We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine and Food Tasting Roscioli

Wine and Food Tasting Roscioli
Via dei Giubbonari, 21, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
+39 333 778 0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 146 Food & Drink in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taste 8 Italian wines, hand-picked by Roscioli's top sommelier, accompanied by generous food pairings from our world-famous Roscioli kitchen. All wines and foods are sourced from extraordinary local producers, representing several regions of Italy. We offer group tastings, and private ones, which are custom-tailored to fit your interests.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband attend the food and wine pairing in August 2013 to celebrate our anniversary. Alessandro it an amazing host who is obviously passionate about wine and food. We sampled about 8-10 different wines, cheese, bread, pasta, meats and each pairing was divine! We are not wine experts by any means, and enjoyed Alessandro's explanations of the food and wine we were tasting. One word of caution is that you should not go to this expecting a huge meal, but honestly by the time you are done sampling all of the different dishes and wines, you will not leave hungry! We also enjoyed the fact that the wine tasting is limited to the number of people who attend which makes the experience much more intimate, especially after fighting the crowds in all of the other tourist attractions we visited. We met other people from all over the world that night. My only regret is not having the time to go back to Roscioli for a second meal!

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    17
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Taste wine! Ask for Alessandro Pepe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

He's the head sommelier. He is very passionate about wine, friendly and put on a wonderful tasting for us. It was one of the highlights of our trip (and we do a lot of wine tastings).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great night in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a lot of fun. Hours of Italian wines, meats and cheeses. The sommelier Alessandro obviously has great passion for what he does, and he speaks great English. The group on our night was all tourists, but it felt like we were insiders for a special event. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing, Incredible, Outstanding. A MUST in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I attended the tasting here in August and we were blown away. Alessandro is a wonderful host, charismatic, charming, funny, and most of all, an expert in food and wine.

We sampled for more wine and delicious food than we expected and greatly enjoyed the session which ran quite long (enjoyable so). We made great friends with several of the guests and went out for cocktails shortly there after.

The wine, the food, the host, all perfect, among of one of the best dining and wining experiences my wife and I have had on 5 continents.

Any and all complaints that I've read on this tasting could only be from unseasoned travellers that will complain about everything - like the noise of the wildlife on Safari or that the Caribbean is warm and the Arctic is cold.

I truly believe that nothing could be improved upon, in fact we enjoyed our dinner so much we proceeded to return to Roscioli the next night for a seated meal.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Wine testing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The restaurant offer a night of wine testing, which need to be scheduled in advance.
The evening is hosted by the owner, a wine maestro which seems to had traveled the world in search of best wine and food combinations.
Each wine is carefully selected and matched with the specific food to go with it. And when I say "specific", I mean the exact sausage from the one village in italy which makes it the right way, with Pesto sauce from the only area in Italy which uses the right kind of basil.

In total we tasted about 8-9 different types of wine, both red and white. The food, wine, service and explanations were superbe. The price is 120 euro for 2 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine and Food Tasting Roscioli also viewed

 

Been to Wine and Food Tasting Roscioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine and Food Tasting Roscioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.