We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #409 of 1,268 hotels in Rome
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic place to take a holiday Rome!
Great places to tour around + centrally situated to visit most of them.
The Pantheon is right on your doorstep.
Disappointed with the hotel.
Lack of tea + coffee facilities in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    168
    103
    41
    26
See reviews for
96
230
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

On our third trip to Rome and we picked this hotel based primarily on its central location, tripadvisor reviews and website photos...

Although I would take a guess that the professional photos may have been taken a few years ago and the rooms were a little on the small side, they were very clean and with their large windows facing the piazza & basilica of St Maria Sopra Minerva (not to mention the rear of the Pantheon), we were all delighted with our choice of hotel.

We also dined one fine but chilly evening in the wonderful rooftop restaurant. The food & service were excellent but I guess the views would be even better in the summer months when the weatherproofing is completely removed and the dining truly alfresco!

However, as our stay wore on it became apparent that the real gems were in fact the hotel staff! From the very friendly and helpful reception & concierge to the infectiously happy doorman, not to mention the charming, storytelling bartender - who all in their own way, went that little extra for us (and the tips, naturally).

But it is the culmination of all of this that made our long weekend in Rome a very enjoyable stay indeed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You literally have the Pantheon on your door step, and other major sites in Rome are within easy walking distance.
The area surrounding the hotel is full of life, cozy streets and boasts plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars etc.

We arrived around noon and were able to go to our room immediately. Very nice!
Most staff we encountered (door men, front desk, housekeeping) were very accommodating and smiling.

Our room was nice and clean, and from both bedroom and bathroom, we had access to a large terrace.
Apparently we stayed in a Deluxe room, but I suspect we were put in a Superior room (Judging by information available at the hotels web site).
Air conditioning was a bit noisy and only worked with one setting, so we decided to sleep with the balcony door open instead. This was not a problem, as our room was located on the back of the hotel, so no noise at all.
The bed was very comfortable.

For a 5-star Luxe hotel, I expected a better breakfast buffet.
Breakfast was included in our rate, but if we had to pay EUR 35 per person (like other reviewers), we would have considered having breakfast at a nearby cafe.
On our first morning, breakfast was moved to the roof top terrace. The views were spectacular, but the selection was limited, and the buffet was not restocked regularly. With plenty of guests still coming up for breakfast, the buffet lacked scrambled eggs, juice etc. When we arrived the head waiter was playing some sort of YouTube/pop video on her PC – pretty loud and kind of strange…

WIFI is free throughout the hotel and the connection is good. Ask for a password at the reception.

The hotel is charming, most of the staff are a credit to the hotel and the location is amazing! At the same time our room seemed a little tired around the edges, and the breakfast wasn´t up to 5-star standards.
Now we´ve tried it, and will probably look for an alternative for our next visit to Roma.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a beautiful,classy,elegant and friendly hotel.
This ticked every box for us. We had adjoining rooms with our children which enhanced our stay.
Staff were absolutely delightful and couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff wishes too thank you for your kind words. We know that when travelling with children, the parents like to keep them close. The hotel have 3 sets of connecting room, all of them in the Superior room category. We are currently renovating our Two-bedroom Suite, it will be ready at the beginning of March. This suite will be perfect for families, we will be able to accommodate a 5members family in two bedrooms, a living room with a sofa bed, two bathrooms. The overall surface will be 90 square meters, aprox 295ft. Hoping to have you with us again, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived at the Grand Hotel de la Minerve at 10am after a very early morning flight, expecting to deposit our bags and head off for a day of touring. To our great surprise, both of our rooms were ready and we were checked in by the extremely friendly front desk team.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Steps from the Pantheon and walking distance to all of the sites that we intended to see during our stay, to the extent that we only used public transportation on one occasion during the 5 days of our stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little outdated with a cold tap that ran hot water. We requested twin rooms and were given rooms with 2 double beds in each. The beds themselves were extremely comfortable to the extent that it was difficult to get up in the mornings!!

All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful and friendly, and without any hint of the attitude that other reviewers have mentioned. We didn't try the breakfast as at 35 Euros per person we simply went to one of the numerous coffee shops in the vicinity.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel again in the future, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking you time to let us know your appreciation, a reward for our daily efforts. We look forward having you again with us , Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a Valentine Weekend in Rome. We stayed at this hotel and it was brilliant. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and so quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food and service in the rooftop restaurant was first class if a little on the expensive side, but the view was worth it.
My only criticism of the hotel was the lack of gtea/coffee making facilities in the room. But that's me being picky.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review , w look forward to have you again with us, Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

As others have said, the location is truly excellent. The vibe is more formal, to the point of unwelcoming. We booked our room via Hotwire; were given a backside view on the 4th floor. Room was perfectly fine, and bathroom was well appointed, although lacked heated towel bars. Wifi worked well for us. Sounds trivial, but terrible selection of TV stations! In January, the restaurants seemed to have shut down. The "Rotunda" off the main lobby, has 5 tables and a small menu. We arrived on a rainy day and tried lunch there. The food was subpar, took forever, and the servers seemed terrified as they tried to be very correct. Don't eat there! Bar prices are high: 15 Euros for a Manhattan! Don't drink there, either! The rooftop looked like it would be nice--but it was closed for winter. Lobby looks elegant, but it was uninviting. (We are 60 year old professionals-generally feel comfortable in upscale hotels!) I'm not sure whom they wish to attract, but the one huge plus for this hotel is simply location.

Room Tip: It wouldn't hurt to ask for a view--but the desk attitudes were quite unbending, so don't ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions, we are happy to know that you appreciated our rooms, the critics you express are a spur to do better. The reception staff is one of our prides, a certain formality is a must for a 5star hotel like us, usually appreciated by high profile politicians, professionals and businessman. I can agree that some guests maybe would like a more easy-going attitude but I assure you that it is not given for sure TV channels selection have been set up after collecting requests from customers coming from all around the world plus the main Italian channels. The “La Rotonda” is actually our breakfast room, located in the basement of the hotel. The restaurant, usually open on our roof top, had been moved to the lobby, due to the bad weather conditions, we have had a couple of rainy weeks that made it uncomfortable serving our guest at the Minerva Roof Garden. The distance from the kitchen and generally speaking the unusual location made the staff a bit more focused about giving the high class service we usually treat our guests with. Prices for both Restaurant and Bar are absolutely in line with any similar and comparable venue in Rome. Hoping to have you again with us, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#310 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.