We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disaster! The worst experience possible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna to your Saves list
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A disaster! The worst experience possible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel for one night because of the reviews on trip advisor and the photos on the hotel's internet site,

So, We learnt a lesson. Never to get carried away by reviews and never to believe what you see on websites.

It was our upteenth time to Rome but this hotel ranked as one of the worst I have ever been to in my life (supposedly 3 star).

The room was miniscule and run down. I therefore immediately went downstairs to complain we were given another room which was slightly better but still terrible.

My wife and I therefore decided to leave. The person at the desk told us we were free to go (I started to believe I was in prison) but had to pay!! We argued and finally left.

Do yourselves a favour stay away.

  • Liked — it has an exit
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
44
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Just returned from a fantastic 8-day trip to Rome/Florence with our 15 yr. old son. We stayed at Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna from Monday through Friday. Having never been to Rome, we took the advice of some friends who told us that Spanish Steps was a good, central location at which to stay. They had stayed at Il Piccolo so we followed suit. The hotel is VERY small -- no lobby, no game room -- since this was a sightseeing vacation though, those amenities weren't missed. It would be nice to have a lobby to go to, however, on that 2nd morning when you wake up all out of whack due to jet lag. Thankfully, our room had a balcony so I could sneak out there so as not to wake my husband or son. Anyway, the hotel is OLD -- an antique-looking elevator lift takes you up to the 4th floor, the only floor on which all 11 rooms of the hotel are located. There is a TINY breakfast area which serves an adequate continental breakfast from 7:00-10:00. The room we had was really quite small to house 3 people -- there was about an inch and a half between our bed and my son's twin bed -- made for tight squeezes. The bathroom was adequate however there was no shower -- you have to sit in the tub and hold a hand-held device to shampoo your hair. Ladies, beware -- BRING YOUR OWN HAIRDRYER and ADAPTOR!! The hairdryers in Italy require you to hold down a button constantly while blowdrying -- makes for very interesting hairdo's! All in all, the hotel is in a very good location but the rooms are very small and the hotel staff, except for the woman who works during the day, really don't know English and can't help with any questions you may have. We paid roughly $300 USD per night and it just wasn't what you'd get in the states for $300. The city of Rome is just magnificent though so go and enjoy it -- you'll be out all day enjoying the breathtaking statues and buildings and won't be in the room much at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

Our experience with this place tainted what was otherwise a great trip around Italy. We booked the hotel on the hotel web site, and selected the hotel because of the amenities listed on that web site. On the train in to Rome from Naples, we made a call in for directions, only to be told they had unilaterally moved us to another hotel a quarter of a mile away (the Spagna Inn). Our protests fell on deaf ears. Given the lateness in the day and our inability to find other lodgings on such short notice, we had no choice but to take the other room. The room and other facilities at Spagna Inn were not at all acceptable, and not on a level with what we had agreed to. To begin, the facilities at the Spagna Inn lacked nearly all the amenities represented to be available at the Piccolo. Unlike the Piccolo, the Spagna Inn has no elevator, TV room, game room, garden/terrace, jacuzzi, or room service, as advertised on the Piccolo's web site. On our arrival at the Spagna Inn, the individual at the front desk refused to assist carrying our luggage to our fourth floor room up the hotel's small, winding staircase. Essentially, my female traveling companion and I were told that we were on our own getting our luggage (consisting of three large suitcases) to our room. When we arrived in our room, we found the room's safe did not work, and when we informed the front desk of that fact, he informed us that his colleague would try to come by "around 8:00 p.m." to look at it. It took multiple calls to the Piccolo before someone came to open the safe. As a result, we were delayed for nearly an hour in beginning any sightseeing during our one afternoon in Rome. Later, when we got ready to leave for dinner and asked the front desk to call us a cab, we were informed that "there are no taxis in this region." This is unbelievable, given the fact that the hotel is less than three blocks from the Spanish Steps. As a final insult, we discovered the morning of our departure for the Rome airport that the Piccolo's promised "shuttle to airport" would cost us $45 - exactly the price of a taxi cab ride. Again, the Piccolo and Spagna Inn failed to provide the services promised, or at the very least deliberately misled us as to the services provided. Bottom line - don't trust these guys at Piccolo.

  • Liked — Flat panel TV
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Just say no.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2005

Hotel was in a very central location and easy to see all the sights in Rome. One issue - walls are very thin and we could hear people coming into the hotel in the early hours of the morning after a long night of drinking. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke english. Would recommend this hotel to those looking for a centrally-located hotel and are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

Rooms were very clean. Breakfast area was very crowded, and there weren't many people staying at hotel. Breakfast items were very basic compared to other locations we visited during our Italy trip.

At night, when you visit the in-suite bathroom, I found it very impractical, as there was no night-light, and you had to turn on the light outside the bathroom, then step up a large step, to get in to the bathroom. A night light would have been very helpful. Our party had 2 rooms, and this was a challenge with both rooms. Also, there were no English speaking stations on the TV. When you're in your room, TV can be a nice way to wind down.

The location was not easy to find, but that may be Rome. We were there 4 days, and never found it easy to navigate back to our hotel.

The staff was pleasant, but I don't think this was an exceptional property and would look to find an alternate place to stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2005

After reading glowing reviews on Tripadvisor we booked and stayed for 4 nights in October at Il Piccolo di piazza di Spagna in Rome and were very disappointed. The first night was spent in a tiny room with a pokey bathroom, hard bed and very noisy. Next morning we were moved to another, larger room with a balcony only to find after settling in that it only had a hand held shower over a bath, without any screen - very difficult to shower without flooding the room. Decided not to ask for another move and spent 3 very uncomfortable nights in another rock hard bed. No street noise but voices and plumbing noises very clear through the walls from adjoining rooms. Very inadequate breakfast served in an alcove which seated maximum of 6 people at a time. The staff were helpful when asked. The location was good but after walking many kilometres sightseeing, the most important thing is a good shower and comfortable bed and this hotel just didn't measure up - did not deserve 3 star rating and I would not recommend it or stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

My wife and I used this hotel for a recent long weekend in Rome.

We booked it on the recommendation of Tripadvisor and were disappointed. Whilst the location is excellent, the hotel facilities are poor.

When we booked (ages ago!) We asked for a room with a balcony and instead we had a very small room that was in need of some maintenance. It was also extremely noisy if we had the window open and uncomfortably warm if we didn't.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special and served in a very cramped area of hallway.

The cost was €200 per night which I consider was excessive for what we got, I was expecting something much better. I would not use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#318 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.