We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Rome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #399 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Orange County CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best Location in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I spent four nights at the Minerve in early May. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the plaza and the Pantheon. Our breakfasts each AM were amazing and all the staff were most accomodating. We will definitely return to this historic and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    196
    108
    47
    32
See reviews for
109
263
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I was there with my girlfriend at the beginning of May.
Ever since the cab stopped at the hotel entrance in Pazza delle Minerva, behind the pantheon, we were totally amazed!!!! It seemed like going back in time!
The location is definitely the best in the city, we went around every day, and in walking distance it is possible to reach the best places of the City, like The Spanish Steps, The Trevi Fountain, Piaza Navona, The Colosseum and much more!
The hotel is also very close to Via Condotti, which means that you can totally loose your girlfriend for hours in the best shopping street ever!
The room was absolutely beautiful with a breathtaking view of the square... i felt like I could have touched the pantheon.
My girlfriend and I have travelled a lot and we both agree that luxury make sense only if it offers you something from the past, and this hotel is like a sort of a museum in the heart of the Eternal City!
EVERYTHING WAS SO PERFECT THAT WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK...!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cable Beach Broome Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Requested an iron and ironing board for items that had creased during travel. The hotel does not provide an iron and ironing board in the rooms, so we had no option but to have the hotel iron them for us. We paid 88 Euro for 5 items - three of them being very small childrens items. Unbelieveable - how do you not feel embarrased to rip off your guests in such a blatant manner?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location in the historic centre of Rome, extremely kind, attentive staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is a fantastic, comfortable, friendly, and inviting hotel. From the hotel entrance, you can see the Pantheon! The staff were very friendly and attentive. I wasn't pleased that the Internet access wasn't free. They wanted some outrageous price of €39,00 (or $52.65 for a couple of hours); thus, in regards to Internet access, I must say "they suck." There were a few water stains in the room (the age of the hotel perhaps?) but it wasn't anything to trifle with. We were only there to spend the night after daily excursions throughout Rome! The room itself was roomy (a couch, dresser, table and chairs, nice bathroom, etc.). We love to tip the cleaning staff; thus, our room was clean, perfumed, elegantly attired, and we always had slippers by the bed. The food at one of the hotel restaurants was, at best, edible but expensive. We ate out for every meal -- and why not? The piazza in front of the Pantheon has some wonderful restaurants. I'd stay the night again but I'd do my best to get some sort of package deal that includes full/fast Internet in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
speechcb
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel was terrible! Service was awful! Rooms were dated, dirty, and not maintained. There were stains on the carpeting and scuff marks on the walls. The hairdryer was terrible! The hallways were dirty. The hotel roof top bar/restaurant was not opened, the air conditioning was not working, and we were never told that they hotel was undergoing some cosmetic work; painting. The all artwork was removed from the hallway leaving the hook and dirty ring where there was once a picture. The room size was small and the bathroom was very small. Very over rated hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I and another couple stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in October 2008. On the same trip we had also rented a house in Tuscany for a week and then spent a few days in Amalfi. We decided to head back to Rome a day earlier and the hotel was very accomoding to giving us an additional night at the same rate. The location couldn't have been better - we walked from our hotel to everything and did not need to take cabs at all except to/from the airport and we actually partially took the train from the airport because of the time of day. (Many of thye hotels in Rome are far outside of the core of the city and you will waste time and money travel to and from them.) I know a lot of people have complained about the price - but hello! This is Rome we're talking about. We paid about $280 per night and we thought it was quite reasonable. The hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. Our room was a good size ( again for a city hotel in Europe) and actually had a separate seating room and two tv's. The bathroom was well appointed and had nice ammenities including a day/night face cream combo which for anyone who travels regularly on planes you can appreciate. The best part of this hotel was the rooftop bar. We met there daily after our travels around the city and met many of the same people there each night and had regular "happy hour" crowd of sorts. The views from this rooftop deck were spectacular and if for no other reason this is a great reason to stay here. I would definitely stay again if I were traveling to Rome.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in Rome
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.