We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 79/a, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #962 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great price for downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This review is a little late as I stayed there in 2008 with friends on back packing trip throughout Europe. The room was clean, and the location couldn't have been better! Just a 5 minute walk from Roma Centrale. Rooms were clean, front desk very helpful and the location felt very safe. When I go back to Italy, this is for sure a hotel i would check out again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    14
    16
    12
See reviews for
13
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is really awful. The rooms are very small and very old, located in some ordinal living house with "ancient" lift. The entrance is inside in the yard and is very scary when it is dark. The lift doesn't work after 22 P.M. The door is very poor and can be unlocked just if to push harder... The cover of the walls is damaged, and it seems to me some insects live inside. Furniture is old and uncomfortable, bed also, the bathroom space is so tiny that is built into the "cupboard". Wi-fi was absent. The owner of the hotel not client-oriented. I decided to cancel my booking, so firstly they were not going to give me money back, then forced to pay per one more night. As a result I found a much more better hotel nearby which is more expensive just for 10 Euro. Don't stop here, that is unfair price for terrible conditions!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Ended up staying in Rome for one night after a week of touring Italy. This was actually a deplorable place. We got there and the manager insisted we pay cash, which is weird to say the least. We were then lead to a back alley to take a shaky elevator to our room. The room was tiny and the dirtiness was evident immediately. We quickly dropped off our luggage and got out of there to explore the city. The whole time we were sightseeing we were trying to see if other hotels had rooms available. Unfortunately for us there was none considering it was a very busy weekend for Roma. In all honesty, the guy at the desk gave us the creeps and we were convinced our stuff would be stolen from our room. We finally got back at 11pm and had to give the cash to the receptionist before going to the room. The lobby (if you can call a desk and a few chairs in a room a lobby) had other guests waiting but there was nobody at the desk. We had to wait 30 minutes for someone to show up. We finally make it to our room and the grim was disgusting we quickly took shower in a two foot by two foot shower which overflowed. There was also mold growing everywhere in the bathroom and the mold smell was so overwhelming that we had to keep the door closed. When it came time to sleep I slept on top of the covers it was so gross. We woke up bright and early to get the heck out of there. I highly advise anyone considering staying here for even a day to look else where!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clean, modern, good standard, resonable prize.Excellent hotel for a short stay. We arrived around midnight. Ample parking place, quiet rooms, comfortable beds. Small but well equipped bathroom. We can recommend this hotel anytime. Mr Claudios family

Room Tip: room nr 7 verry worm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very small room - double bed, night stand, and vanity. No space to leave a suitcase open. Tiny bathroom (approx. 4' X 6') contained stall shower, sink, toilet and bidet. No room in which to turn around. Mattress and pillows were hard and had filthy covers. Thank goodness the linen was clean. Tiny elevator serving six floors - extremely slow. Had to walk outside to next door on street to reach breakfast room. Breakfast was good for a European budget hotel. Convenient to Termini Station, buses and metro. Neighborhood had many restaurants with a range of prices and was not as threatening as others have written.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sverige
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were 10 Malmø fotball fans who stayed between 15 to 18 of August and the hotel was fantastic! Clean nice rooms and the staff, Vladimir was very nice and helpful.
We paid 65 euro per night for a dobbelroom incl. breakfast and everything was just great!
We will be back for sure!
Regards Mr Kindgren from Malmø.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 79/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #962 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.