We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #406 of 1,265 hotels in Rome
Cheshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a beautiful,classy,elegant and friendly hotel.
This ticked every box for us. We had adjoining rooms with our children which enhanced our stay.
Staff were absolutely delightful and couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff wishes too thank you for your kind words. We know that when travelling with children, the parents like to keep them close. The hotel have 3 sets of connecting room, all of them in the Superior room category. We are currently renovating our Two-bedroom Suite, it will be ready at the beginning of March. This suite will be perfect for families, we will be able to accommodate a 5members family in two bedrooms, a living room with a sofa bed, two bathrooms. The overall surface will be 90 square meters, aprox 295ft. Hoping to have you with us again, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    169
    103
    41
    26
See reviews for
96
230
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived at the Grand Hotel de la Minerve at 10am after a very early morning flight, expecting to deposit our bags and head off for a day of touring. To our great surprise, both of our rooms were ready and we were checked in by the extremely friendly front desk team.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Steps from the Pantheon and walking distance to all of the sites that we intended to see during our stay, to the extent that we only used public transportation on one occasion during the 5 days of our stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little outdated with a cold tap that ran hot water. We requested twin rooms and were given rooms with 2 double beds in each. The beds themselves were extremely comfortable to the extent that it was difficult to get up in the mornings!!

All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful and friendly, and without any hint of the attitude that other reviewers have mentioned. We didn't try the breakfast as at 35 Euros per person we simply went to one of the numerous coffee shops in the vicinity.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel again in the future, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking you time to let us know your appreciation, a reward for our daily efforts. We look forward having you again with us , Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a Valentine Weekend in Rome. We stayed at this hotel and it was brilliant. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and so quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food and service in the rooftop restaurant was first class if a little on the expensive side, but the view was worth it.
My only criticism of the hotel was the lack of gtea/coffee making facilities in the room. But that's me being picky.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review , w look forward to have you again with us, Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

As others have said, the location is truly excellent. The vibe is more formal, to the point of unwelcoming. We booked our room via Hotwire; were given a backside view on the 4th floor. Room was perfectly fine, and bathroom was well appointed, although lacked heated towel bars. Wifi worked well for us. Sounds trivial, but terrible selection of TV stations! In January, the restaurants seemed to have shut down. The "Rotunda" off the main lobby, has 5 tables and a small menu. We arrived on a rainy day and tried lunch there. The food was subpar, took forever, and the servers seemed terrified as they tried to be very correct. Don't eat there! Bar prices are high: 15 Euros for a Manhattan! Don't drink there, either! The rooftop looked like it would be nice--but it was closed for winter. Lobby looks elegant, but it was uninviting. (We are 60 year old professionals-generally feel comfortable in upscale hotels!) I'm not sure whom they wish to attract, but the one huge plus for this hotel is simply location.

Room Tip: It wouldn't hurt to ask for a view--but the desk attitudes were quite unbending, so don't ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions, we are happy to know that you appreciated our rooms, the critics you express are a spur to do better. The reception staff is one of our prides, a certain formality is a must for a 5star hotel like us, usually appreciated by high profile politicians, professionals and businessman. I can agree that some guests maybe would like a more easy-going attitude but I assure you that it is not given for sure TV channels selection have been set up after collecting requests from customers coming from all around the world plus the main Italian channels. The “La Rotonda” is actually our breakfast room, located in the basement of the hotel. The restaurant, usually open on our roof top, had been moved to the lobby, due to the bad weather conditions, we have had a couple of rainy weeks that made it uncomfortable serving our guest at the Minerva Roof Garden. The distance from the kitchen and generally speaking the unusual location made the staff a bit more focused about giving the high class service we usually treat our guests with. Prices for both Restaurant and Bar are absolutely in line with any similar and comparable venue in Rome. Hoping to have you again with us, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel location was amazing . Receptionist was very friendly and we were given our room at 10 am although check in time was much later . All staff was very nice . Room was spacious and. Clean and had turn down service too . It's walking distance to Pantheon and other major sites . It's a waste doing hop on hop off as all the sites are walking distance except the Vatican .
Only bad side to the hotel was having no coffe / tea facility in the room . And the room service starts only at 630 am and coffee is €8 per cup . Although they gave cookies / croissants ...
Wish they had the roof top restaurant opened too . Since winter they were closed. But all in all I would stay here again .., so safe,clean and friendly .

Room Tip: Over looking the square would be great ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we love to hear from satisfied customers. We know that after a long flight from, as example, the States, waiting hours for the room to get ready can be very frustrating, so we always try to assign the rooms as soon as they become available, even if our official check-in time is 3pm. Coffee/Tea boilers were taken off the room after we noticed that that they were used by less than 10 percent of our customers, room service is available 24h. Our breakfast room for coffee opens at 6:30. The restaurant is open through the year, but we closed it for some days this winter due to the heavy rainfalls that occurred for almost two weeks in January/February. We foresee to have you again with us, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location is the thing with the minerve. Right by the pantheon, slap in the centre of Rome, awesome. And the room was modern and clean, but no points to charge phones, plug in iPod, ghds, hairdryers without unplugging a lamp. We were denied any access to roof garden as private party hired it, and it was closed during day. And seriously €70 for an average breakfast. Spoiled the whole thing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to let us know you impressions of your stay. Customer feedback is precious to us, to understand and meet our guest’s needs. I have forwarded your observation about electric power outtakes to our technical department, who will find a solution for this issue. Regarding our breakfast, the price is absolutely in line with similar venues in Rome. We are sorry that you found it “average”, if you could let us know what you did not appreciate, we will have more hints about how to better this service. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very central location. Nice main areas. Room was on 5th floor so quiet. Like a cold room and slept with windows open and it was peaceful. Room was ok. Bed large but no great luxury in room. That said because of the location would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EzioSacrini, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing with us your impressions of your stay. Our location, is ideal for those who wish or need to stay in Rome city centre. Close to the main government buildings and the main shopping streets, the most known monuments of the city are at hand, some of them only a hundred a meter away. Then the Minerva square, with it’s elephant, is a pedestrian area ,as most of the surrounding areas. This avoid most of the traffic jams and noises that are associated, granting our guest a relaxing stay. We will be happy to have you with us again in a near future, Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#183 Business Hotel in Rome
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.