We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #386 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rooftop Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I didn't stay here, but we did go to the rooftop Deck bar to have a happy hour drink.
The drinks were expensive but very good and overall the experience was bucolic. The sun was beginning to go down, the temperature was perfect and so it was a perfect pre dinner destination
to go to, although you could eat dinner there as well. We had made reservations already elsewhere but would consider dinner there in the future. The concierges at the front desk were so helpful in answering questions and even gave us maps with directions to hard to find venues.
We didn't even stay there! Romans are very hospitable, that is my great discovery here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    178
    104
    41
    26
See reviews for
99
238
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

In the middle of everything. Easy walk anywhere. Behind Pantheon and its square was perfect for getting drinks or tapas before dinner each night. Bar at hotel very expensive. Rooms nice - large bathrooms. Again - its all the location here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing the sights, that's the only good thing I can say. The staff and service are quite poor, with the roof top restaurant being the worst place that we ate during our 3 day stay over the Easter break. The roof top restaurant is over priced and over rated, the service was particularly bad, long delay to be served and having the wrong main course served. I can't say it was down to it being busy, as there were only 7 couples in the place. All the waiters just seem to be standing around talking to each other or on their mobiles!! We had to pour our own wine as the waiters were too busy chatting, the table next to us did complain about the service.
The final straw for me was when I was paying my bill by credit card the waiter walked off to answer his phone!!
Don't stay in room 353, if they give you this room ask to be moved,
Wont be staying here again, and will eat out in the Piazza Novona nearby where the service and food was superior.

Room Tip: chose another Hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very well located for those who want to stay in the historical center, this hotel offers a superb roof terrace, unfortunately not available for breakfast.
Confort and services are definitely closer from a good 4 stars standard rather than a 5 *. Rooms are clean, confortable but a little bit small (both the room and bathroom) and could be very noisy (bad isolation from the corridor or the room beside). Staff is nice and kind to help.
Breakfast is good but doeńt worrth the €35, charged.

Room Tip: Despite being small, if you go for standard room i would suggest to ask for the ones located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trosa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Perfect location in the centre of Rome with walking distance to many attractions. Some parts of the hotel feels a bit outdated, others are quite good. After making some demands I got at great room at the 4th floor with my own terrace. Some colleagues were less fortunate and got very small rooms. Don't miss the roof terrace with good food and a great view of the roof tops in Rome.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved my stay at La Minerve. Very aesthetic hotel. Slept incredibly well, not a great sized room (won't find any bigger in Rome) but more than adequate. Very clean, very professional with friendly staff. More than happy to recommend this hotel. The hotel may be quite expensive but you won't be disappointed. View on the roof is good too albeit with fairly expensive drinks.

Best location in the heart of Rome also. The pantheon is right outside, 200m at most. Didn't get any noise from the tourists gawking at the pantheon which was good. All of Rome's main attractions can be seen via walking from this place. Trevi fountain - 15 minute walk, Vatican - 20/30 min walk, Spanish steps - 20 min walk, Piazza Navona 10 min walk, Colosseum - 25 min walk and Vittoriano - 15 min walk. The best view would be the top of the vatican. Best point to make here would be to queue to get into the duomo, which means you come down next to St Peter's Basilica. Better than queuing twice.

Top tip = Great ice cream parlour 5/10 minute walk from the hotel. Head towards to the Pantheon and bare right once at the square. It's huge with over 150 flavours! Go mental.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We loved our stayed at La Minerve, this hotel is magical and very well kept. The service was excellent from all the staff. If you are staying in Rome, I will recommend this hotel 100%. The rooms are great, very clean, had great amenities, and actually very big for a big city. We had a room with a view to the Pantheon and Piazza Minerve. The location of the hotel was great, we were able to walk to all the mayor Rome attractions, and with enough time to take some breaks back at the hotel and take a small afternoon nap. If the weather is good, you can crack the window open and just listen to the sounds of the piazza. I loved the terrace at the top, great views and drinks. Also the bar by the lobby is fantastic, very elegant and the bar tender was very friendly and suggested local drinks and places to see. There is also no shortage of food around the hotel, you can go from very touristy to whole in the wall places within a 5 min walk. There is free wifi and the connection is great in the rooms and lobby. If we go back to Rome we will stay here again for sure

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a view to the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#187 Business Hotel in Rome
#302 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;