We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, easy to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Hotel Madison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marsala 60, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #805 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location, easy to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bed was comfy, and the room relatively spacious. The shower was awkward to use, it was over the bath and there was no shower curtain. So everything got wet. It also ran hot and cold. The breakfast was ok, and had scrambled eggs and bacon as well as fruit and pastries.
Wifi was useless, and they recommended I use an internet cafe!
One of the reception guys was particularly helpful in finding a tour for us. A laundromat is around the corner, and the main Termini station is just across the road.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    156
    131
    60
    56
See reviews for
106
119
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This hotel is perfect. Located seconds away from Termini Train station and just a few stops from the historical centre of Rome. Shops can be found next to the hotel. Rooms are clean, breakfast is typical Italian and the coffee is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hedesunda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The room was extremely small..just room for the bed, but the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was ordinary. The staff were efficient but not very friendly. The view from our window was an alley and direct insight to another room.
We enjoyed our stay however!. It all felt like a genuine Italien experience. I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Do not expect a high standard accomodation however for the price you pay the location is excellent as its a 2 minute walk to the Termini station from hwere you can access all points of interest in Rome. The rooms are old ok but you only use the room to shower and sleep.
The breakfast is a buffet with a wide variety of food.I would book again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

our experience at this hotel was bad. all the staff working at the hotel are very unprofessional, when we first arrived they claimed that we have problems in our credit card which was not the case. the water in the room was so bad either tooo hot or too cold suddenly we couldnt take a shower. we claimed abt that problem so many times but they didnt care at all. they were treating us as if we are sleeping for free.although the hotel is next to termini station but the area there is the worst area of Rome full of thieves and the so-called "street people"
the staff down at the lobby dont even bother to smile or say goodmorning
i really dont recommend this hotel to anybody ESPECIALLY because of the bad treatment and the irrespect of the staff working at the hotel

Room Tip: i advise you to choose floor 6 as it is the highest floor away from the noise and the room must not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Read bad reviews before we arrived so I was nervous, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is so, so central I can't stress it enough. We walked to almost every attraction (colossuem, pantheon, Roman forum, all the fountains on this side of the banks) in 30mins (except the Vatican which was a 20 min bus ride because we were tired !). As for the rooms: it was perfectly clean, normal size for a double bedroom, bathroom was all marble floors and walls, clean, toilet and bidet, regular sized shower. We did have the same trouble regulating the water temp in the shower but what no one else mentioned is that it's because they are not modern showers. You have to actually adjust the temp yourself, it's not that hard. Safe in the closet, when we got up to the room it was locked so we asked if they could open it so we could set our code, a staff member did so in 5 mins with no problems, very pleasant but little English. the air con wouldn't go on Cold temp but we didn't ask how to use it just switched it off, I'm sure they would have helped if we had asked. Desk staff were courteous and helpful - but as with every Italian I met here they are not as bubbly and smiley as Irish or American staff. I don't see a problem with this when they do the job.

Regarding street noise - it's not quiet. Our room faced the entrance to termini station, so lots of car horns, ambulances etc. I lived in a city before so it didn't bother me, but if you like silence it may not be for you. It's also not a particularly "nice" area; couple of dodgy characters around but then again they are everywhere. We had no trouble.

Regarding the carpets in other reviews; I only saw carpets in the hall and lobby on our floor. They are old and worn, and a couple of stains, but they are very much part of the "old style" hotel decor with the numbers of the rooms embroidered into them etc so I can see why they are not tearing them up. And anyhow, they city is filthy itself so never mind the carpets!!

As a place to sleep for 5 nights we were very happy. Pizza bar next door is delicious and cheap too!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Was there October 15-18, 2014. Cash only. They have some bank problems and forced me to pay twice for my room - with card and cash. Still waiting for my money back. Rude stuff has spoke with me as I am a thief or planed that situation. My room was tiny and different from the pictures provided by booking.com, the breakfust was pure and location isn't so good as you can think. Termini station is quite dangerous area. My shower has only hot water or cold water and complained about that has been ignored

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Address: Via Marsala 60, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aedes Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.