We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel,great location & staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sweet Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sweet Home to your Saves list
Hotel Sweet Home
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 47, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel,great location & staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Rome in May 2012. The location was perfect as it was close to Roma termini station. We were welcomed by Bruno who was very friendly and helpful. He also helped us come up with a plan to visit some of the important touristic attractions as we had only 2.5 days to see Rome including trip to Vatican. The rooms were very clean and spacious. WIFI is available in the room. Coffee/tea making facilities could have been provided. There is no restaurant in this hotel but there are plenty of ones around the hotel and you can have a decent breakfast at a reasonable price in some of the coffee shops at Termini station. All in all,a great hotel with excellent location and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
88
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel staff (English speaking) was very helpful and friendly. He advised us all those landmarks we should see and recommended us the tour so that we could spend our limited time wisely. The hotel is very close (5-10 mins walk) from Roma Termini station and is walking distance to the Colesseum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSweetHome, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear valued Guest,
thank you very much for your precious time spent here.
I wish to express our satisfaction because we have been able to give you something more then the simple accommodation.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sweet Home in the next future.
Please, accept our best regards
Bruno & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have so many good things to say about this place, dont know where to start from... So we were hunting for a hotel in Rome and just happened to spot the small little board put outside the hotel, and Good we spotted the place! The man on the reception 'Bruno' was so sweet, friendly and a fluent english speaker (which is a respite considering most of the italians refuse to talk in English). He gave us a good and a decently sized room, which had an old style charm to it. Wallpapered walls, Beautiful lacy curtains. I fell in love with the room at the first sight! It faced the street but even then it was not noisy at all.. clean and nicely made. Location is so central, just 2 minutes from the Termini Station. They do not provide parking, But there is wifi (so that you can tweet about the place or check into Rome on Facebook :) ). Thay even gave us discount :) Would Love to come back again!

Room Tip: Take the Street facing room.. you will like the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSweetHome, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for sharing your exeperience with us. We are really happy that you "felt in love with the room at first sight" because we try hard to keep them well maintened and attractive. Your room shoud be a place good enough to replace your home for a while and make you feel comfortable.
That is why the rooms are equipped with soundproof windows (I appreciate that you found your room "not noisy at all") and excellent WIFI signal.
We will be more then happy if you would like to choose us again for your next coming.
Our best regards

Bruno & Staff

ps: Thank you for nice words spent for me in your review, I really appreciate it. I hope that you also valued the rest of our Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our vacation to Italy. The location is great; it is about a two minute walk from the Termini Train Station. The security of the hotel is very good--you have to be buzzed in at two separate doors (identified on camera by the staff), so you can rest easy about the safety of your room and valuables. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke perfect English. The rooms were fairly clean and basic, with free wi-fi, which is a nice bonus. There was no breakfast included, no extras in the room (coffee, etc) and our room was small and noisy (we were facing the street). We had to get up quite early to catch a flight, and there was no hot water, so we were unable to shower. Overall, I would say it's a slightly above average hotel, in a good location with a friendly staff....and good for a short stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the street if you want to get a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSweetHome, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
I need to apologize for the lack of hot water occurred on the early morning of july 8th. For some unexpected reasons one of our boliers stopped working causing a decrease of water temperature. Within one hour we have been able to solve the problem. We are very sorry about the inconvenience it casued to those who used the water at dawn.
Let me express also my sorrow because the size and quietness of the room did not meet your expectation.
I am glad that you appreciated the safety of the hotel, all areas are video recorded to ensure the safety of our Guest if it might be needed. Thank you also for the appreciation of our staff and the cleanliness of your room.
We will be more then happy if you wish to give us a second chance in the near future.
Please, accept our kindest regards.
Bruno & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed in this fantastic hotel before heading to the port of Rome for a cruise.

We were delighted with our spacious room. It was spotlessly clean and had real Italian charm.Our room was ready on arrival, even though we were early, and we were allowed an extra hour the next morning which we really appreciated as we were able to get changed before our onward travel.

The owner gave us a very detailed map and advised us of the highlights we should see as our time was limited.

Security of the property was excellent as was the location, so close to Termini.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay and we would be very happy to recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your very kind review. We wish to consider it as an excellent reward for all our efforts to make all our Guests happy.

We do our job with a great passion and we are willing to get better and better, day by day.
Our Guests should find here their home, that's why we love to give advice to tour the city as a friend of yours would do. That's why we are very happy to give extra time in the room after check-out when possible
Thank you also for pointing out that your room "was spotlessly clean", we take it cleanness very seriously

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel Sweet Home.

Please accept our kindest regards
Bruno & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Travelled from Texas to Ireland this summer and took a short trip to Rome. Spent a long time checking out hotels and I picked Hotel Sweet Home because of the great reviews it got on this site. I am not writing a review to say it lived up to all the good thing people said about it. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff could not have been nicer. Well done Hotel Sweet Home! We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSweetHome, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear valued Guest
I wish to thank you very much for you review because it encourages to keep doing better and better. We truly do work diligently daily to ensure we offer a decent service becuase our Guests really deserve it. We greatly appreciate it when Guests such as you acknowledge what we do. Thank you again.
We look forward to your return
Kind regards
Bruno & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We are just back from Rome and thought this was a excellent hotel. We would definitely stay here again. The service was wonderful, if we needed anything it was seen to immediately. The staff were very friendly and helped us map out what to see and gave us great tips. They even rerouted us around a protest that we would not have known to avoid. It was perfect for a family, we had our three children with us and everyone had a bed. Clean and area felt very safe. Noone could come in without getting buzzed in. If you are looking for a good value that is clean, safe and friendly, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: We were in a room for five and it was very quite, we never had any issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sweet Home

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sweet Home 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Home Hotel
Sweet Home Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sweet Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.