We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great terrace, let down by grumpy staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #374 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Gansbaai, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great terrace, let down by grumpy staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Long weekend in gorgeous rome! The hotel room was lovely and the terrace amazing! Now for the but... We were told the terrace was open in the evenings only to have them tell us when we went up there in the evening that they wouldn't serve drinks as only the restaurant (which was empty) was open. This is not what we were told at reception when we checked in and also not what it said in the hotel guide.

We also didn't eat there as the restaurant menu had fewer decent choices than the room service menu! Roberto the bar manager was also incredibly rude and unprofessional when we decided to get a drink in the hotel lobby bar before going out to dinner which sadly made a lasting impression.

What I will say in the hotel's favour is that it is in a fantastic location and if you do stay there (or just fancy dinner by the pantheon) then try the food and the lovely choice of wine at Hostaria Pantheon. Also the best coffee cafe in rome is just a minute's walk away!!

I wouldn't stay there again as would rather go back to hotel de russie which may not have the roof terrace but has amazing gardens, is also in a great location and where the staff are very friendly helpful and professional!

Love love Rome though!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    188
    105
    43
    28
See reviews for
101
251
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time traveling with the Vatican Observatory Foundation and several of the Jesuit astronomers that work there.
Our hotel in Rome, the Grand Hotel de la Minerve was conveniently located across from the Pantheon and within walking distance of Trevi Fountain and Bernini's Four Rivers fountain in the Piazza Navona (site of a scene in Tom Hanks' Angels and Demons).
This hotel had a fantastic breakfast European style buffet with lifesaving cappuchino. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The lobby was beautiful, as was the bar and restaurant with great views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review, indeed we are placed in the very heart of Rome.
Our location allows to walk to the city’s main monuments or shopping streets, without taking taxis. We look forward having you again as our most welcome guest, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a city break, Firstly the location could not be better, about 50 meters from pantheon, and within easy walking distance of all other major attractions. We stayed in a superior room and was easily the best we had stayed in Europe: large well maintained and great view.
We did have a major issue during the trip that could have affected our stay however the duty manager and other staff dealt with it well above our expectation and turned what could have been an issue into a huge positive.
The rooftop bar and restaurant has the best view in the ancient quarter, Although it is very pricey (40 euros for two drinks and Dinner 150 euro +) it is first class and well worth it if you can afford it.
Breakfast was decent, not for the lack of choice but is as good as anything you will find in the area.
We will stay here again, my only advice would not to book direct as we saved over 50% by getting it on another site.

Room Tip: we had Superior Room 559, it was a corner room , very large, sunny and back a little from the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As many have mentioned, this is a great location for walking to almost everywhere in Rome. However, do not expect a 5 star experience. Our room was fine, though a bit threadbare. The door lock was very hard to operate. Service from the hotel staff was adequate but not more. No one to help us with luggage or door upon arrival. Front desk staff was most occupied with higher priorities than serving customers. Two very bad experiences: Late one afternoon at the roof top bar it was almost impossible to get served, even though it was not crowded. The server walked by us several times, carefully avoiding all eye contact. We even moved tables, trying to be served. Finally he acknowledged our presence and we had the privilege of paying $38 for one glass of wine and a beer. We had arranged a car to the airport with the concierge, confirmed it several times, but upon checkout there was total confusion, no car, multiple people giving us incorrect information. Finally we were able to take another guest's car (which had arrived early). Would have been better and cheaper just to take a cab. Also, coffee at breakfast was cold most days, and for some reason this was an impossible problem to solve. My sense is they have management (and ownership) that doesn't care much about their guests' experiences. They rely on their location for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Can't get a better location for a hotel in Rome! Pricey but definitely worth it if you are able to get one of the newer rooms! Service was satisfactory and the breakfast spread is pretty decent. Lots of fabulous restaurants very close to the hotel. A taxi stand right outside the hotel is also great if you don't feel like walking!

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the hotel are terrible. Mine did not even have a window. Other members...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and got back Saturday the 26th. We were really lucky with weather about 22-25 degrees when it broke out from the morning clouds. The hotel is very pretty and grand. Concierge are incredibly helpful, couldn't do enough. Very friendly and no queue's for check in which is what I’m use to.
We got a white/yellow taxi from out front of the Fiumicino airport for 48 euro which was fixed rate for Rome. Quick and easy as trains and taxi wouldn’t have saved much we thought.
We were on 5th floor, room was perfect, comfy massive bed, hairdryer in bathroom not massively powerful but fine. Powerful shower, big windows and small balcony to look out over the Pantheon. Was quite loud at night being in the heart of it all so was quite difficult to have windows open as I kept being woken up, but they were the sounds of people having fun so didn’t bother me at all.
In every direction there was something. We pre booked Vatican and Sistine Chapel, Colosseum which I’d recommend (get the 3 in 1 ticket so you do it all) as the queues were massive. Did Pantheon which is more magical than we thought, amazing building seriously. Vinezia the Christmas cake as it’s known which we just loved to look at and every day we walked by deliberately and, the museum to the right of it of the first king of Rome. Do the lift to top as well as we missed this and probably regret slightly also and the cafe with 360 views before this lift, Navona with fountains and other Basilica’s, do this day and night as so beautiful, great restaurants there though as can sit out opposite the fountains, Colosseum, Forum and Paletine hill, Vatican, Sistine chapel, St peters Basilica which blew us away. Trevi fountain all light come on when dark and it gets so busy but again worth seeing day and night, walked to the tiber river, Spanish steps where you just have to be careful when someone shoves 3 roses in your hand and says free. As they’re not free and wasn’t happy with the few pennies we gave him. Easier to just say no really or just don’t latch on like I did. Hold onto cameras tightly, had a couple of looks but overall if you secure things well and hold onto camera with strap around wrists then we didn’t have any issues at all. Saint Eustachio around corner which was great for breakfast and amazing coffee. Then with Pantheon behind you, walk up and past the church on the left you have Della Palma, don’t miss this, twix, profiterole, strawberry cheesecake, nutella etc...amazing!
Would stay at this hotel again as perfect location to walk everywhere and amazing break away. Rooftop you shouldn't miss, yes expensive drinks 13 euro for a glass of wine but you get almonds, olives and nuts and an amazing view with the best sunset which we got ;-).

Room Tip: Had a side view to Pantheon which was great but as side street a little loud with windows open but g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel for a special trip, then you could do no better. It isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. Its location is perfect; it is right in the middle of the historic city centre with the main sites and museums all within easy walking distance for the tolerably fit. Our suite of rooms (double bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and lobby) were very clean, comfortable and spacious with air conditioning throughout and with one of the best views in the hotel - the rear of the Pantheon and overlooking the Piazza della Minerva with its Bernini elephant. The main reception area of the hotel is absolutely stunning with its large coloured glass ceiling; it is a wonderfully welcoming space after the heat and bustle of the Roman streets, with lots of soft chairs and sofas and the gentle breeze of air conditioning. (It may have been early April but it was still rather hot, and Rome was certainly very busy.) The "American" buffet breakfast was excellent and we found it ample enough to fuel us up for a whole day of strenuous sightseeing; there was a full range of hot and cold breakfast food including smoked salmon, bacon, Italian sausage and scrambled eggs together with breads, toast, cakes, pastries, and lots of fresh fruit. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, but we did venture up onto the rooftop terrace for a look, and the views were truly spectacular. (When it comes to food, there are a great many eating places nearby, and we found a couple of good ones in the Piazza Capranica which is just five minutes' walk away.) We found the service excellent; the staff were efficient but in a calm and unobtrusive way, being also friendly and approachable. We went on a package deal with Kirker Travel which was very good value, particularly given that April is one of Rome's more expensive months; for about £1800 we had four nights for two with breakfast plus flights to and from the UK and transfers, along with free prebooked tickets to the Vatican Museum including the Sistine Chapel. (An important travel tip - the queues for the Vatican Museum are unbelievably enormous, so it pays to book in advance.) Kirker also let the hotel know that this was a special trip (to celebrate my 50th birthday and our silver wedding anniversary which both fall during 2014) and they had a bottle of Prosecco on ice to greet us on arrival as well as giving us this room with such an excellent view. All told, it was a perfect trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
#151 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.