We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #647 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, we walked everywhere for our entire stay. It's clean but the decor is a bit dated. Our room was large, and double glazed, which was good as it faced onto the main road. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no fridge, and the wifi was very expensive. Staff were polite but not particularly helpful whe. We were trying to find out about visiting the Vatican - this may have been due to our lack of Italian...
Breakfast choices were limited but ok. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    61
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
54
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent a week in the City Hotel,friendly staff , clean and spacious room. The breakfast was ok,fresh coffee of your choice served at your table by a lovely lady. The location of this hotel is great, 5 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We would not hesitate we stay here again.Michael and Rachel Bloor

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantastic location..very close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Really recommendth Hop on Hop off bus tour for the day. Do the main bits during the day ,then go back to Piazza Barberini for the last trip of the day..doing this you can squeeze in Rome by night as well..full trip takes 2hours.Definately eat out over in the 'Trastevere' area..local restaurants at great prices too! The hotel is spotless.We had room 204, which did look over the main road , but the windows are double glazed and did not hear a thing. Bathroom great too. Breakfast is simple but adequate .All the staff were very friendly .Had a great holiday and will sure stay here again...and recommend to my customers(I am a travel agent after all!!)...Book it and enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

perfect location, 3mins stroll to spanish steps, 5min to trevi fountain, 30min to colleseum, 40 min to vatican.
we booked through late rooms as part of our honeymoon, we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor, rooms was good, nice bathroom, large double mirrored wardrobe, clean, better than expected to be honest.
hotel is located upstairs but there is a lift...perfectly fine lift dispite other reviews..yes its old fashioned but you are in Rome..No modern constructions! Once you get into hotel its nice and comfortable!
Staff were lovely but do try and speak to them as they can be unsure of their english but they love to try and you will get some great recommendations.
Breakfast is for the sweet toothed, pastries, jams etc
we didnt use the internet so I cannot comment but I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had to change rooms to get any wifi at all and it costs 5 Euros per hour!

Great location though...

Breakfast was terrible, with packaged cakes, and a 15 minute wait for coffee.

Best for a quick stay in the centre but not if you need to do business

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was me and my boyfriends first time abroad and also our 5 year anniversary on the 12th Sept.
The location is brilliant, we walked to the Collosseum (about 15mins) and its very close to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. But the room was very underwhelming, it looked nothing like the photos. The staff were quite rude, espcecially one man in particular who didn't say a word to us and pointed at a sign stating the water was off until further notice. No explanation, no apology, nothing in return for this inconvenience. We then had a power cut - no acknowledgement from staff again.

All that we could get over as it was a lovely romantic trip however every single morning from around 08:30 onwards there was the loudest construction like noises ever. Banging, drilling etc.. which we were not informed of. It seemed to stop in the afternoon so we would have to get up and go out then come back and have a nap - not really what we wanted and this completely ruined our trip.

We are very saddened this was where we spent our 5 year anniversary and our first holiday abroad. I hope someone from this hotel reads this and appreciates how much they ruined our time in Rome. Lucky for us we still had a lovely time, Rome was beautiful and we had a very romantic time - no thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is in a convenient location near to the Spanish steps, and Trevi fountain. However the breakfast is very basic, bread rolls and cake! The decor is very dated which you would expect in a building which is so old, even though the rooms are cleaned it does give the appearance of looking shabby. We experienced several power cuts, and on the last night the air conditioning did not come back on, plus there was no hot water for drinks at breakfast. It was so hot in the room we did open the window but the road is so noisy all the time we did not have any sleep at all and we glad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Via Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.