacceptable for a 3-star hotel in a major European city. The housekeeping cart is permanently parked in the hallway: this sounds like a petty complaint until you return from a day from elegant Rome and are struck by the site of cleaning products: this truly lacks class! We asked for a "simple" restaurant and were directed to an awful, over-priced tourist trap. We asked whether we'd parked our car legally and the receptionist didn't know. The return at night is truly unwelcoming: you must buzz from downstairs, wait several minutes, and then go up to the fourth floor (the cubicle that serves as reception is closed at night.) We didn’t know this until other guests who happened to be waiting, too, told us: no one at reception had. These same guests, enthusiastic Californians obvious trying to remain optimistic, described the hotel as “interesting”: this is not a compliment!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I was greeted by name and shown to my room by Patrizia a very friendly lady who also gave me a map and gave me information on the local area. The hotel is a bit hard to find about half way along Via Due Macelli just after the junction with Via Cappola Di Case above a shoe shop with just a brass plaque outside. If you are coming from the Spanish Steps it is on the right. There is a very small antiquated lift to take you up to the 4th floor where the rooms are but it works fine so not a problem. My room was Borromini, small but comfortable and had everything I needed and was very quiet. The view was over roof tops and the church/bell tower behind the hotel. The bell rings at 7am each morning so no need for an alarm clock! The shower in the bathroom was very small and I struggled with the doors on occasions but the water was plentiful and hot. The breakfast is not good,a choice of only one croissant or bread roll or yogurt and one drink so use one of the numerous cafes nearby if you need food in the morning.
The hotel is in a great location being only 250 metres from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station and if you walk 250 metres in the other direction down to Via del Tritone and cross the road there is a bus stop used by various open bus tour companies. I took one of these on my first day to get my bearings and see the main sights and found it very useful. The Trevi Fountain is also a short walk away and well worth a visit. Do climb the Spanish Steps and visit Pincio for amazing views over the city and take a breather in the lovely shady park. I really enjoyed my stay at Piccolo the staff were friendly and helpful, my room was clean and comfortable and I felt safe in the area which is important if you travel on your own as I do. If you want something other that chain hotel sameness with a bit of character at a reasonable price you could do much worse in Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony where you can sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This little hotel was recommended to me by my Italian friend. The location was convenient, close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The service was very friendly. Few disadvantages: very old antiquated elevator, smallish plain rooms, breakfast was nothing interesting and not much. However, it is very good value with central location, clean, and staff willing to help. Unless you wish to spend 200 euro or so, this is a viable hotel option in Rome. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larrchar
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We returned on 04/13 from a 3-day stay at the Piccolo. The staff was very nice, especially Patrizia, the day manager. They opened their breakfast room early so we could have coffee and a quick breakfast as we were leaving early on Wed. Patrizia made a deal for the cab and then walked us out to the curb when the cab arrived; at 7 a.m.
The rooms are small, but clean. The bathroom is also small and there is only a hand-held shower hose in the tub. It is not possible to get a cup of tea or anything else there after the breakfast hour. The location, between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain
is great. This hotel does not have a lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#300 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.