We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurelius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aurelius to your Saves list
Aurelius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was by far one of the best I stayed at. I thought the location was great considering the metro was around the corner. While you are almost at the end of Line A, the Vatican is maybe 5 minutes away by Metro and maybe another 5 more minutes for the Spanish steps etc. And if you are too tired to do anymore walking around Rome, there is a supermarket across the street, a bakery down the block across the main road, and there is also a pharmacy one block further. It really was a nice location.

The hotel staff was also very helpful. When we arrived after a long night light, the front desk told us a great place to go for lunch nearby. Renata (the Polish lady) also helped us find some lovely places to eat and even printed directions so we would not get lost.

While the room was small, the bed was comfy and it was clean. The breakfast was great. There was not too much noise either so sleeping at night was not a problem.

Considering it was off season, we also got a good deal. We booked our stay with our flight as a package on Expedia. If we go back to Rome, we are staying at this hotel again. It was a relaxing and wonderful experience. Just what we needed on our holiday.

Oh, if you have kids, there is an ice skating rink across the street on the corner. It is mostly teenagers who hang out there.

Room Tip: If you like more space, request a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks again for spending in our hotel your recent stay in Rome.
But even more I thank you for wanting to share your thoughts with all those who attend Tripadvisor.
It's true that we are,nt in the center of the Eternal City, but just that it becomes our strength of being able to offer competitive rates.
I just want to make one thing clear: the ice rink near the hotel is not stable throughout the year, but only for a few weeks in winter.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    133
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
279
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was absolutely lovely and everything it claims to be. Location wise could be better, it seems to be on the outer skirts of where everything was but this is beneficial for the price as a customer! The hotel is right next to a metro station which means the distance isn't an issue. Even for those that prefer to stay away from Metro's Rome's metro is so simple as it only has 2 lines, between the 2 you can get to every attraction you could want to go to. There are also loads of coaches that go from the airport to the central metro station which is on both lines and makes getting from airport to hotel easy too.

We had breakfast at our hotel which I recommend because it has a great variety buffet and there isn't much else in the area for breakfast (unless you fancy McDonalds breakfast).

Staff were very helpful and knowledgable, suggested a great restaurant nearby (el gusto) that we ended up eatting at both nights because we were so impressed by the quality (and value! €20 for 2 pizzas and drinks!)

This hotel is not in a touristy area (which I prefer) you can tell this because not many people spoke english in the shops or restaurants but gave a more authentic Italian experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

it was really a pleasure to read your testimony on Tripadvisor. And it's for us a real satisfaction to read that you stayed at our hotel in October last year. It means, in fact, you still thinking with pleasure to your stay in Rome.
As you have certainly understood we were, are and will be always at your disposal for future stays.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Came here with my girlfriend Monday stay for 3 nights . Really enjoy the hotel.Good breakfast,very good attitude ,very helpful staff especially the Polish lady on the reception.Nice and clean room ,highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
in reading your review I felt a strong sense of satisfaction. But it grew even more responsibility: we want in fact that everyone, to like you, depart from our hotel Aurelius with the utmost satisfaction.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent hotel to create unforgettable memories about Rome!
Everything is remarkable: the exterior and interior features of the building, accommodation in very cozy and clean rooms, rich and tasteful breakfast, location (within a stone's-throw of metro station Cornelia, line A), and service. However, the key point is the staff – of rare charm, helpfulness, and friendliness.
From now on, when being in Rome, I will stay only in Aurelius. Definitely recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest, I automatically feel a real sense of satisfaction in reading your testimony relating to the stay at our Hotel.
We know that every day we have to give the best of ourselves but reading your words it's comforting because it means that we are on the right track.
Thank you so much, then, for taking of your time to talk aboutus. We look forward to welcome you again because we know we can still achieve the expectations that will accompany you to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent 1 night there on the last night in Rome.
But I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
The staff were very nice and very friendly.
Even the waiter or cook was very nice.
When I reached there, even though it was a lil bit early than check in time, the staff let us check in(cuz the room was vacant.). And they guide us about tourist attractions in Rome and how to get there even recommend us the walk course.
We stayed in Small Double Room.
It was quite small as written in the name.
The bathroom is quite spacious compared to the room

And it is 5mins walk to Cornelia metro station. The station has elevators which is very convenient for those with big luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I felt very happy to read your testimony about the short stay in our hotel. The joy was very great because we were able to make you feel good in a few hours.
When we have the opportunity is really nice to be able to check in immediately. Since for each Guest we reserve the same care that we would give to friends at home.
Sometimes the room can be slightly smaller ... but if the atmosphere is that of a home you can definitely feel really good.
So many thanks for the nice words that gave us and that you wanted to share with everyone else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed few days at this wonderful hotel 2 weeks ago and our stay was just fabulous.
Very kind and friendly staff, especially receptionist Renata - the professionalist in the field. She has answered all our annoying questions. The hotel offers nice and rich breakfast and cozy rooms. Our room on the top of the building had a huge terrase with beautiful view. We have spend there our sunny mornings. A metro station is very close, just behind the corner. The place is just few minutes from the center. There is also very nice restaurant close by with typical Italian specialties and mini market opened to late hours. We definately reccommend this hotel, we have enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are aware that to get your satisfaction we are called to bring into play our best human characteristics. And I am pleased to see that we have succeeded and to read the consent on the room occupied during your stay.
The biggest thanks, however, we do it to you for deciding to take the time to share your experience in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the perfect place for me to stay in Rome, pet friendly, so many different amenities and to top that off staff that went above and beyond to make me feel at home. I would stay here again just based on the service alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Vanessa,
as you had been able to verify is important to us that all Guests warn a deep sense of satisfaction during them stay. And a bit of grief at the time of departure. As is the case when we receive friends at home.
Thank you for taking the time to talk about us and wish you a Happy 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurelius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius

Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Family Hotel in Rome
#55 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#78 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurelius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurelius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.