We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Church Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Church Palace to your Saves list
The Church Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #605 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in the Domus Mariae for just one night after our Mediterranean cruise. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke English. We were concerned that noise from the halls and the next room might be an issue, but things were quiet at night. While not really close to the city center, the hotel is just a few blocks from a Metro station. We ate supper in the restaurant and were very pleased. We both had pasta dishes that were very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    224
    158
    57
    29
See reviews for
133
229
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was beautiful staff really nice and helpful, breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from . Would stay here again and recommend to friends thats for sure. Cornelia metro station 5 min walk with links to all attractions and shops and restuarants within walking distance

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The outside and communal areas of this hotel are beautiful. The room we stayed in was compact but large enough for a short stay. We found the room to be quite dusty but importantly the bathroom was clean. There were a limited number of hangers in the wardrobe. The bed was clean and comfortable. The range of food offered for breakfast was excellent but we did find that we were rushed but the hotel staff who were there to clear away the tables. At one point, I had to stop them taking away my husband's breakfast whilst he was fetching a drink!!! The hotel is just a short walk from the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We'll stayed at this hotel for 4 days at the end of October 2013 and it looks good from the outside but inside is a bit dated and could do with a spruce up and the room we had was not the cleanest the bathroom door was dirty and old dirty hand prints on door and damp mould at the top inside and shower head had a mind of its own wobbling about every time u switched on also dirty marks on the room walls and the breakfast is the usual continental the milk is not chilled not good for your cereal warm milk and the scrambled egg was Luke warm and the frankfurters too and that was as soon as the breakfast room opened still it was Luke warm offerings this is not good enough it's not much to ask for food that should be hot to Be hot and the room to have been a bit cleaner walls & doors a coat of paint would do wonders the staff were ok that's the best I can say so I won't be reccomending this hotel to anyone also it's a bit out the way 6 stops on the underground to the centre and Rome is expensive or as I see it a rip off anyway happy holidays

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Positive - away from road, grand entrance, reception staff very helpful and welcoming. Restaurants nearby cheaper than in the center and good ones too! Sheets and duvet cover, all linens were good. "Safe" in room- easy to use. Air con. Window opens. Good shutters. Next to great market with fab cheeses etc

Negative-
- beds very hard ( although prefer firm to soft, but they are solid).
-4 th floor rooms in the roof, no view, velux window,
Damp damp smelly bathroom, mould behind shower door, tap green, shower head scaled up, extractor fan full of black stuff should have taken photo!
-walls like cardboard ( hear your neighbours talking, showering..etc..) felt like a prison with no outlook at all
Breakfast - reasonable choice but never topped up without being asked. More interested in laying for lunch at 0830.. And paranoid that anyone might sit on the right side of the room! That seemed to be their only interest, all looked surly, you help yourself to juice and coffee from machines. Often the scrambled egg was left empty until someone asked, same with yogurt and fruit. The bowls for fruit are tiny jam bowls - barely get a spoon in it!

No information in room at all re facilities or anything. Do not think there was a gym.. It is geared up for big groups.

We liked the area and would maybe try another room on another floor! If bathroom better.

Metro is great but watch for your exit or you will walk miles, and do lots of stairs too, at FCO airport it is miles to the gates too, caught quite a few people out, don't forget there is a train and miles of duty free shops to walk by in terminal 2! Passport control and security queues too. I wanted a bottle of water but no time to stop.

Room Tip: Try below 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, the public areas & garden were very appealing, the room was also very nice, but for three people it was way too small. With the extra bed it was pretty well wall to wall beds ! It would have been fine for two but was very cramped for three.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Domus Mariae Palazzo is an excellent choice to stay in Rome. We stayed for five nights. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Cornelia train station - Metro Line A (exit through Inerfo then Aurelia- don't make a mistake in choosing the exit, otherwise, it would be a long walk!!!). And four train stops (Octavianno) to St Peter's Basilica. The hotel is clean and offers an excellent variety of choices for breakfast.
Front desk staff and everyone were very helpful. Wifi really worked well in our room.

We definitely enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Francis and Therese
October 23-28, 2013

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Church Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Palace

Address: Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#243 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Palace is a charming 4 star Superior hotel housed in a magnificent historic building of Renaissance inspiration. The hotel has been completely renovated to meet the needs of an international clientele, but has maintained its noble and elegant lines and refined and welcoming atmosphere. Set in a private park,the hotel blends with the historic park of Villa Carpegna. Only 500 m from Cornelia Metro Station (line A - three stops from the Vatican Museums) and 3 km from the Vatican City, the hotel with its 200 comfortable rooms offers its guests a special selection of fine dining with three restaurants and a coffee lounge. The conference centre is set up with a large auditorium and ten meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology and advanced audio-visual media. Behind the beautiful cloister, right in the heart of the hotel is an unexpected and grandiose church, which is open for big concerts and prestigious events, in addition to its natural religious function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Church Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Palazzo Carpegna Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Palazzo Carpegna
Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna
Palazzo Carpegna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.