We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a clean, comfortable hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Costanza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Costanza to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Costanza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale XXI Aprile 4, 00162 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a clean, comfortable hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a four-day break with friends to Rome. My friends stayed at the Hotel Triano, near the City Centre, and I stayed at the Santa Costanza. The single room I had was clean and comfortable with television, air-con, en-suite bathroom with shower and the towels were changed and the room was cleaned daily, so no faults there. However the breakfast was poor. The coffee from the machine wasn't very nice and the choice at breakfast was limited to cereals, yoghurts sweets and cold cheeses/meats. I had cheese slices and ham on bread. The toasting machine was VERY slow and also unreliable, so no toast for me and no eggs (scrambled, fried or boiled) were available either.The staff were very friendly and helpful but the hotel is out of the way and the next time I visit the lovely city of Rome I will stay somewhere closer to the centre like my friends did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    216
    116
    24
    13
See reviews for
70
175
45
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hotel Santa Constanza is a three starred hotel, located North East of Rome city centre in the Embassy quarter. It is 800m from the nearest Metro station (Bologna) which is in easy walking distance from the hotel. We booked two rooms, one was a good size, and the other (double?) was on the small size, especially for a weeks' holiday. The small room had a tiny bathroom, and it was an art navigating the bidet and keeping the water within the shower base as the curtain was less than adequate! The rooms were air conditioned which was essential as it was very warm outside.

The rooms were clean and were thoroughly cleaned each day with clean sheets on three days of our weeks' holiday and clean towels daily.

The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate, although did contain too many sweet pastries and croissants for our tastes. The quality of the drinks from the coffee machine in the restaurant left a lot to be desired! Even the cappuccino made on request was not great.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Just outside the hotel was a great cafe -'Chill Out Cafe'. We did spend a lot of time chilling out there. Excellent cappuccino's (1€) and a daily afternoon visit to sample the beers following a day's sightseeing in Rome. The nibbles were excellent - provided free of charge - pretzels, nuts, toasted sandwiches, olives, crisps. Highly reccomend!

A bonus near the tube station (Bologna) was the cheapest and best ice cream shop we could find in Rome - we did plenty of research! €1.50 for a two scoop ice cream was great value.

Good location, excellent value for money and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 112 was a large room with a balcony and wet room. Room 115 was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achrafieh, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was very nice and comfortable! The rooms were clean but slow wifi! We had a warm greeting and the reception guys were very helpful.
a bit far from the city center buy buses 310 60 and 90 pass in front of the hotel so in few minutes everything will be reachable
good breakfast and clean bathrooms, lots of places to eat close and a Carrefour and a tabbachi shop in front (bus tickets)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel did not let us down! The rooms were clean, and beautifully decorated with typical Italian decor. What really stood out was the warm and helpful greeting we had from reception, and how throughout our stay the staff were kind and friendly. The hotel is very comfortable with an amazing shower and quaint beer garden, which was a perfect ending to our long days of sightseeing. The breakfast was also faultless and gave us plenty of energy in order to do so much sightseeing! Even though the hotel is not exactly ideal walking distance into the city centre, taxi's booked from reception cost only approximately 6 euro's between the two of us. The bus stop across the road was also no hassle and was a quick journey. The location of the hotel was very pleasant, and there are very tasty places to dine along the same road; Such as the Cantonese costing under 10 euro's and an all you can eat Italian buffet including drinks for 10 euro's -bargain, and 10/10 quality! There is also a supermarket close by which provided us with 2 large bottles of water for less than 1 euro altogether! I certainly would come back here, and if you are due to stay you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Costanza, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear "Ems383"
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your nice feedback and to have chosen our Htl S.Costanza in Rome !
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you found our location a good place to stay
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the S.Costanza Htl on your next visit to Rome!
Best regards
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent 5 days here with my mom and loved it. We wanted to be away from the main tourist spots so we could experience restaurants and shopping not geared to tourists. We took a taxi to Vatican, which the hotel called for us.. Cost 17 Euros. Lots of places to eat close by at reasonable prices. If you want to spend day around hotel and shop, walk right up Nomentana and then a left on Via di Sant' Agnese and walk down hill. Past the McDonalds is a street called Viale Eritrea. The street is full of stores and cafe's. It's a 15 minute walk.
The staff at the hotel are super friendly and will help you with what ever you need. If you don't like the coffee from the machine, just ask and they will make you a delicious cappuccino The room was clean and comfortable. If you are a light sleeper you might want to bring earplugs, the walls are thin.
I hope to return to Rome one day and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Costanza, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear "RozaTinn",
Thank you for reviewing The S.Costanza Htl
I am very happy to learn that you found our room and location perfect for your necessities.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. I'll forward to all the guys of our Staff your nice words:)
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Costanza

Address: Viale XXI Aprile 4, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Costanza 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Costanza Hotel is set in a quiet residential area of Rome, away from the chaotic city centre but with excellent transport links to easily reach the major sights ( LINE B METRO BOLOGNA ). Hotel Santa Costanza is located in the center of the fantastic Nomentano district, the area with the highest concentration of embassies in the middle of patrician neighborhood and near some of the most important Roman attractions. A spacious hall shall welcome you and the comfortable breakfast room will greet you every morning. The entire building is served by Wi-Fi access and an internet point is available at reception. The hotel offers also a cosy garden with a romantic Mediterranean flavoured atmosphere, lighted by the colours of the nature. This is the great kept secret by the Hotel Santa Costanza in the Heart of Rome. Recently refurbished, we have made an effort to recreate the natural style of the gardens of the Nomentano district. The area is perfect to relax for the mix of flowers, lights, shadows and silence create a unique environment. In within the outside spaces it is possible to take advantage of the Snack /Bar services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Costanza Hotel
Santa Costanza Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Costanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.