We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy haven in the heart of historic Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classy haven in the heart of historic Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel for a special trip, then you could do no better. It isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. Its location is perfect; it is right in the middle of the historic city centre with the main sites and museums all within easy walking distance for the tolerably fit. Our suite of rooms (double bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and lobby) were very clean, comfortable and spacious with air conditioning throughout and with one of the best views in the hotel - the rear of the Pantheon and overlooking the Piazza della Minerva with its Bernini elephant. The main reception area of the hotel is absolutely stunning with its large coloured glass ceiling; it is a wonderfully welcoming space after the heat and bustle of the Roman streets, with lots of soft chairs and sofas and the gentle breeze of air conditioning. (It may have been early April but it was still rather hot, and Rome was certainly very busy.) The "American" buffet breakfast was excellent and we found it ample enough to fuel us up for a whole day of strenuous sightseeing; there was a full range of hot and cold breakfast food including smoked salmon, bacon, Italian sausage and scrambled eggs together with breads, toast, cakes, pastries, and lots of fresh fruit. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, but we did venture up onto the rooftop terrace for a look, and the views were truly spectacular. (When it comes to food, there are a great many eating places nearby, and we found a couple of good ones in the Piazza Capranica which is just five minutes' walk away.) We found the service excellent; the staff were efficient but in a calm and unobtrusive way, being also friendly and approachable. We went on a package deal with Kirker Travel which was very good value, particularly given that April is one of Rome's more expensive months; for about £1800 we had four nights for two with breakfast plus flights to and from the UK and transfers, along with free prebooked tickets to the Vatican Museum including the Sistine Chapel. (An important travel tip - the queues for the Vatican Museum are unbelievably enormous, so it pays to book in advance.) Kirker also let the hotel know that this was a special trip (to celebrate my 50th birthday and our silver wedding anniversary which both fall during 2014) and they had a bottle of Prosecco on ice to greet us on arrival as well as giving us this room with such an excellent view. All told, it was a perfect trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    240
    116
    53
    33
See reviews for
148
317
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I didn't stay here, but we did go to the rooftop Deck bar to have a happy hour drink.
The drinks were expensive but very good and overall the experience was bucolic. The sun was beginning to go down, the temperature was perfect and so it was a perfect pre dinner destination
to go to, although you could eat dinner there as well. We had made reservations already elsewhere but would consider dinner there in the future. The concierges at the front desk were so helpful in answering questions and even gave us maps with directions to hard to find venues.
We didn't even stay there! Romans are very hospitable, that is my great discovery here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

In the middle of everything. Easy walk anywhere. Behind Pantheon and its square was perfect for getting drinks or tapas before dinner each night. Bar at hotel very expensive. Rooms nice - large bathrooms. Again - its all the location here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing the sights, that's the only good thing I can say. The staff and service are quite poor, with the roof top restaurant being the worst place that we ate during our 3 day stay over the Easter break. The roof top restaurant is over priced and over rated, the service was particularly bad, long delay to be served and having the wrong main course served. I can't say it was down to it being busy, as there were only 7 couples in the place. All the waiters just seem to be standing around talking to each other or on their mobiles!! We had to pour our own wine as the waiters were too busy chatting, the table next to us did complain about the service.
The final straw for me was when I was paying my bill by credit card the waiter walked off to answer his phone!!
Don't stay in room 353, if they give you this room ask to be moved,
Wont be staying here again, and will eat out in the Piazza Novona nearby where the service and food was superior.

Room Tip: chose another Hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very well located for those who want to stay in the historical center, this hotel offers a superb roof terrace, unfortunately not available for breakfast.
Confort and services are definitely closer from a good 4 stars standard rather than a 5 *. Rooms are clean, confortable but a little bit small (both the room and bathroom) and could be very noisy (bad isolation from the corridor or the room beside). Staff is nice and kind to help.
Breakfast is good but doeńt worrth the €35, charged.

Room Tip: Despite being small, if you go for standard room i would suggest to ask for the ones located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trosa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Perfect location in the centre of Rome with walking distance to many attractions. Some parts of the hotel feels a bit outdated, others are quite good. After making some demands I got at great room at the 4th floor with my own terrace. Some colleagues were less fortunate and got very small rooms. Don't miss the roof terrace with good food and a great view of the roof tops in Rome.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved my stay at La Minerve. Very aesthetic hotel. Slept incredibly well, not a great sized room (won't find any bigger in Rome) but more than adequate. Very clean, very professional with friendly staff. More than happy to recommend this hotel. The hotel may be quite expensive but you won't be disappointed. View on the roof is good too albeit with fairly expensive drinks.

Best location in the heart of Rome also. The pantheon is right outside, 200m at most. Didn't get any noise from the tourists gawking at the pantheon which was good. All of Rome's main attractions can be seen via walking from this place. Trevi fountain - 15 minute walk, Vatican - 20/30 min walk, Spanish steps - 20 min walk, Piazza Navona 10 min walk, Colosseum - 25 min walk and Vittoriano - 15 min walk. The best view would be the top of the vatican. Best point to make here would be to queue to get into the duomo, which means you come down next to St Peter's Basilica. Better than queuing twice.

Top tip = Great ice cream parlour 5/10 minute walk from the hotel. Head towards to the Pantheon and bare right once at the square. It's huge with over 150 flavours! Go mental.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael
Hotel Raphael
#124 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#39 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#111 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#247 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.