We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #383 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our stay was nice, the Wi-Fi did not work in 2 of our 3 rooms. The room service food was good and the hotel staff was friendly and spoke fairly good english. the hotel did not have turn down service, the only disappointment was that there was no swimming pool

Room Tip: higher floors have less traffic noise, ( above floor 3 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    181
    105
    41
    26
See reviews for
99
241
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a good hotel but a few things during my stay let it down a little for me. On arrival the door was unmanned and the lobby unstaffed. At check in the receptionists were courteous but not particularly efficient. We had booked two rooms but they could initially only find one, after some shuffling of papers they eventually found the second one and we were dispatched to our rooms, carrying our own luggage. The lobby area is very nice, immaculately clean and very classy. The rooms were ok but nothing special. One room had an ok view over the rooftops the other just a courtyard view. The rooms were clean and well maintained but nothing special. The showers in both rooms were old and not very efficient, one was barely working. The toilet in one room did not flush but that was soon rectified by maintenance. Having read other reviews of the roof top bar and restaurant I was expecting more than I found. Yes there is a view of the Pantheon but it’s a view of a tiny and unattractive bit of the back wall. The view from the roof onto Minerve Square is fine but nothing to write home about, it's just a quiet, empty square. In most decent hotel bars you may expect a pianist gently playing in the background, here you will find what I found to be pretty awful, a really cheesy crooner wailing along to backing tracks while he "played" an electronic keyboard, even at the Benidorm Solana that would be bad! The price at the bar is astronomical and really not good value, a small beer and a tonic water cost 21 Euros. Breakfast was ok. The breakfast room is clean but not particularly attractive. Service was efficient but not attentive, the coffee was served in a jug with coffee spilt all down the spout and side, bear in mind that the menu price for a jug of coffee is 10 euro and you have a right to expect much higher standards. The buffet was ok but nothing special. Hot food consisted of some nice sausage, some ok bacon and some watery scrambled eggs. The cold meat selection was good quality and reasonable choice. The fresh fruit selection was very good but the fruit juices seemed to me to be nasty concentrate not fresh. The menu rate for breakfast was 35euros and anyone who pays that can only feel robbed because whilst it was ok it really was not that good. Location wise the hotel is pretty central for many of the tourist sites but then again so are most hotels in central Rome as it's not a big city. If you are travelling on business and paying for everything on expenses then this hotel would be ok but for tourists I would suggest saving your money and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was extremely disappointed with our stay at the Grand Hotel de la Minerve. We stayed three nights and did not feel it was worth the money. The hotel has a wonderful location but the small rooms with minimum functioning air conditioning is infuriating. The employees at the front desk were rude and in my opinion quite lazy. The concierge was rude as well. The doormen and the bartender were very friendly and always went out of their way to assist you in any way possible.

Overnight parking was 60Euro, breakfast is 35Euro per person and we had two glasses of prosecco and two waters on the rooftop bar and it was 60Euro. I wouldn't mind paying these prices if the hotel made an effort to treat their guests nicer. The fact that the air conditioning doesn't work well makes coming back to your room after sightseeing all day in July temperatures dreadful.

If money is not an option for you and you don't mind staying in small warm rooms then the Grand Hotel de la Minerve's location is worth 300Euro per night. Otherwise I'd say find a room somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. While some parts of the hotel are lovely (the seating area in reception), the corridors and our room was certainly not 5 star- faded and in need of rennovation. We decided to go to the roof terrace for drinks and, as advertised, the view is breathtaking. Unfortunately the area with the best views was reserved for a private party so check before you go! The service here was shocking. After being seated at a table, we waited a full ten minutes to be given menus and eventually got so tired of waiting for the waiter to take our order we left. I appreciate a bar can be busy, but that's no excuse to completely ignore your customers! We were driving through Italy and the hotel said parking was €40 per day- what they failed to mention is that where the hotel is located, is within a controlled driving area which only allows residents to drive through the centre. Anyone without a resident permit is fined. While I appreciate this is not the hotel's fault, with customer satisfaction in mind, it would have been nice for someone to have mentioned this to us when we phoned to book- as they knew we were planning on driving as we asked about parking!The location of the hotel is excellent. It is right behind the pantheon and perfect for exploring Rome. BUT, it is exorbitantly priced for the condition of the hotel- I just don't think even the excellent location justifies the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Crusty, smells like sweat, much overpriced. Breakfast not included. No pool, no spa, gym is tiny and dark. Not worth 5 stars for SURE. Shame on Priceline to sell this as a 5 star hotel in downtown Rome.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, close to lots of tourist attractions and within walking distance of many. The staff on check in were very pleasant and throughout our stay were very helpful especially, who when we enquired about a tour of the vatican recommended a private tour. Now at a cost of 60 euros an hour seems steep but well worth it. Our guide, Mariel was a lovely lady and was so knowledgeable about the art and history of the vatican. We had a lovely tour so thank you for the recommendations.
however, the hotel itself was very very noisy at night and all through the night. We were on the 5th floor and close to the stairway for the roof top terrace. we complained after the second night as we were kept awake by doors banging and the rattle of glasses on trollies. But, it only got worse instead of better and on the last night we got no sleep at all. It ruined our stay. Also, the room although supposed to be a deluxe was old and tired. Shame as the hotel is so centrally located.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was 35 euros pp so we went to a cafe 2 mins away which only cost 6!
If you do anything - go to Life restaurant its amazing and tour the vatican :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room located away from the entrance to terrace bar :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful week staying here. We had the standard - most basic room - which had recently been refurbished and was a good size for the 2 of us. The single beds were queen. The location is perfect right next to the pathenon, we walked everywhere and also used the tourist bus tour. The rate included breakfast which was good and they catered for me being gluten free.
The hotel is old so the lifts and some of the decor had character but was not 5 star.
Staff were very helpful and assisted with directions, tours and getting to the airport.
If I visit Rome again I will definitely stay here.
The hotel drinks were very expensive, there are lots of good restaurants very near.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#182 Business Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.