We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Hideous Hotel I've Ever Stayed In... And I'm No Snob!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ara Pacis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ara Pacis Hotel to your Saves list
Ara Pacis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittoria Colonna 11, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #892 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Most Hideous Hotel I've Ever Stayed In... And I'm No Snob!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I'll start with the positives: Great location, with in walking distance of just about anything you would want to see in this beautiful city!
The rest is terrible.
Bad service, horrible dark, dingy rooms. Tired, disgusting decor. I asked to move rooms straight away and did so with-out question as to why i wanted to move. As if they needed to ask, they knew they were taking the micky... €145 per night for that tiny dump! i would have expected more from a youth hostel.
I wouldn't have fed the breakfast to my dog!
I usually can only afford 3* but thus was 1* at a push.
On top of all this there was constant work on the floor above the hotel with drilling and banging from 7am which we were not informed of when booking and which the hotel staff thought was not a problem and couldn't even muster a tiny hint of sympathy let alone an apology!
AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    17
    15
    47
See reviews for
13
29
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We had booked this hotel for a romantic weekend in Rome. Hotel was possibly the worst I have ever seen. Very strange entrance via courtyard with a sign pointing to the Lift for the Hotel entrance. You have to go up to the 3rd floor to access the hotel. Rude receptionist who mumbled out the time of breakfast. Corradore to the room had ripped wallpaper and grotty thread bare carpet. The room was grotesque and smelt like someone had died in it. Can't believe somewhere like this can exist. Just don't go

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We got to the hotel early (by an hour) and was rudely turned away, until check-in. Our bed had bed bugs, the shower over-flowed and there was just one employee at the desk who was willing to help us, or answer any questions we had. The charges posted for the hotel shuttle are not correct, (when we inquired, the price was significantly higher then what was posted) and the room was so small there was no where to even keep one suitcase open. They advertise internet, but you only get it if you ask for it and only in the lobby area. Overall, we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

This hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. It is old, dirty and worn. The wallpaper is literally falling off the walls in the threadbare rooms. The bed was awful , lumpy with worn out springs and hurt my back. The bathroom was clean but the toilet seat was cracked and the shower drain was stopped up. The night manager was more than rude and pompous, he was a jerk! The breakfast was inculded and adequate. The best thing about this hotel is its location, but there are many others with just as good a location. We were given a quote for an airport taxi for our departure one day and it magically increased the next day. When we finally fought with the jerk of a manager, he finally relented. STAY AWAY!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We enjoyed staying here. The staff made us feel welcome. Minutes to everywhere. This hotel had a great location to the Vatican area and we felt safe walking around. We will definitely stay here again when we come back..

Thanks,
P. Nguyen

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Although the building is elegant and in a good position the hotel is in a state of disrepair.
The air-con was absolutely useless and no attempt was made to fix it; the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the carpet was in holes. The attitude of the day manager was unbelievable - he was rude, disinterested and just shrugged if you asked him anything.The breakfasts were rather special too - in a country that prides itself on its coffee, the muck that they served was beyond description.
It was no better than some of the hostels my son had just stayed in in Morocco and a lot more expensive.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The ONLY good thing about this hotel was that it had an elevator. Other than that, the carpet throughout the hotel is dark, old and dirty. Walking into the actual hotel (which is on the 3rd floor only) was eery because it was dark, rundown and had a weird old stench to it.

With regards to the room - I was scared to walk on the carpet with bare feet. It wasn't one large strip of carpet, but a whole bunch of squares stuck together. The wall paper was coming off the wall and there was a cobweb on the ceiling. The Air Conditioning was like a massive glorified fan which worked worse than a fan. It kept our room at about 30 degrees celsius the entire night - we could barely sleep.

They also only work with one taxi service so we went across the street to a nicer hotel and asked them to order us a taxi to the airport for the next morning - they were more than happy to oblige (it was cheaper than the service that Ara Pacis offered).

Overall, I would never stay here again. I was actually scared to sleep in that room.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ara Pacis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ara Pacis Hotel

Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 11, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #892 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ara Pacis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ara Pacis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ara Pacis
Ara Pacis Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ara Pacis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.