We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Many Major Garbage Receptacles Near Front Door” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aurelius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aurelius to your Saves list
Aurelius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Many Many Major Garbage Receptacles Near Front Door”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

While we had an overall positive experience at this hotel, there are a few things that encouraged the particular rating. We would stay here again in spite of the rating with the hope that things mentioned over which the hotel has control will be assessed and hopefully resolved.

It would be wise for the Aurelius Hotel ownership to try to work with the City regarding the numerous (always full / overflowing / smelly) gigantic garbage receptacles near the entrance to the hotel. The area seemed a bit iffy, especially at night, and these giant garbage bins certainly distract from the otherwise fairly positive experience. When in the area around the hotel, walk like you know where you are going, even if you don't.

Not sure about other rooms, but ours was similar to ones in Washington, DC that we call "walk-in, back-out" rooms with so little room to maneuver. The room was clean and neat with a simple bed and desk; the bathroom appeared to have been recently tiled and was attractive and clean....not large but certainly more than adequate. The bed was small, perhaps a double/standard but after a full day of flying, sleep comes easily. Considering we go to the city to enjoy the history, architecture, art, etc., the size of the room becomes less significant.

Hotels are expensive in Rome and this property offered rates that were a bit less, likely because it is not in the city center. However, the excellent subway offers easy access to all the locations of interest, and the Metro is easy to use as it has only 2 lines. For example, we hopped on for a short ride to the Colosseum from which we meandered around the various points of interest ending our day at the Spanish Steps where there is a Metro stop. Everything is crowded in Rome including the subway, and as always, wear a safety pouch with your items and money tucked under your cloths and into you waist/abdominal area out of sight.

Breakfast was good and included scrambled eggs, meats (for those who eat meat), fresh tomatoes, variety of biscuits (cookies), some fruit, fresh pastries/croissant-type items, machine to brew cappuccino, espresso, American-style coffee, etc. Adequate to get you off to a good day of touring. Service staff were friendly and helpful.

The front desk staff was very helpful with maps, directions to Metro, sharing the history of this hotel that was once a private home, etc. The lobby's computer was a nice resource for checking emails, etc. when one does not have own computer or smart phone in hand. The sitting areas / lounge were comfortable and inviting in typical European style.

We likely would stay here again for the positives mentioned but would request a larger room and bed if staying longer and would hope the city had cleaned up the area to make it more appealing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
reading the reviews on Tripadvisor that concern us we were surprised to see the score given to our Hotel Aurelius. We thought it was wrong all during your stay.
Reading, then, we understand that the vote was not directed to the hotel (where you would like to come back), but to external services that we will try, with the help of public administration, to improve but do not depend on us.
Perhaps, and we say it with a smile on lips, was more real to assign to Hotel Aurelius an evaluation of the services provided and to the town a severe judgment.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    121
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
239
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in late September, 3 adults in a triple room (no 344). Well... it was a double (as clearly stated on the fire-escape plan), but very large by Rome standards, so pretty comfortable for us.

Pros: PRICE (big advantage compared with accommodation prices in Rome); location, very close to Cornelia metro station and to a bus station - direct line to the Vatican; lots of shops around; breakfast - good quality; large bathroom, high quality towels, changed every day; very good housekeeping - spotless clean throughout our stay; very helpful personnel (thank you, Renata!); air-con worked very well; minibar - large enough to put your own stuff in it.

Cons: beds not that comfortable to sleep in; wardrobe - not big enough for 3 people; blankets - need a good washing; breakfast - pretty much the same everyday, which is not OK when you stay for a week; very small shower cubicle in an otherwise large bathroom!; smallest TV I've ever seen; poor signal from TV satellite; no channels in English, all Italian, only one in French; safe - not big enough for a laptop; the surrounding area doesn't seem very safe later in the evening/ at night.

Room Tip: Our room (no 344) was in the back of the hotel, but still the terrible noise of the Via Aurelia very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for having spent at the Hotel Aurelius your stay in Rome. And thank you for wanting to share your experience with Tripadvisor members.
Reading the personal observations we were not happy because we would always leave a positive memory to 100%.
But we will certainly use your observation to continue to improve.
And for this reason we thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very good hotel - certainly for its price. Yes I know it's not in the city center but the underground is really close! Just around the corner! And the metro system in Rome is very easy so you're at the popular places within 15minutes or so.
Furthermore there are two gelateria's, a McDonalds, a couple pizzeria's and some mini-supermarkets. So if you go to the hotel late in the evening you can still find something to eat to take with you.

The service is incredible. Our host (lady) was super friendly at the check-in and was practically at the lobby everytime we got in our out the hotel. Whether it was for access to the whirlpool, a problem with the safe in our room or even the access to our room, she was always there for us. Same for the older guy who just chatted with us while waiting on our taxi. And breakfast staff too - there all really really nice, polite and helpful. Something pretty rare in Italy, apparently...

Btw, there's no actual swimming pool, but we had problems with the whirlpool. They'd cleaned it during our stay and when we used it, there should've been some cleaning product left or so because when we entered, our eyes got completely irritated (redness and itchy). But I guess that problem was just temporarily. The friendly lady thought it was because of the chloride like in swimming pools, but neither my boyfriend nor myself ever experienced something like that.

Our room was always clean - we even got a weather note every morning at our door. Breakfast is simple but certainly tasty. Really good coffee and nice biscuits!

The hotel is rather small but charming, decorated with typical classical art. And if you're not afraid of taking public transport I would REALLY recommend it to everyone who plans a city trip to Rome!

Hotel Aurelius, we thank you for such a great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks to manifest your liking on Tripadvisor for our Hotel Aurelius.
We know we have always continue in this direction to be able to get your satisfaction.
For this reason I also appreciate you've talked about the Jacuzzi: we will make sure that after each maintenance can be accessed in our wellness.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September. Initially, we were quite disappointed by the location. It is not close to the heart of Rome and it located outside the 'city ring.' There is a metro stop close to the hotel. We learned that Vatican City is within a few Metro stops from the hotel. When in the Vatican City area there is plenty of shops and restaurants - we did not find many restaurants close to the hotel. The hotel is very nice - our room was spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable - the beds provided good rest. Breakfast was filling and convenient. The staff members were all very helpful - they were informative, accommodating and kind. Other than the location, we enjoyed the hotel. If we return to Rome, we will more than likely stay somewhere closer to the major sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for the positive words, leave on Trip Advisor, addressed to our Hotel Aurelius.

We are confident, yes, that hotels in the historic center can offer more comfort. However, we hope that the family atmosphere that has surrounded you during your stay let you come back to us.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel really cares about detail. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, the hotel is clean and nicely presented, and breakfast is good. The location is slightly out of the way, but we walked to the Vatican and everything else only a few Metro stops away. Plenty of shops and places to eat in the area including a really nice gelato bar right next door. If you are looking for a clean place to stay where the staff really care about their guests, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the top floor have a huge private patio area with outdoor furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are pleased to read your comments on Trip Advisor and understand that you've been fine in our Hotel Aurelius.
Our daily commitment is to succeed in this: let you have, after returning home, a good memory of us.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

2 mins walk away from Cornelia metro station which is only few stops away from Vatican City. When you get out from the metro, turn left for the escalators and look for via Vittoria exit( not 100% sure if i got the spelling right). The room was beautiful and clean. Shower was good! The hosts were extremely helpful, friendly, and professional - nothing was too hard for them, you wished you will meet more people lilke them with great hospitality and passionate about their jobs. we had breakfasts at the hotel too, it was really good! btw, you could get a SIM card at the mobile phone shop next door; we paid 20euro for 2gb data and some credits to make international calls not bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is said that the hidden gems are the most interesting ... thanks, then, for having turned, writing on Tripadvisor, this expression to our Hotel Aurelius.
Every day we try to do our job better. Read your comments fills us with new energy.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 days in Sep 2013, we explored much of Rome prior to cruising.
This hotel is located minutes from the subway which will take you anywhere you want to go.
The hotel is super clean, the included breakfast is plentiful and the staff are excellent.
Renalda is an excellent host that helped us immensely with what to see and where to eat and is not shy when it comes to providing useful assistance. Guido is also excellent and aided us with some technical issues we encountered as well as booked transportation for us from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the ship. The other staff I met we also helpful but I did not get their names. This is an excellent place to stay! I hope we get the opportunity to return for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
reading your words on Tripadvisor about your stay at Hotel Aurelius we feel compelled to give more and more in our work.
The hotel in fact is the house where we welcome our Friends to whom we want to always do our best.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurelius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius

Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#30 Family Hotel in Rome
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#80 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#120 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful “Boutiique Hotel”, intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station “Cornelia” and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aurelius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurelius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.