We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, you can't beat it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Corona Hotel to your Saves list
Corona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napoli 3 | 00184 Roma, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #490 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For the money, you can't beat it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was a great place to stay for travelers on a budget. It has a great location and we had no problems whatsoever. I felt a little mislead by all the raving reviews originally when we walked in the door for the first time, but after a night or two in bustling Rome, you understand why. It is rated highly because this place is the best in the area FOR THE PRICE. It is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. But only because of the amenities.There are no fanciness or extras. The hotel is small, but the the rooms are clean, the staff is great, there is complimentary breakfast (cold cuts, coffee, bread, etc.) and it's close to everything. The area is safe and quiet. We grew to love this place, and would happily go back. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    204
    76
    30
    30
See reviews for
94
197
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for about a week and really enjoyed myself. The staff we all very nice and there are two lounge areas which was really convenient when there are other groups in the hotel. The rooms were really great, I had plenty of space to move around and set my stuff out. I always had clean towels and sheets also. The elevator is tiny, but I was on the first floor so very few stairs to go up. The bathroom was bigger than previous bathrooms I have encountered, even the room and the set up of the furniture made space accessible and usable. I enjoyed the location of this hotel, very close to Via Nationale, the main street. I would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Excellent hotel on quiet side street within walking distance of Termini Station (trains,tour buses, city buses, metro and airport train, taxi), Opera Theater, Viminale and Santa Maria Maggiore church. Very clean, has small sized elevator, comfortable bed, good sized quiet (our room faced the street) room and bath . TV in room but no English speaking channels/programs available. Excellent,cheerful, and helpful staff especially Andrea/Andrew,who offered to solve my problem re: a lost driver's license. Excellent breakfast included in room rate with cheerful staff in dining room which had very nice cafe-type Italian decor. Internet in large lounge area, as well as room. Some difficulty for handicapped persons (steps into hotel, only has steps down to breakfast area but they do have room service, elevator narrow, Rome streets can be steep, cobble stones a problem all over Rome but hotel manager offered to call taxi for sight-seeing and also arrange taxi pickup for airport. Very happy with this hotel--would recommend it and would stay here again

Room Tip: About 6 blocks to major transportation area around Termini Station. Restaurants all around area. Ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Staying here on our first trip ever to Rome, my husband and I were very pleased to find the hotel within easy walking distance of the main train station. This is the main plus point to the hotel - location! From here you can easily catch a tour bus, access the Metro, walk to many good restaurants & bars plus the beautiful Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore is almost on the doorstep.
As mentioned by other reviewers the welcome at the hotel is friendly and informative, all of the staff we encountered greeted us with a smile and a pleasant greeting. The reception staff are on hand to give you tips on how to get around the city and make the most of your trip.
Rooms are clean, small but adequate, however could do with maybe a hospitality tray, and information booklet and, or so I would have liked, a mirror in the actual bedroom instead of just the bathroom. As for the bathroom, again clean and in comparison to the bedroom was spacious, the shower was amazing, perfect to wake you in the morning!
We did have a room to the back of the hotel looking out to the courtyard, we never heard any outside noise - outside was not the problem! The interior sound proofing does not exist and at times I could have sworn there were other guests in our room, the sound of them was that clear.
Breakfast was good to get you started in the morning, bread rolls, toast, cold cuts, cereal & cheese, with coffee & juice, but there are plenty of places around if you needed something more.
When visiting room again I would definitely stay in this neighbourhood, but I think a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Corona with my wife before, but not for some years. The young man on reception was charming and very helpful, giving tips on where to go and how to get there. When we came back after a long day out, there was another gentleman on reception, who was just as helpful and charming. The location of the hotel is good. The double rooms are adequate, but we saw inside one of the single rooms and they look very small. The breakfast was an improvement on years back. A good hotel for a couple of nights, but no longer

Room Tip: Try to pick a room at the back. The rooms at the front open straight onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I went there with my wife on Sept. 2013 and Rome was the first stop on our Italian trip. We found it to be located on a nice neighborhood, on a small, quiet street near the Santa Maria Maggiore church..
Many reviews stated that there is a street market that goes on very early in the morning, and that they make too much noise... I had no problems about it, with the glass window shut there was no problem at all.
Room is comfortable and breakfast is nice, located below street level. Staff was ok.
A downside was that it was stated here that there's free wifi, and that's not true (at least in Sept.2013, when I went there)... They wanted to charge us 10euro per device, which we didn't pay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

There aren't much positives at all in this hotel at all. After travelling to several European cities, this hotel is by far the very worse. Service is very poor. Not only are the attendants rude and indifferent, the hotel limits you in many ways. Posted in the elevator is a sign that says, no eating in the rooms, lobby, reception area or waiting area, basically meaning no eating anywhere. When we tried to bring in left-over pizza from our meal into the hotel, we were stopped and told that we cannot bring pizza into the room and were forced towards a dimly lit, old, room with moldy couches to eat the pizza. What's the point of paying for a room when you cannot perform the basic need of eating in that room??

Furthermore, the room we arrived to was not clean. The bedding had stains in them. When we asked if we could get our sheets changed, the very first night we arrived, we were told that the maids were off duty and we could not have them changed.

The worst part might be that the hotel turns off the heat in the middle of the night, and then back on in the morning. I got sick from this, and during the breakfast that the hotel serves, we noticed that many of the other patrons were coughing and presumably sick as well, maybe from the fact that there is no heat during the night.

There is no free wifi offered here. Only 15 minutes for 5 euros, or 7 days unlimited for 7 euros. This seems a bit pricey, as most hotels now offer free wifi. This is the 21st century afterall.

Overall, this hotel is a family-run business that does not care about its customers, only the profit they can make off them. They do not cater at all to the customers nor care about their experience at the hotel. The only plus of this hotel, is the location. It is walking distance to Fountain of Trevi, the Colosseum and other locations. However, there are so many other hotels in this area as well. There is no reason to choose this hotel for its location when on every block you can also find other inexpensive hotels that are also close to famous sites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 3 | 00184 Roma, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Corona is situated in a quiet corner of the historical center of Rome between the Opera Theater and the Viminale and is easily reached by foot from Termini Station.The hotel is placed in a building of the 18th century, which was completely renovated and equipped with all comforts such as: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, Satellite-TV, safe, hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Corona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.