We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Room just OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Art Navona

Save Saved
You added Suite Art Navona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suite Art Navona
Largo Zanardelli 20, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 548 Specialty lodging in Rome
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location Room just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The best part about Suit Art Navona was the location. As others have pointed out, it is centrally located and easy to get anywhere from the hotel. While some like a minimalist atmosphere, it wasn't my cup of tea. There is nowhere to put your clothes when you unpack, not a drawer or shelf in sight - and we splurged and got the suite since the other rooms were very very tight and am not sure you could find a place to open your suitcase except the bed. The suite had extra floor space and a single oversize chair. We asked for a desk chair so we could sit at the desk and they got us one. We had breakfast down the alley at a little cafe and although we were told we would have an "American breakfast" we were given only juice and a pastry. We asked the fellow at the reception desk and he called and sort of chewed them out for not giving us the breakfast we had paid for. We ate at the cafe for breakfast all four days and what we liked about it was that it was a hangout for locals, but what we didn't like about it is they treated us like we were invading their space and they couldn't wait for us to depart. The folks at the reception desk were great and always helpful. The hotel is very hard to find, even though it is on a very busy street because there are no signs outside. The desk clerk arranged transportation for us to the airport and we couldn't have been happier with this service, especially after haggling with a taxi about the price. The fellow gave us the same price we would have gotten from a taxi and he picked us up right at the hotel in a Mercedes. It was a very nice service. The hotel has a small elevator, which is helpful since they are on the second floor.

Room Tip: If you want a place to sit, other than the bed, ask for a suite, I felt it was worth the extra $'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

What a great Hotel. Location, Service and Room were all Five Star not Three!

Where to start with the review? If you are like me you will have read a thousand of these before taking the plunge so:

Firstly if you are visiting Rome you need to know a few things
- Space is at a premium everywhere (it’s ancient remember) so if you are on a budget don’t expect huge rooms
- There is literally thousands of Hotel’s & B&Bs in Rome
- The ‘Main’ Tourist Attractions are fairly well spread out so you can never be near everything!

Location - Located a stones throw from the Piazza Navano (our favourite Piazza as not too crowded with plenty of eateries on the off shoots) and a short walk from the Campo De Fiori which has a fresh market in the day and at night turns into a cheaper and slightly less glitzy piazza Navano!

Personally we walked everywhere but the hotel is also 1min from a taxi rank. The Vatican is 10-15 Walk, Trevi Fountain 10-15, Panthenon is 5-10, Spanish Steps 15-20, Villa Borghese 20-25 and the Colleseum is 30min max (The Walk along the Corso de Emmanuelle II takes you right past the monument to Emmanuelle also). To be honest there is so much to see in Rome at every twist and turn it’s fantastic.

Now back to the Hotel Room – Very Modern and recently renovated the décor may not suit everyone’s taste, but we found it was tasteful, minimalistic and trendy which made it feel clean and cool. There is a big Samsung TV on the Wall and an iPod dock provided (I would take a line out cable if you don’t have an apple product though). The bed was so comfortable we found it a struggle to get up in the morning, the mattresses are memory foam and just amazing to sleep in. We were on the 4th Floor and there was no noise from the street below with the windows shut. Air Conditioning also very good and we found an ambient temperature throughout the day / night even though it was roasting outside.

Bathroom – Fantastic Shower (Dinner plate size head with decent pressure), a B’day (for extra storage or use if you prefer) Nice big sink, Mirror, Hair Dryer, Clean Towels S, M, L and Robes & Slippers Provided. The whole room was done as a wet room but the shower is enclosed. I would love a bathroom like this in my house!

Breakfast – My one criticism (as my partner is a big lover of breakfast) they do not have facilities on site so you have to walk to a Café down the road 2-3 Minutes walk. The walk itself is beautiful and you also walk right past a mini supermarket where you can buy fairly priced water, parmesan, beer, wine etc. The breakfast was also lovely but only consisted of Juice, Coffee (of course) and a pastry. I only mention this if I’m being critical because we really didn’t mine there is countless places to pick up extra grub for 2-3 Euro’s all over Rome so we were not that bothered. In fact the breakfast is worth just the Coffee which can be expensive around the touristy bits (I’m looking at you hear Vatican! 12 - Euro for 2 Cappuccino’s)

Also I would say the Hotel Needs a sign out front as it was not that obvious where it was but this is a challenge only for when you arrive so again not an issue. The building is numbered though so don’t fret.

Service – Saving the best till last. Francessco, Antonio (the Italian Will Ferrell) and especially Maurizio (the Director – I hope this was your name) made our stay particularly special. I booked the hotel as a gamble as there was only one previous review as the Hotel is so new. As soon as I’d booked I emailed to ask how to get there. Within 20 minutes I received an email from reception thanking me for choosing them and offering advice on how to get there. They gave me three options from the airport and explained how long each would take and rough prices for each. I also asked to have flowers (anniversary) left in the room for my partner when we arrived. We were greeted by Orange Roses and a complementary bottle of Prosecco. I was worried I would be thrown a nasty room service charge but I shouldn’t have worried. The guys genuinely wanted us to have a great time and went out of their way to help us.

If you have read all of this then well done. I wouldn’t bother looking at any other hotels now just book this one. You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Just Mail and ask they will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in May 2012 and this hotel felt like a wonderful secret....from the outside you may not know it was a hotel, yet inside this stylish, beautiful 'boutique' bolthole, was a fantastic place to recharge the batteries from a day out in Roma. It's perfect central location, just adds to the joy this hotel has to offer...just a few paces from the wonderful vibrant square Piazza Navona - with it's bustle, street performers, artists,restaurants, beautiful architecture, the perfect place to sit and absorb the wonder of Rome. For any travellers looking for practicality mixed with style that makes you feel spoilt this hotel can cater for you. Equipped with ipod docking stations, led tv's, bathrobes, slippers, superking bed with to-die-for luxury cotton bedding, toiletries, tea-making facilities,balcony and very quirky lighting, I left the hotel feeling fresh and rejuvenated each day, and after a hard days's eating/socialising/sightseeing I loved to escape back there. Excellent accomodation

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalconte, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Suite Art Navona, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
thanks for having reviewed our property, we are very happy that you enjoyed the furniture and technical equipment of our hotel and his location. Hope to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here in May for 3 nights. The location was so nice. Our breakfast voucher sent us down the street which I wasn't sure that I liked but... what a surprise! A beautiful, narrow street with shops and restaurants - flowers, galore - led us to our breakfast place (included in the hotel price). Charming, good food. The hotel was modern, very clean, comfy bed with crisp white sheets. Flat screen tv's, well appointed bathrooms, very safe with staff on the desk at all hours, always with a smile and willing to accomodate. The architectural and design details were really well done - kept the beauty of the centuries old building and inside done contemporary with a great eye for detail. We'll stay again!

Room Tip: I had the room behind the desk which was nice for a woman travelling alone but the hotel seemed safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalconte, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Suite Art Navona, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for write about us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our service. Hope to see you again at the Suit'Art Navona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a lovely centrally located small hotel very close to the Piazza Novona. We stayed there for 4 nights in late May. The accommodations are sleek and very well designed. They have a very modern feel. The architectural details of the windows and ceilings have been respected while introducing wonderful very modern Italian design. The rooms are equipped with large flat screen TVs, fluffy robes and slippers and contemporary lighting. The hotel does not have food service, but this is not a problem. They give you a breakfast voucher for an adorable cafe with delicious items. It is a short walk down a truly lovely narrow street which we thoroughly enjoyed. Also, the front desk staff is very helpful and charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up as it will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

WOW - Excellent accomodation, Perfect location!! We stayed for three nights, in a suite. The hotel had only been open for one month and there were no other reviews, so it was a gamble, but it really worked out. The suite was spacious, fresh, modern & well equipped - ipod dock, large LED TV, superking bed with memory foam mattress, & kettle. The bathroom was cleverly fitted in a pod meaning all of the ornate ceiling was still visible - including through the rooflight in the bathroom! Fittings were very good, with walk in shower, although the water pressure not great...a common thing in Rome. Toiletries are provided, and there is a hairdryer. The staff were very friendly & helpful with excellent English. The location of the hotel could not be better - being part of a converted historic building, literally steps from Piazza Navona. In my opinion, the ideal location for seeing Rome - all of the sights are within walking distance, & there is a taxi rank / bus stop nearby. We always felt safe walking around the area at any time of day or night. Of course being so central in a big city means you must expect some noise from the street especially on Saturday night. The rooms are soundproofed & double glazed, but it cannot keep out every sound. Breakfast is provided in a pleasant coffee shop/bistro nearby the hotel, with a choice of coffee, plus fresh OJ, and a choice of eggs or pastries. We enjoyed the short stroll to breakfast, but it would be less ideal in the rain. Overall - I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Art Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Art Navona

Address: Largo Zanardelli 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 548 Specialty lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suit'Art Navona means Piazza Navona.Behind the pride of Baroque Rome, opposite to the siite of the Stadium of Domitian, this small structure located in a Renaissance palace is the ideal destination for tourists and businessmen.Near everything you have to see in Rome ... Campo dei Fiori, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza St. Peter’s basilica, the Pantheon, Montecitorio, Altare della patria, the Colosseum, Piazza di Spagna, the Trevi Fountain and Piazza della Repubblica.A small resort in the heart of the Eternal City, a mix of luxury and design and materials "Made in Italy".The dominant theme is definitely the art that you breathe in the same location of the structure, in rooms and the frequent art installations created by a contemporary artist exclusively for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Suite Art Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Art Navona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.