We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class - didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurelius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aurelius to your Saves list
Aurelius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Class - didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Planned a trip to Rome with my son for a summer vacation and booked this hotel on the recommendation of trip advisor.

When we arrived we were greeted by Dragos who went out of his way to give us a warm welcome.

The room was very clean and had everything you could need.

The tube is easy to get to as the staff do all they can to make sure you are well prepared for any trips you are looking to make.

Parking was 10 euros and right outside.

Breakfast was much better than I had anticipated with hot food, bacon, eggs, sausage and a great selection for everyone of cold meats.

The service from Ihab was absolutely first class. He always remembered your name and room number and did all he could to help.

Location is great for everywhere I. Rome and just 10mins door to door for the Vatican. Staff even helped book my tickets and printed them off for me.

Nothing was to much trouble and myself and my son were made to feel like family.

Gianfranco was like the father figure at reception, always looking out for you and great with tips on the city and Italy.

I can honestly say this is one of the very best experiences I have had at a hotel and I stay in london in 5 star hotels with work regularly.

I can't wait to book again to see my friends. Rome was a pleasure to visit die to the hotel I stayed in.

Thank you for everything.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey, how happy we are !!

We read the words left on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our Hotel Aurelius, and we felt very happy and willing to continue to work in this way.

In fact, this is precisely the way we intend our job to create the conditions so that we can feel, all together, the best atmosphere.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    121
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
239
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Aurelius for 4 nights before starting a cruise. The hotel was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there before, and we were absolutely thrilled with the recommendation! Everyone bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect. The terrace room was gorgeous and the staff was so accommodating, helping us with directions around the city, and restaurant recommendations. The location was fantastic--just a short walk to the metro, and lots of wonderful local restaurants.
I would be quick to recommend the Aurelius to anyone travelling to Rome, and in fact have already passed on a glowing recommendation to another couple we met on our way home.

Room Tip: If you can get a terrace room, grab it--you won't regret it for a minute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for talking of us on Tripadvisor in relation to your stay in Rome.

It's nice to know that, by word of mouth, our Hotel Aurelius always receives lots of new friends. This in fact is what gratifies us more: to know that each of you will go home with great memories of the days spent together.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I took my wife to the Aurelius for 3 nights as part of a surprise trip to Rome for my wife's 30th birthday and it was ideal. The room was fantastic (I think we were upgraded as had a balcony) and the staff very kindly provided prosecco so that we could celebrate on arrival. The staff were excellent - ideally located for the Metro, Renata and Gian advised us on where to go and how to get there so that we could really make the most of our time. The hotel was brilliant, the staff top notch and Rome itself. Stunning.

I'd definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Gareth,

I thank you both for the kind words left on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Aurelius during the your trip to Rome.

I always say that our small hotel is like a home where we welcome friends from all over the world. Knowing therefore the purpose of your trip we willingly offered a room upgrade.

I hope you can soon have the opportunity to return to Rome to celebrate other events.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have spent there 4 nights last week which was overall really good.

First, for those who travel with metro, after the exit gates, take the left moving stares, otherwise you could end up quite far on an area that is not familiar from google maps.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and kind.

The location is also quite good, near to the metro, so everything seems to be pretty close.

The breakfast is also exceptional.

In the neighborhood, there are restaurants and also a supermarket.

The beds were ok, tho I think instead of 1 big bed I think it was just 2 put together, but that was not a big issue.

The wifi was very slow, probably that's the biggest issue for those it counts.

Anyway, I would go there again if I would go to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the feedback left on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Aurelius.

As we always put the necessary attention to what is written in the reviews we know what can be improved.

As for the bedrooms we have both rooms with large beds and with 2 single beds. So please when you'll come back to let us present this your request.

As for the wifi, which is offered by our hotel, we apologize if sometimes the signal that comes from the operator is not fast enough.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have just come back from a lovely 6 night stay at the Hotel Aurelius. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, helping us with info about how to get around Rome etc. The breakfast was excellent and so to were our rooms, with a lovely ensuite. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub, great for relaxing. We had the hotel shuttle back to the airport which I would recommend. We arrived by the local bus which was a bit stressful as the bus driver was not helpful as to whether we were on the right bus or where to get off also his driving was a bit erratic.
The neighbourhood was great for restaurants and ice cream and the staff gave us recommendations and directions.
I really recommend this hotel, quite simply excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for wanting to share, on Tripadvisor, your experience in our Hotel Aurelius and for the wonderful words which reserves to our work.

We try daily to carry on our work as if we had a big house where host friends from all over the world. Offering the same attention and care that we would give if we were truly at home.

We realized that the best way to show how much we care for you is to do as best as possible the little things. And I'm glad you enjoyed.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We did a 5 night stay in the Aurelius & it was lovely. Room was top notch wonderful balcony with canopy. Bathroom brand new and everything really clean and inviting. Staff welcome and advice given could not be better. Really handy for metro and buses if needed. Although theres not a great deal around the hotel we ate local a few times. Its mainly coffee and ice creams not beers thats available. Breakfast was fine, nice coffee and felt very well looked after. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone. Would have been nice to have the bar open as we would have used the downstairs area more. There seems to be so much space and wonderfully decorated, thats not been used & we ended up buying wine beer etc & sitting on balcony. Good prices will be back. Foz1066

Room Tip: balcony was very useful extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are glad you enjoyed one of the new rooms of our Hotel Aurelius and he has spoken on Tripadvisor.
Property is in fact engaged in continuous jobs to improve more and more the hotel and to solve the problems that emerge from the reviews that we read.

Hope to see you again in Rome.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We came in like a hurricane, a group of 10 people who were weary from flying. Renata was fabulous, quickly checked us in and off to the rooms we went. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms were by far the biggest we had on our trip. From start to finish this hotel was great! Oh, we all also thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast. Great Rooms, Great Staff, Great Breakfast!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

always feel a sincere pleasure to read testimonials, left on Tripadvisor, regarding the stay in our Hotel Aurelius.

If though you were in 10 people were able to make your stay enjoyable, ensuring high standards and services, all of this gives us a lot of joy and enthusiasm to continue growing in this direction.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurelius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius

Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#88 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful “Boutiique Hotel”, intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station “Cornelia” and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Aurelius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurelius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.