We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ponte Sisto to your Saves list
Hotel Ponte Sisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #142 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Don't be put off by the scruffy street. The hotel is lovely and spotlessly clean. Staff all very helpful. Buffett breakfast in the garden was lovely and great choice. Good wifi even on the 5th floor. I felt very safe in the area even though I was on my own. Suprised how quiet my room was. No traffic noise at all. My only problem was that the bed and the pillows were very hard so I didn't sleep well. Good location for visiting the Vatican but it's a 25min walk from the metro and there aren't many busses in that area. Although Rome is easily walkable, not having the option to use public transport at type end of a long day is a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    321
    69
    24
    8
See reviews for
187
417
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staveley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Ponte Sisto which was up a narrow side street off the River Tevere, Rome.

The entrance was fairly unimpressive but once stepped inside the welcoming feel and the friendly service and staff were a warm relief. Our triple room/ 'suite' (excited) was amazing, spacious, clean, well-equipped and when introduced to our terrace, which we expected to be a teeny balcony looking over the street, our jaws dropped. A spacious alcove from the street with easy chairs and table, dining table & chairs and enormous parasol. The friendly staff were v helpful and as happy as us to show us around. Room overall was very comfortable and luxurious.

Breakfast was served in an internal, outdoor courtyard, was buffet style and had a wide variety of choice from cereals, continental and cooked with delicious coffee and 'cornetto' (croissants). Staff were very friendly, helpful yet relaxed.

The location was excellent, in between the Vatican City and the Coliseum and all major tourist attractions and open-top bus stations were in walking distance.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends...perfect in every way xx

Room Tip: If there's 3 or 4 of you ask for room 423 which is a suite with a wonderful terrace which was we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room and the bathroom were spacious compared to other hotels we visited during our four week stay in France and Italy. We did not upgrade to a suite, but we had a bathtub and enough room for two luggage racks for suitcases. The air conditioning, hot water and free internet worked fine.

One of the nicest features of this hotel is the beautiful large central courtyard where breakfast is served. The courtyard is well- landscaped with shrubs, flowers, vines, and some trees. It was incredibly relaxing to sit here eating a tasty breakfast before heading out. The hotel also had interior seating in case of bad weather.

The hotel has a comfortable lobby where you can wait for friends. Although we did not visit the rooftop patio, the views are likely lovely.

My problem with this hotel is its location, in terms of 1) distance from the metro (subway); 2) distance from sites we wanted to visit; 3) neighborhood noise; and 4) my sense of personal safety.

1) Distance from metro (subway): This hotel is probably miles from the nearest subway (metro) stop, which is probably Colosseo. There is an electric tram within about six blocks, but it basically heads to the suburbs, not the major Rome sites we wanted to see. We really missed being near a subway stop, and consider this a major problem with the hotel.

2). Distance from sites we wanted to see. It took us about a half hour to walk to the Pantheon. From there we continued on to the Vittor Emmanuel Monument. Those were the only major tourist sites nearby. We could see the Colosseum in the distance. The hotel is about a five minute walk from a self-service laundromat. This hotel in located in the old Jewish Quarter, and a major synagogue is near the hotel. The hotel is a block or so from the Ponte Sisto bridge, from which you can cross to Trastevere. There is no convenient easy access to other major tourist attractions such as Borghese Art Gallery, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Termini Station, Ancient Ruins (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palantine Hill, etc. If you stay at this hotel, consider having the hotel call a taxi for you.

3) Neighborhood noise from the apartments across the street kept us awake at night. We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June: a Thursday, Friday and Saturday. We had a room facing the street on which the main hotel entrance was located. Thursday night people in the apartments across the street very late. Friday night was quiet. Saturday night we heard people talking late into the night, probably from open windows in the apartments across the tiny street. If you stay at this hotel, request a room facing the beautiful large interior courtyard.

4) As a female I felt uneasy about my personal safety walking in the surrounding neighborhood. The streets and alleys are very narrow and winding, with little visibility of whatever is just around the corner. Even when walking with my husband I was worried about getting mugged. We had a very detailed map of Rome, but it was hard to locate a wide street with more foot traffic. I did not experience this feeling of uneasiness several weeks earlier when we stayed in a different part of a Rome for six days.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel if you get a room on the interior courtyard and take a cab everywhere. I found the neighborhood questionable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

You can walk the entirety of Rome from this location right on the Tiber at the Ponte Sisto bridge. I would definitely choose this hotel again next time I visit Rome. The photos of the rooms on the website are misleading. They are quite small and most do not have balconies, but they are fine for sleeping and showering. Also, the hotel looks awful from the outside and is on a block with a lot of graffiti. However, step inside and you will see a beautiful ground floor and courtyard bedecked with flowers everywhere. Also, the staff is super-helpful and ready to do anything at all to assist guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First visit to Rome could not have been better. The hotel is tucked away opposite Sisto bridge. If you cross this you'll get to a lively area of bars and places to eat. Also, along the river at both sides are 'pop up' bars and restaurants, perfect for al fresco dining. If you go the other way behind the hotel area there are more Piazza's with less tourist venues to drink and eat. The room facing the courtyard was very comfortable and well stocked. The breakfast in the courtyard was great. I've never had such a fresh continental bread, croissant, meat and cheese selection. Happy Hour was good too although the roof too areas were closed even though the weather was amazing. This hotel is a little jewel so book early to avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Really lovely hotel. Nice helpful reception staff with good English & a sense of humour. Room was more than satisfactory; clean, well appointed & plenty of nice extras. Even 'intimate hygiene' soap on the bidet! The building gas a number of nice little roof terraces & a lovely roof garden as well as a super pretty courtyard. My only comment here was that these areas are not fully utilised. Our nearest terrace was kept locked in the main tho it would gave been nice to sit out with a drink. We did have a lot of rain this week so perhaps that's partly why. But the courtyard was not an option for breakfast even tho most mornings were dry and sunny. It would gave been nice to say to guests that we could use it, even if the tables weren't set up with cloths & napkins. However, the place is in a great location & a fab hotel & I'd certainly use it again next time I'm in Rome.

Room Tip: Floor 3 was very quiet. A roof terrace room would be fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

A lovely small hotel in an absolutely perfect location: convenient to almost anywhere you'd like to go yet away from Tourist Central. Comfortable, well-equipped rooms and a comprehensive breakfast included in the price. We booked well in advance for seven nights and were given a substantial discount for prepayment. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#116 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ponte Sisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.