We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ideaw35 but NOT 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Church Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Church Palace to your Saves list
The Church Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely ideaw35 but NOT 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just got back from spending 7 nights here and although there were lots of positive points, if you are really looking for a 4* hotel, this might not be what you are looking for.

The setting is tranquil and lovely but part of the"grounds" were actually a public park and some of it was cordoned off. If you had a room at the side of the hotel as ours was (263) you were also woken up every morning at 7.30 with the sound of deliveries being trundled in.
The bedroom was small but functional, the bed was comfortable and the cool marble floors looked lovely. However, this also meant that you could hear every single footstep both outside in the corridor but also on the floor above! Every scrape of the chair, every opening of the door. Unfortunately at the begining of our stay, there was an American school trip there and we had to complain about then fact that we were still awake at 2.30 am because of the constant noise. The bathroom was small and the shower was very poor but I have to say it was always cleaned to a good standard. There were no tea/coffee facitilies in the room or any other "luxuries" like a trouser press or decent hair dryer (the one in the bathroom was rubbish) This was a real downside for us as we like to be able to have a cuppa in our room!
For the whole of the time that we were there, "renovations" were taking place, which should have been made clear at the time of booking because we would have not booked! It was noisy and dusty on occasion and once again places were off limits.

Free WiFi means only in communal areas and within a very limited space. T.V very expensive if you wanted to watch anything other the BBC world news or CNN but if you are out and about, this should not be too much of a problem.

Breakfast was very good for variety but very poor for quality. It felt a bit like a cafe as you get you coffee, juice etc from a machine. Cooked breakfast for me was inedible. Food in the Cloisters Bar was great and although the food in the restaurant was good, the menu was very limited and quite expensive.

You also need to be aware that this has conference halls which seem to be used fairly frequently and seems to be the hotel choice of many large groups. If you are looking for a cosy, intimate place then this is not it.

ALL of the staff were very polite and helpful and the service from them was second to none.
All in all, a good stay, spacious lounges, some lovely interiors, great staff but not worth 4* and definitely not a place that I would go back to when visiting Rome again.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the side unless you want a noisy wake-up call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    224
    160
    57
    30
See reviews for
133
230
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel twice. The hotel is spotless, and in lovely surroundings. The breakfasts are excellent, and the room service is second to none. Very close so Aurelia metro stop, fantastic restaurants close by, and a very friendly pub/cafe on the walk between the metro and the hotel. Large supermarket nearby. Very safe location to stay. Beautiful marble reception area. Would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: ask for an outward facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was very clean, but the room was quite small. The breakfast was great with a large variety of foods to choose from. The staff spoke very good English and were all very friendly and helpful. Food at the hotel restaurant was over-priced, but we found a lovely restaurant five minutes walk away - Joseph's on Via Accursio. Joseph's opens at 19.00, was reasonable priced and the food was lovely; we ate there each night we were not in central Rome. The hotel is located close to the Metro, which is only five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked this place with award points and based my selection on the good reviews. The hotel is clean. It is however currently under renovation. Little things like the overwhelming smell of paint fumes in the stairways, missing hand rails and unsightly garbage dumpsters on the side of the hotel were upsetting. Initially they gave us a room towards the back with a horrible view of the construction dumpster. This was my 50th birthday trip and the room with the bad view was unacceptable. The front desk person moved us to a room on the front of the hotel with a lovely view of the park. Really liked the tall windows that open up for a wonderful view. Many people gave stellar reviews of the breakfast buffet. I cannot agree. While the continental breakfast of cold meats, cheese, granola and breads were adequate, the hot food presented was abysmal. Nasty watery scrambled eggs, almost raw, limp bacon, and under cooked breakfast potatoes were inedible. Some people will woof down anything! The coffee was horribly acidic tasting dreck. Something cheap obviously. This is Italy and we were expecting some great coffee. I guess you get what you pay for. We did enjoy the granola so all was not lost. The general manager needs to either upgrade the hot food slop or eliminate it entirely.
The hotel is near the metro so it was easy to get into Rome quickly. I wouldn't have chose this place had it not been for it being booked with award points. Overall it is clean, the staff at the desk are kind and our stay was adequate. I would advise people to stay in town. The Residenza Canali, steps away from the Piazza Navona where we had stayed previously is a winner.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that faces the park. Rooms on the sides and back of the hotel are not pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is located on Via Aurelia, a bit outside of the city. Metro & bus is nearby, easily reachable by car, free parking, spacious public areas, free WiFi in the ground floor. Rooms are well equipped and very good bed, but a bit small. Bathrooms are good, everything up to the 4-* rating. Just the breakfast is a bit sub-par, coffee is instant, and cheeses are way below italian standards, but one does get a decent breakfast (and one has a good reason to walk into a bar for a good coffee soon).

Room Tip: room facing the park, not the courtyard (odd numbers in our part of the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We travel from a tropical country,so we'd expect a well working room warmer upon our arrival in the mornin. Unfortunately,it blew cold wind,instead of warm. We were freezing cold, asking hotel engineering to fix it for us while we were sightseeing the city. In the evening,when we returned, too bad there was no improvement at all. The machine still blew cold wind. We came to front office, and were surprised the evening staff knew nothing about our problem.
Perhaps the lady staffs from morning shift didn't care about their guests comfort,and preferred the guests to be freezing in room?
Thanks goodness,the evening staffs were so responsive.They made an attempt to fix the machine,and finally moved us to another room with well working warmer.

The rest are just great. Room is big for Europian size, breakfast is wonderful with lots of choices. If you come to Rome mainly to visit Vatican,then this hotel will be a good option,only 5 minutes by train. And the metro station is just around the corner.

Overall, I think this hotel still deserves its 4-star rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but if you use a device bought in the US aware that their wifi access point is using channel 13 which is not used in the US. Thus you can not use your device. The Internet you buy is too expensive and is limited per device (pathetic for an expensive hotel). Some of the personel could be a bit more smiley.

It is really close to the metro but not close to the center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Church Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Palace

Address: Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Palace is a charming 4 star Superior hotel housed in a magnificent historic building of Renaissance inspiration. The hotel has been completely renovated to meet the needs of an international clientele, but has maintained its noble and elegant lines and refined and welcoming atmosphere. Set in a private park,the hotel blends with the historic park of Villa Carpegna. Only 500 m from Cornelia Metro Station (line A - three stops from the Vatican Museums) and 3 km from the Vatican City, the hotel with its 200 comfortable rooms offers its guests a special selection of fine dining with three restaurants and a coffee lounge. The conference centre is set up with a large auditorium and ten meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology and advanced audio-visual media. Behind the beautiful cloister, right in the heart of the hotel is an unexpected and grandiose church, which is open for big concerts and prestigious events, in addition to its natural religious function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Church Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Palazzo Carpegna Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Palazzo Carpegna
Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna
Palazzo Carpegna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.