We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooftop Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Minerve to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooftop Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at the Grande Hotel de la Minerve. Too expensive for our travel budget, though our friends have stayed there and they recommend it highly. We have, however, enjoyed the rooftop bar when we are in Rome. In my opinion, this is one of the best rooftop bars in Europe. Catch the sunset over Rome while looking over the Pantheon, drinking martinis and listening to live music....well, it's a pretty cool scene. The staff is friendly and attentive. The drinks are a bit pricey, but you just can't beat the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, Web & Revenue executive at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting the Minerva Roof Garden,
we are happy to know that you had a good time enjoying and relaxing in Rome’s summer.
The Roof Garden Bar and restaurant is open every day for lunch and dinner, with the new menus for the coming spring and summer
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    219
    113
    52
    32
See reviews for
128
301
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel from 12/28/2011 to 1/07/2012 it is a very nice hotel but expensive, the best part is the location very close to the Pantheon, but our rooms were 340.00 euros/night and they
were small rooms. Any drink or food at the hotel was too expensive so we did not try any.
Service was excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the piazza della Minerva are the best, but also the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great hotel that overlooked the piazza. We had the junior suite which is well appointed as expected for the price and service. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the piazza (square).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, Web & Revenue executive at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Guest ,
thank you for choosing Grand Hotel De La minerve for your Holidays, and for sharing your impression
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My friend and I visited the roof terrace in this hotel after a long day doing the sights. To our utter dispair we were treated so badly I am now prompted to write a review so that I can save other visitors from the dispectable and shameful behaviour of the staff on the roof terrace. My friend ordered a Singapore Gin Sling and I ordered a Bloody Mary. My friends drink was utterly revolting. God only knows what it was made from! We doubted if there was alcohol in it. My drink was served up with so much chilli it practically burned my mouth. I returned the drink but the new drink served to me had no alcohol - either Gin or Vodka in it at all. The staff here are arrogant and do not deserve to have a job. They also charged us over £100 to add insult to injury. If this hotel was the last one in Rome we would not use it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, web & revenue executive at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are professionals of the hospitality, and our guest’s opinions are always of the highest value to us, so we conducted an internal investigation, to understand what happened.
On Sept. 29, you and your friends were welcomed at the Roof Top Bar by our award winner bar manager. You were served 1 beer, 3 Singapore Gin Sling, 1 Bloody Mary and 2 Gin Tonic.
The total bill was €98,00. The prices were clearly shown on the menu you were given.
The Singapore Gin Sling is made by 9 different parts, of which only 2 are non alcoholic. We serve it according to the original recipt, wich is slighty different from what you can find in other places, so it is also possible that it tastes differently. We serve Bloody Mary with vodka, as it should.
State that your staff behaved in a polite and helpful way, as they always do, would be no lie.
To ask to be paid is not neither unrespectful or arrogant, it’s part of their job.

Hoping that a careful reader understand that they did manage a difficult and embarrassing moment in the most professional manner,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

It is just a walking distance of all the major sites right next to Pantheon. As we had only two days in Rome location was our decison basis. I got what I was looking for.

The lobby is great, however, the rooms and furnitures are old and the service in general is average. The bell boy was answering our questions as consierge.

The hotel has five starts most probably because of the location and prices, not service and quality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, web & revenue executive at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is with utter disappointment we receive your feedback , mostly because of your statement regarding service being “average”. We compel all our staff to be at the guests disposal, helping them in any of their need or request. This is why the bell boy doubles as concierge when the proper one is not at disposal. However we will take your observations as a spur to do better.
Regarding the quality, the last batch of room renovation is almost completed, the floor corridors are scheduled for next month. We are sure that you will find our five star truly deserved in any aspect next time, we hope, you will visit us
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Minerva, we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have been coming to the Hotel Minerva for 14 years. My last visit in November, 2011 was excellent. This hotel is not resting on past glory, it is making itself better. The staff was excellent, the room updated, and the breakfast buffet completely revamped and wonderful. I will return again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Imagine walking out of the front door of your hotel and seeing that you are a block from the Pantheon. Probably just another day to a local, but incredible for a tourist. In addition to the location, the staff are friendly, speak English, and are attentive. There is a rooftop bar to go to to see the sunset over the rooftops of all that is Rome. The rooms are spacious and appealing to weary tourists, and the restaurant is very good. Be sure to admire all of the Murano Glass works that surround you in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, web & revenue executive at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your overview, we are glad to know that you appreciated our staff.
We foresee to host you again, Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Rome
#146 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#216 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Minerve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.