We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Wonderful Location - Priceless View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #379 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Wonderful Location - Priceless View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We loved our stayed at La Minerve, this hotel is magical and very well kept. The service was excellent from all the staff. If you are staying in Rome, I will recommend this hotel 100%. The rooms are great, very clean, had great amenities, and actually very big for a big city. We had a room with a view to the Pantheon and Piazza Minerve. The location of the hotel was great, we were able to walk to all the mayor Rome attractions, and with enough time to take some breaks back at the hotel and take a small afternoon nap. If the weather is good, you can crack the window open and just listen to the sounds of the piazza. I loved the terrace at the top, great views and drinks. Also the bar by the lobby is fantastic, very elegant and the bar tender was very friendly and suggested local drinks and places to see. There is also no shortage of food around the hotel, you can go from very touristy to whole in the wall places within a 5 min walk. There is free wifi and the connection is great in the rooms and lobby. If we go back to Rome we will stay here again for sure

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a view to the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    197
    108
    47
    31
See reviews for
109
266
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nice hotel with a perfect location in the heart of Roma within a very short walking distance from "the Panteon".
Booked by my Company for 1 night at a rate of 240€ breakfast included, this hotel is in the "style" of Roma, offering a good comfort in relation with a 4* hotel, my room (202 on the second floor) was peaceful during the night despite its situation with view on the piazza. Room fully equiped of course but bathroom a little bit "old fashioned" as well as the hall leading to the rooms which should be refurbished! (really)
By nice weather, don't miss the terrace on the rooftop offering an amazing view on Roma (360 degrees), very pleasant after a busy day! (Probably one of its best asset)
No particular comments on the breakfast but "hot" buffet could be improved with more choice on the way eggs are cooked (really personal).
Warm welcome at the reception with people talking a good english, free wifi at disposal everywhere, internet corner allowing you to check on line and print a boarding pass if necessary and of course a concierge to assist you.
So, a good choice in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic place to take a holiday Rome!
Great places to tour around + centrally situated to visit most of them.
The Pantheon is right on your doorstep.
Disappointed with the hotel.
Lack of tea + coffee facilities in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

On our third trip to Rome and we picked this hotel based primarily on its central location, tripadvisor reviews and website photos...

Although I would take a guess that the professional photos may have been taken a few years ago and the rooms were a little on the small side, they were very clean and with their large windows facing the piazza & basilica of St Maria Sopra Minerva (not to mention the rear of the Pantheon), we were all delighted with our choice of hotel.

We also dined one fine but chilly evening in the wonderful rooftop restaurant. The food & service were excellent but I guess the views would be even better in the summer months when the weatherproofing is completely removed and the dining truly alfresco!

However, as our stay wore on it became apparent that the real gems were in fact the hotel staff! From the very friendly and helpful reception & concierge to the infectiously happy doorman, not to mention the charming, storytelling bartender - who all in their own way, went that little extra for us (and the tips, naturally).

But it is the culmination of all of this that made our long weekend in Rome a very enjoyable stay indeed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You literally have the Pantheon on your door step, and other major sites in Rome are within easy walking distance.
The area surrounding the hotel is full of life, cozy streets and boasts plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars etc.

We arrived around noon and were able to go to our room immediately. Very nice!
Most staff we encountered (door men, front desk, housekeeping) were very accommodating and smiling.

Our room was nice and clean, and from both bedroom and bathroom, we had access to a large terrace.
Apparently we stayed in a Deluxe room, but I suspect we were put in a Superior room (Judging by information available at the hotels web site).
Air conditioning was a bit noisy and only worked with one setting, so we decided to sleep with the balcony door open instead. This was not a problem, as our room was located on the back of the hotel, so no noise at all.
The bed was very comfortable.

For a 5-star Luxe hotel, I expected a better breakfast buffet.
Breakfast was included in our rate, but if we had to pay EUR 35 per person (like other reviewers), we would have considered having breakfast at a nearby cafe.
On our first morning, breakfast was moved to the roof top terrace. The views were spectacular, but the selection was limited, and the buffet was not restocked regularly. With plenty of guests still coming up for breakfast, the buffet lacked scrambled eggs, juice etc. When we arrived the head waiter was playing some sort of YouTube/pop video on her PC – pretty loud and kind of strange…

WIFI is free throughout the hotel and the connection is good. Ask for a password at the reception.

The hotel is charming, most of the staff are a credit to the hotel and the location is amazing! At the same time our room seemed a little tired around the edges, and the breakfast wasn´t up to 5-star standards.
Now we´ve tried it, and will probably look for an alternative for our next visit to Roma.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a beautiful,classy,elegant and friendly hotel.
This ticked every box for us. We had adjoining rooms with our children which enhanced our stay.
Staff were absolutely delightful and couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff wishes too thank you for your kind words. We know that when travelling with children, the parents like to keep them close. The hotel have 3 sets of connecting room, all of them in the Superior room category. We are currently renovating our Two-bedroom Suite, it will be ready at the beginning of March. This suite will be perfect for families, we will be able to accommodate a 5members family in two bedrooms, a living room with a sofa bed, two bathrooms. The overall surface will be 90 square meters, aprox 295ft. Hoping to have you with us again, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived at the Grand Hotel de la Minerve at 10am after a very early morning flight, expecting to deposit our bags and head off for a day of touring. To our great surprise, both of our rooms were ready and we were checked in by the extremely friendly front desk team.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Steps from the Pantheon and walking distance to all of the sites that we intended to see during our stay, to the extent that we only used public transportation on one occasion during the 5 days of our stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little outdated with a cold tap that ran hot water. We requested twin rooms and were given rooms with 2 double beds in each. The beds themselves were extremely comfortable to the extent that it was difficult to get up in the mornings!!

All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful and friendly, and without any hint of the attitude that other reviewers have mentioned. We didn't try the breakfast as at 35 Euros per person we simply went to one of the numerous coffee shops in the vicinity.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel again in the future, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking you time to let us know your appreciation, a reward for our daily efforts. We look forward having you again with us , Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
#155 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#305 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.