We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location. Pantheon on the doorstep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #388 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best location. Pantheon on the doorstep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved my stay at La Minerve. Very aesthetic hotel. Slept incredibly well, not a great sized room (won't find any bigger in Rome) but more than adequate. Very clean, very professional with friendly staff. More than happy to recommend this hotel. The hotel may be quite expensive but you won't be disappointed. View on the roof is good too albeit with fairly expensive drinks.

Best location in the heart of Rome also. The pantheon is right outside, 200m at most. Didn't get any noise from the tourists gawking at the pantheon which was good. All of Rome's main attractions can be seen via walking from this place. Trevi fountain - 15 minute walk, Vatican - 20/30 min walk, Spanish steps - 20 min walk, Piazza Navona 10 min walk, Colosseum - 25 min walk and Vittoriano - 15 min walk. The best view would be the top of the vatican. Best point to make here would be to queue to get into the duomo, which means you come down next to St Peter's Basilica. Better than queuing twice.

Top tip = Great ice cream parlour 5/10 minute walk from the hotel. Head towards to the Pantheon and bare right once at the square. It's huge with over 150 flavours! Go mental.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    191
    106
    45
    30
See reviews for
104
252
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We loved our stayed at La Minerve, this hotel is magical and very well kept. The service was excellent from all the staff. If you are staying in Rome, I will recommend this hotel 100%. The rooms are great, very clean, had great amenities, and actually very big for a big city. We had a room with a view to the Pantheon and Piazza Minerve. The location of the hotel was great, we were able to walk to all the mayor Rome attractions, and with enough time to take some breaks back at the hotel and take a small afternoon nap. If the weather is good, you can crack the window open and just listen to the sounds of the piazza. I loved the terrace at the top, great views and drinks. Also the bar by the lobby is fantastic, very elegant and the bar tender was very friendly and suggested local drinks and places to see. There is also no shortage of food around the hotel, you can go from very touristy to whole in the wall places within a 5 min walk. There is free wifi and the connection is great in the rooms and lobby. If we go back to Rome we will stay here again for sure

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a view to the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nice hotel with a perfect location in the heart of Roma within a very short walking distance from "the Panteon".
Booked by my Company for 1 night at a rate of 240€ breakfast included, this hotel is in the "style" of Roma, offering a good comfort in relation with a 4* hotel, my room (202 on the second floor) was peaceful during the night despite its situation with view on the piazza. Room fully equiped of course but bathroom a little bit "old fashioned" as well as the hall leading to the rooms which should be refurbished! (really)
By nice weather, don't miss the terrace on the rooftop offering an amazing view on Roma (360 degrees), very pleasant after a busy day! (Probably one of its best asset)
No particular comments on the breakfast but "hot" buffet could be improved with more choice on the way eggs are cooked (really personal).
Warm welcome at the reception with people talking a good english, free wifi at disposal everywhere, internet corner allowing you to check on line and print a boarding pass if necessary and of course a concierge to assist you.
So, a good choice in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic place to take a holiday Rome!
Great places to tour around + centrally situated to visit most of them.
The Pantheon is right on your doorstep.
Disappointed with the hotel.
Lack of tea + coffee facilities in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

On our third trip to Rome and we picked this hotel based primarily on its central location, tripadvisor reviews and website photos...

Although I would take a guess that the professional photos may have been taken a few years ago and the rooms were a little on the small side, they were very clean and with their large windows facing the piazza & basilica of St Maria Sopra Minerva (not to mention the rear of the Pantheon), we were all delighted with our choice of hotel.

We also dined one fine but chilly evening in the wonderful rooftop restaurant. The food & service were excellent but I guess the views would be even better in the summer months when the weatherproofing is completely removed and the dining truly alfresco!

However, as our stay wore on it became apparent that the real gems were in fact the hotel staff! From the very friendly and helpful reception & concierge to the infectiously happy doorman, not to mention the charming, storytelling bartender - who all in their own way, went that little extra for us (and the tips, naturally).

But it is the culmination of all of this that made our long weekend in Rome a very enjoyable stay indeed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You literally have the Pantheon on your door step, and other major sites in Rome are within easy walking distance.
The area surrounding the hotel is full of life, cozy streets and boasts plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars etc.

We arrived around noon and were able to go to our room immediately. Very nice!
Most staff we encountered (door men, front desk, housekeeping) were very accommodating and smiling.

Our room was nice and clean, and from both bedroom and bathroom, we had access to a large terrace.
Apparently we stayed in a Deluxe room, but I suspect we were put in a Superior room (Judging by information available at the hotels web site).
Air conditioning was a bit noisy and only worked with one setting, so we decided to sleep with the balcony door open instead. This was not a problem, as our room was located on the back of the hotel, so no noise at all.
The bed was very comfortable.

For a 5-star Luxe hotel, I expected a better breakfast buffet.
Breakfast was included in our rate, but if we had to pay EUR 35 per person (like other reviewers), we would have considered having breakfast at a nearby cafe.
On our first morning, breakfast was moved to the roof top terrace. The views were spectacular, but the selection was limited, and the buffet was not restocked regularly. With plenty of guests still coming up for breakfast, the buffet lacked scrambled eggs, juice etc. When we arrived the head waiter was playing some sort of YouTube/pop video on her PC – pretty loud and kind of strange…

WIFI is free throughout the hotel and the connection is good. Ask for a password at the reception.

The hotel is charming, most of the staff are a credit to the hotel and the location is amazing! At the same time our room seemed a little tired around the edges, and the breakfast wasn´t up to 5-star standards.
Now we´ve tried it, and will probably look for an alternative for our next visit to Roma.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a beautiful,classy,elegant and friendly hotel.
This ticked every box for us. We had adjoining rooms with our children which enhanced our stay.
Staff were absolutely delightful and couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff wishes too thank you for your kind words. We know that when travelling with children, the parents like to keep them close. The hotel have 3 sets of connecting room, all of them in the Superior room category. We are currently renovating our Two-bedroom Suite, it will be ready at the beginning of March. This suite will be perfect for families, we will be able to accommodate a 5members family in two bedrooms, a living room with a sofa bed, two bathrooms. The overall surface will be 90 square meters, aprox 295ft. Hoping to have you with us again, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.