We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hostel in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Beehive to your Saves list
The Beehive
Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Hostel in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

I got a recommendation for the Beehive from friends who had stayed there several years ago, and was also pleasantly surprised to see it listed in Rick Steves' Rome 2007. The Beehive lived up to its reputation as a *clean*, well-run hostel conveniently located 2 blocks from the Termini train station in downtown Rome.

As 2 single 50+ women travelers, we expected to be the old-timers when we checked in. We were surprised to find that we weren't the oldest by a decade or more, and were made to feel very welcome by the staff and other guests. We were also reassured by the safety measures that including an unmarked street door with electronic lock and a reception desk staffed 24/7.

The on-site cafe is vegetarian, and produces fantastic meals from a menu that changes daily. Food is fresh, organic where possible, and produced locally. Given the cost of food in Rome, the prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was very friendly.

The free internet hook-up and local telephone service worked well. Staff were more than willing to help locate addresses and translate directions into English, as well as providing recommendations for a wash & fold laundry, internet cafe that would burn photos to a CD, and other travel services. We stayed in the dorm room, and found that the value we got was very well worth the 22 euros/night for each of us. Other guests in the private rooms told us they were also pleased with their accomodations.

I'd recommend the Beehive to anyone who is open to a hostel experience!

  • Liked — Great value, interesting travelers to meet, fantastically convenient location for the trains.
  • Disliked — Late-night truck traffic could be noisy at times.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    185
    36
    3
    6
See reviews for
92
248
145
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

This was my first experience of staying in a hostel and from conversations with more seasoned travellers I realise how fortunate I was to find the Beehive. I am mid sixties and stayed for four nights in a friendly mixed dorm and met so many engaging and interesting people of all ages and nationalities. The staff are welcoming and helpful and on arrival provide a map and extremely useful book of suggestions for your visit.
(Rather conveniently there is an English speaking tourist office immediately next door to the Beehive at 8a, where you can get added information about guided tours etc).
The hotel has an onsite vegetarian cafe offering a delicious and reasonably priced menu that changes daily - all produced to order by the obliging Gianluca and Francesca, as if by magic - and from the tiniest of kitchens. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the train station, and the whole city is easily accessible from the adjacent bus station. I did not feel in any way at risk in this area - (but as in any large city, be alert in the very crowded main tourist areas for light fingered pickpockets).
There is a resident cat so probably not suitable if you are allergic to long-haired moggies. Otherwise, and especially if you are a senior female travelling alone, I can definitely recommend this budget hotel/hostel and intend to return (if there are any vacancies after all the good reviews it has received!). NB. If you are from the EU it is not worth buying the 3 day Roma Pass. EU citizensaged 18 - 25, or over 65 can get into some sites at reduced rates or even free! Just ask and show some ID . I used a coloured photocopy of my passport and left the original in the Beehive safe. Have a good trip!

  • Liked — Friendliness and situation
  • Disliked — too short a stay
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

Arrived in Italy on the 23rd of September and this was a great hotel! Stayed in a private room which had lots of closet space and a sink to wash up. Plenty of shared bathrooms, we never had to wait! Kitchen staff was extremely friendly and they served some really good food! The hotel is easy to find and in a great location just 2 blocks from the train station. For the price, the Beehive can't be beat! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — location to train station
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

The Beehive is everything a great hostel should be...clean, friendly, helpful, conveniently located and lots of fun! From start to finish, they impressed me and my wife. Their small cafe serves delicious & modestly priced cuisine and their happy hour creates a very social atmosphere. They even helped me surprise my wife with flowers and candy in our room when we arrived! The rooms are immaculately clean and very bright and colorful. The staff is very helpful and made sure we were taken care of. The bathrooms are shared, but very clean and stocked with wonderful organic soap and shampoo. I loved everything about the Beehive and would undoubtedly recommend it to friends and family visiting Rome...just book in advance :).

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Great big rooms, gorgeous resident cat, tasty cafe, free internet, exceptionally clean and friendly, 3 mins walk maximum from Termini. Very safe.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Stayed at The Beehive the last week in June. It's a hostel/hotel with both dormitory facilities and private rooms.

The location:
Located two short blocks away from the main Rome train terminal. No need to take taxi, it's a 5 minute walk, 10 second cab ride. At first I was concerned about the "seediness" of the train station area after reading reviews. However, The Beehive is located on the right side (lower track number) of the train station. The street that it's on is a parking area for local travelers, thus, filled with scooters. I arrived at midnight, and felt totally fine walking down that street. It's the other side of the train track that is quite seedy. The buses all end up at the Rome terminal, and the metro is downstairs from the station.

The decor:
small reservation desk and a small sitting area, 24 hour staffed. The place is decorated with budget but functional Ikea style lamps and furnishing. Recessed lighting throughout the reception area and hallway. The floor is tile. The place is also an art space thus the walls display the work from an artist. The place just looks clean, fresh, with minimalist decorations.
There's a small sitting/garden area at the entrance when you first come through the metal door. There are trees that provided shade at all hours. It's a nice place to sit with a glass of wine. The front desk staff is very helpful. They provide you with a list of recommended restaurants and sights to see, and a map.

The room:
Reserved a double room, which consisted of 2 twin beds pushed together. The room is a very nice size, surprised after reading about how small hotel rooms are in Europe. The room is furnished again, with budget but functional Ikea style lamps and chair. There's a washbasin, towel rack, and a toiletries shelf in the room. There's a phone in the room and local calls are free, making it convenient for you to make reservations if needed. Bathroom facilities are shared but they are the cleanest and in the best shape of all the places we stayed at in our 6-week trip throughout Europe. There are plenty to share, never had to wait. There's no AC in the rooms, but a ceiling fan that worked very well in cooling us down from a day of sightseeing. Our room faced the street/garden thus we had very little sunlight come through our room which helped in keeping the room cool. The hotel is environmentally friendly so they don't give you new towels everyday, but if you ask, I'm sure they'll give you new ones. Your bed is made everyday. The only negative is that the street, while residential, does get noisy with cars and scooter especially in the morning. The room is also fairly close to the reception area thus you can hear people coming and going. I highly recommend earplugs. They do have rooms on the other side that opens up into a courtyard of a residential complex. The noise level might be lower there, but not positive. Also, no TV, and no clock.

The cafe:
Highly highly recommend you eat there. After 2 days of eating cold sandwiches, and paying high prices for salty mediocre pastas, we ate at the hotel whenever we can. The food is freshly cooked, using fresh and organic (when they can) ingredients. I got tired of small, sweet pastries after a few days and had scrambled eggs for breakfast at the hotel. It was GOOD!! They have happy hour everyday, where you get 2 drinks and a small snack for only 4 euros, you can't get that anywhere else.

Lastly, FREE INTERNET!! Yes, they have a Mac downstairs in the dining area for you to use.

I loved this hotel, highly recommend it and would stay there again. Next time I am buying their organic hand-made soap (they give you some in your room), they smell so good.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — noise, but it's tolerable. My husband slept fine w/out earplugs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

On a Grand Tour of Europe with my now husband and a good friend of ours in 2001, we were treated to the Beehive experience. After our hostel in Amsterdam, I had pretty much had it with the hostel experience, little did I know that the Beehive was not your average hostel. We were lucky enough to arrive on the anniversary of their opening and were greeted with champagne. Though we stayed in the dormitory section of the hostel, the cheapest, we met some lovely people and spent our first evening in Rome wandering around with them. The clientèle is made up of young travelers who appreciate the finer things in life, and the clean and orderly Beehive offers an oasis of calm and loveliness not usually associated with hostels.

Since our last visit, I understand that they have branched out and now offer private rooms for $75 USD per night-still a steal in pricey Rome. They are within walking distance of many attractions--the Trevi Fountain among them, and the owners are lovely. I highly recommend the Beehive to any traveler who is budget savvy but appreciates quality.

  • Liked — The ex-pat owners and the location
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a stylish, budget, eco-conscious hotel/hostel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive Hotel reflects our own personal values - we're conscious about the environment, passionate about social issues, and genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beehive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.