We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quit and nice hotel (Silva Roma)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Silva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Silva
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Antonio Bosio 20-A, 00161 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,832 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
“Very quit and nice hotel (Silva Roma)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel in very quite and nice place. The place is only about 3 km from the center. One can go to most of the attractions with only one bus (62). This will make life easy when you have baby-car (Kinderwagen). The rooms are air conditioned with beutiful style. The rooms are big and clean. pathrooms also are very clean and nice. The brakefast is what i used to in the German hotels, it is quite littel but it taste nice. But I heard that is the normal brake fast in the Italian hotels. I recommend the hotel, specaily to families, or to married people, it is romantic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    24
    20
    13
See reviews for
21
26
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Poor service, had to relocate to another hotel due to the hotel over booking, tables very dirty at breakfast and not cleared, no waiter staff visible. Telephones in the hotel were not working. No clock in bedrooms, had to carry bag up and down stairs, hotel has no lift, on check out staff couldn't work the ATM/EFTPOS machine, delaying check out time. Staff appeared to ignore guests who were waitng to be served at reception. I left early.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This hotel is plagued with issues!

Firstly, the airc onditioning in our room didn't work, but after inspecting how mouldy and old the unit is, I wouldn't feel safe breathing the air from it anyways so we left it alone.

Second, and most importantly, the night clerk made us leave the key at reception when we left for the evening, and the keys are stored in a OPEN shelf (no door at all) up where it is in plain sight behind the reception desk. Prior to this, we had gone in and out several times and there was no one at the desk, and therefore no one looking after the keys! We asked if we could possibly keep our key on us and the guy responded (while smoking a cigarette) "no, you can read right there it is the policy that you must leave the key, why you look at me like that???" in a very rude tone. We asked if we could at least keep the key to the safe and he said no, you must leave all of it. Well what the hell is the point of having keys and a safe if at anytime anyone could go to our room and access it??? I could not enjoy the rest of our sightseeing feeling that our belongings weren't safe.

Third, some people have pointed out that the location is great - well, we stayed 2 nights at a different place near Termini prior to meeting our friends and after that, this location sucked! The metro station is half a km walk, and at night the area is poorly lit. There are no restaurants or stores right nearby, you have to walk at least 10-15 minutes to find anything. There is a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, meaning that not only are you in a remote location, it's not even that quite until 3 am when it closes! This hotel is NOWHERE NEAR city center and the main sights - if you want to walk it's at least 2 km and if you metro it's about 3 stations or more away.

Fourth, there is free wi-fi at the hotel but it's ad sponsored so you will get disconnected continuously.

Fifth, the water pressure is bezerk - you can't shower comfortably under so much pressure and watch out when turning on the sink!

Overall, there is nothing about this hotel that makes it worth stayng at. Value wise, it's the worse I've experienced after 7 months of travelling in Europe. Buck up, pay a few dollars more, and stay somewhere better!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is just to echo the other positive reviews. We paid only £40/night to stay here and we had a good sized room, working air-conditioning, comfortable beds and an adequate breakfast. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe and there is ample room for parking cars. To get the Metro into downtown Rome is a 10 minute walk followed by a 10 minute train ride, so although it's a little out of the downtown core, it's not at all inconvenient.

The restaurant attached was helpful, friendly and served us excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Hotel Silva, situated between Via Nomentana and Piazza Bolognia, is in a central but quite area of Rome with transport nearby that can take one to any part of Rome in reasonable time. The staff of the hotel are multilingual, welcoming and more than helpfull. The hotel and the rooms are impeccable clean all the time. The attached restaurant is one to try serving a godd and varied menu.


Salvatore Gauci

  • Liked — cleaniness and size of rooms
  • Disliked — all is good
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This is a fantastic little hotel in a perfect location for touring Rome. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel is one of the cleanest i have ever stayed in. Definately recommended. It had everything we needed.
family of budapest

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — to leave it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

This hotel was nice-there were not a lot of rooms, pretty flowers outside. The air conditioning was terrible though. We were in August during about 95-110 degree (F) (45 degrees C) weather during the day so the rooms were very hot-the air conditioning ran, but the air coming out was not even cold, we had to take ice cold showers before we went to bed. When we asked for a room with a better air conditioning, they just came and checked the air and said it was working perfectly fine. The rooms were average, the bathroom was pretty good, not very big, small shower. This hotel was a little out of the way of the tourist attractions and not in the main, busy area, and we were the only Americans in the hotel and the surrounding area. It is in walking distance to a park, restaurants, and some stores though.

  • Liked — quiet area
  • Disliked — air conditioning, location, being the only Americans
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silva

Address: Via Antonio Bosio 20-A, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,832 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silva 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Silva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silva Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.