We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & freindly,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luce to your Saves list
Hotel Luce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #913 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, comfortable & freindly,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The hotel is in a good location, close to all historic sites

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    46
    23
    20
See reviews for
17
58
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Whilst hotel doesn't compare to UK 4* it is very clean and comfortable. The hotel has everything you need for a short stay. Location is good for exploring the sites of rome. A nice restaurant is located next door.
The airport drop off point is 1 minutes walk from the hotel.
All the staff were extremely helpful and had excellent English.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnoyarsk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nice hotel, small and modest, but doesn't leave bad impressions. Not very attractive neighbourhood, but location is convinient. Staff's friendly, breakfast's simple but satisfactory. Everything's clean. Only flaw I can remember is thin walls - you can hear sounds from nextdoor room's bath very clearly. And rooms are small, so if you are a 'big' person - think twice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Yea I agree with other people that the rooms are very very small, but the location of the hotel is ideal in the sense that you will be in the center of the city and very near to historic place like colosseum, trvi fountain, etc. break fast is fair but what i like the most is the hospitality. I forgot to bring the can opener from home and could'nt find in the market in rome than the lady at the reception went with us in super market and helped us to find the can opener , it was a great HELP!!! thanks "Marialla". I personlly like the hotel.
Asim Ali
Pakistan

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

The room was really small, we've never seen such a tiny room before. Though they tried to decorate it in old italian style with gold colour and mirrors:)
Breakfast was moderate - flakes, coffee, some bread, cheese and salami.
Location was good for us - close to Termni station and a 20 min walk distance from main sightseengs. But the territory itself that is close to the station is not very nice, a lot of strange people there!
Also we saw a cockroach in our room!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry,Northern Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel luce for 3 nights during March,this hotel is by no means a 4 star more a 2. The staff were not in the least friendly(a smle would of been nice from any of them). Rooms were very small and the bathroom was tiny, the shower was not suitable for anyone on the big or tall side infact getting out of it was a bit on the dangerous side. We did find the hotel very clean. The position of the hotel was excellent just a 2 minute walk from the main train and metro station (termini). I will be back in Rome again an amazing city,but I wont be staying in the hotel Luce.

  • Liked — Convenience to train andmetro station
  • Disliked — Very small,staff rude
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

I think it is not a 4* hotel as it is positioned (except maybe the interior) but we spent quite a good time there.
Unfortunately, not all the staff speak english. :(

  • Disliked — Some staff do not speak english
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #913 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luce 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.