We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Colosseo

Save Saved
You added Locanda Colosseo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Colosseo
Cavour 275, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at several places in Italy and Locanda Colosseo was by far the best. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms were fantastic. We were given vouchers for breakfast at the little café next door and the options were great. In fact, for the few days we stayed here in Rome, we became friendly with the staff of the café and visited each evening for dessert and coffee. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    46
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
96
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of our favorites...great location, fun people. nice rooms. We moved here after staying at another B&B first. Service was exceptional. In the morning, we were given a voucher to have breakfast at the restaurant outside and downstairs. The day we checked out, they let us store our bags while we continued our adventure. When we returned, they offered us water and chocolate before we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while in Rome with my wife. Really enjoyed the place. It is very small with only a few rooms but the service is exceptional and the furnishings are very nice. They give you a nice little welcome package with pasta and wine when you arrive. The location is perfect, very centrally located in this small and walkable city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Beautifully renovated flat with just a few rooms. Makes it very cozy and personal. All the amenities you could want and very close to everything, in fact we walked to all the local attractions. The staff was very professional, hepful, and friendly. Not a single complaint. And we loved the restaurant staff who provided breakfast! Their pastries are unbelievable- we enjoyed this place so much that we returned several nights for dinner! You cannot expect more from this lovely little B&B!

Room Tip: Because of the small size, high ceilings, and tile floors, noises tend to be amplified. We had a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked la Locanda last minute for our final night in Italy, and the hotel surpassed our expectations in every single detail. I have stayed in many, many hotels in Italy and Rome, and La Locanda is doubtlessly the best I have ever stayed in for this price. The property is beautiful, brand new and tasteful in every aspect. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked perfectly and the bathroom was TO DIE FOR. The location on Via Cavour is hard to beat and perfect for visiting both ancient and Baroque Rome. Those working at La Locanda were endlessly helpful and the breakfast was exceptionally delicious, especially given the generally low standards of Italian B&Bs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms are in a single floor of an old building right in the heart of Rome.
All rooms are renovated and carefully decorated.
The front desk closes at about 8pm which makes it more difficult for people arriving later.
It is very close to the Forum and Colliseo, right in Via Cavour.
It is difficult to find because there is a very small sign indicating the place. Look for a golden plate outside.
Breakfast is in a bar next to the building and servants are not very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda C, Owner at Locanda Colosseo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really want to thank you for your good review and for having underlined some of our best aspects, like the location, the cleannes of our rooms and their appearence. Also, I want to thank you for your stay in my little Locanda and I really hope to see you again here.

I'm very sorry for what happened with the staff of "Ciardi Bar", the place where we do breakfast, and, if you had warned us about the problem, I would have gone personally to solve the issue.

Also, as for the problem of the Reception time, unfortunately the italian law about the accomodations says that all the hotels (and all its subclasses and categories) that have less than 7 rooms (like my Locanda) to have a particular time of Reception. In our case, we can provide a service of 12 hours. So, unfortunately, is for administrative matters, not for my choice.

I hope that I've been clear and that you will come again to appreciate more all our qualities.

I wish you the best for all and a very good day.


The Owner
Riccardo Michelangeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I returned from Rome on 18th August and had the most wonderful stay at this little hotel. Everything about the place is great - perfect location - literally 5 minutes walk to the Colloseum and also yards from restaurants, and a great little fountain which becomes a great place to relax at night (the little open air shop sells great prossecco). The hotel itself was spotless and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room was a lovely size and had everything we needed, plus the bathroom was beautiful and had a great shower. Cannot fault this place, nor recommend it enough. Great price too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Colosseo

Address: Cavour 275, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast “Locanda Colosseo” is located in the historic centre of Rome, in the heart of the district “Colosseo” between Via dei Fori Imperiali and Via Cavour, in a building made in the first years of the 20th century. “Locanda Colosseo” provides six elegant rooms complete of all the comforts of a luxury hotel, and they claim a mix of modern and classic design.The classy lines and the sophisticated charm are its main features, which are well set up in the historic environment of the area where it raises. The closest attention to details, the continuous innovation of the services, the young and dynamic but diligent setting make “Locanda Colosseo” a unique location.“Locanda Colosseo” is connected with Fiumicino and Ciampino Airports, and also with the train station Stazione Termini. From “Locanda Colosseo” is easy to reach, with only 3 stops of subway, great locations like Spagna Square, Trinità dei Monti and Via del Corso, where you can find, over and above the historic wonders, the greatest boutiques of the Italian fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Colosseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.