We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Roma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ponte Sisto to your Saves list
Hotel Ponte Sisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #119 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oh Roma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Being in Rome at the end of the summer – is like leaving your dream. It is that sunny, full of people, laid-back beautiful old city, where every turn and every corner offers you an unexpected surprise or expected delight. Piazzas, fountains, markets, ruins, streets, bridges: they all bring you up to experience their visuals, sounds, smells, and tastes and lift your spirit. Walking along the river, having your dinner at Trastevere or at Piazza Navona, and spending a day at the ruins – is the must!
Pointe Sisto where we stayed – is a 4 stars boutique hotel right by the Sisto Bridge. It is very convenient to all the sightseeing – we didn’t use a car or public transport, but walked everywhere. It is close to Vatican. Trastevere is just across the bridge, and Piazza Navona is 10 min walk from there.
The rooms are nice, and most are facing a beautiful inner courtyard. It has a full breakfast – very tasty – and with as much coffee as you want. (You will need it after spending your nights in the city). And the service is attentive. The rooms are clean and quiet. You can hear a bit of music coming from the Sisto bridge where there is an open air dancing in the evening, but we liked it – the city was alive with the sound of music…
That is where we would stay again if we have another chance to come back to the City of Dreams. For now Arrivederci Roma until we meet again….

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    293
    63
    23
    7
See reviews for
176
388
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went to Rome in Nov 2013 for a short weekend break. I would like to say I had the best weekend trip ever. The hotel made our stay worthwhile the room was perfect and was clean, we stayed on the 5th floor the view was perfect and the staff were always there to help and very helpful and provided us with the best service. Breakfast buffet was outstanding with more than enough dishes to choose from. Location wise it was perfect right in the center of everything, 20/30 mins walk from main areas positioned 100 meters from the enchanting bridge 500 meters from the bustling market stalls of Campo di Fiori all amenities and beauty of La Bella Roma at your fingertips. Would come back here again and again loved every minute

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's true that the rooms are 'dinky' well mine certainly was (staying as a single traveller), however it was very well appointed. The fixtures and fittings were of a high quality and kept scrupulously clean. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice to suit most tastes. The staff were unfailingly helpful, professional and courteous.

The location is the real star, close to the river within minutes of the bustling Campo di Fiori. There's an amazing ice cream shop across from it, which I visited every evening. It's located about 25-30 mins walk from the major sites (e.g. in between the Vatican and the Colosseum). It's about 10-15 mins walk from Piazza Navona.

Despite the fact that it's in the midst of a bustling part of town I could only hear very faint background noise in the room, which was dealt with easily using ear plugs. The other patrons didn't make much noise either. The courtyard and roof terrace were delightful, although sadly not in use in November. The staff at the main desk spoke superb English and delivered a fantastic service.

One downside for any tea-loving Brits - there's no tea/coffee making facilities (but there weren't any in the other hotel I stayed at near the airport either, so I suspect it's not usual for Italian hotels. Beware of the city tax (at time of writing this was €3 per day). You have to pay this on departure. I didn't see that mentioned in my guide book.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel, small rooms but perfectly formed. The one exception to this would be for anyone with disabilities, there were lifts but they're small and I'm pretty sure there are steps to negotiate, but I'd double check with the hotel first (I might have missed an access lift)

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights after our cruise and was very impressed with rooms, beautiful courtyard, location to sites. Breakfast buffet was outstanding with more than enough dishes to choose from. Only negative situation was that our room on the 2nd floor faced the street and the partying tourists and locals made for some noise but did not take away from our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

See Rome &Die ! So the saying goes ! But before you do that you must stay at the PonteSisto !! Truly a fab hotel ,positioned 100 meters from the enchanting bridge 500 meters from the bustling market stalls of Campo di Fiori all amenities and beauty of La Bella Roma at your fingertips . The Hotel provides an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the eternal city with it's wonderful staff and well appointed bedrooms ! It's rooftop garden is amazing and great for a birds eye view of the City ! The bar is small and quiet but the cloister garden is a must to spend a calm and relaxing hour or so after a days sight seeing ! The pro secco and canapés are just what the doctor ordered ! Truly a great hotel ! ps not for kids !!!! More a Romantic hideaway .

Room Tip: Have stayed 3times and best rooms on first floor ! Enjoy🎭
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent location on a small street in central Rome in walking distance to everything. Lovely, quiet courtyard idea for a post tour of Rome drink with friends. The staff are attentive and helpful. Lots of great restaurants nearby. What's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days after our cruise. The hotel is a block away from the Ponte Sisto Bridge which leads into Trastevere and its restaurants and a block away from Campo de Fiore and all its restaurants. At the corner you can get the 23 bus which takes you right to the Vatican. About 5 blocks away is the Jewish Ghetto. The location is perfect for the tourist.
The breakfast is great. Cappucino if you ask for it, all sorts of breads and danish. Fresh fruit and fruit salads. Yogurt, cereals, cheeses, scrambeled eggs and bacon. After that breakfast we didn't need much of a lunch while touring. We had a first floor room that looked over their courtyard so it was extremely quiet. It's more expensive than we are used to but it was worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#100 Family Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ponte Sisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.