We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, value, and location in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Palace Hotel to your Saves list
River Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,274 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, value, and location in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We arrived extremely jetlagged to this hotel too early for regular check in, and the staff was very accommodating. They stashed our luggage, and we were able to rest and enjoy some coffee on the many large comfortable sofas in the bar area until our room was ready. Our room was very clean and lovely with a window facing the street that added a quaint bit of fun. Not much space for luggage and the beds are firm but that is the status quo for Italy so shouldn't be an issue for most. Overall we really loved this hotel, and would stay there again for sure. It is within walking distance of historic sights and fabulous restaurants, except the Vatican which is only 2 Metro stops from the hotel. The Piazza de Popolo is only a block away. Be sure to catch the hotel happy hour at 6 pm as you will find the drink prices to be the best in Rome!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room if you can for more floor space for your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinanmFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in our honeymoon and we were very happy, the staff were brilliant the hotel itself very clean and beautiful in my opinion. It is great location with the piazza del popolo a few mins walk away with the villa borghese gardens the same distance away metro and tram links on the doorstep making getting I places like the airport and colosseum very easy which is what your want. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Honestly, I do not not understand how other reviewers can complain about this hotel. We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. The staff were all very friendly from reception to the breakfast room, bar and cleaning staff. You really do get back what you give.
Our room was lovely (603), bed comfy, plenty of wardrobe space, good wi fi reception and air-con quiet and very welcome. The windows even had blackout curtains, a big plus when trying to sleep. Our room was at the end of the corridor away from the lift so was very quiet. We used the hotel bar each night whether for pre-dinner or post dinner drinks, all half price and large servings, in a nice, cool relaxing area.
Fantastic position, we walked everywhere, apart from one day when we had to be at the Piazza Republic for 7.15am so used the nearby metro, so easy.
The 2 lift system was fine, we used the stairs from reception to next floor. The small lift caused quite a few laughs and comments but it was all done in good fun. (I have seen smaller lifts in Paris!)
The breakfast choice I thought was excellent, everything you could possibly want, bacon, eggs, sausage etc., cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, excellent pastries and any coffee you wished.
We had a complimentary bottle of wine in the room as it was our wedding anniversary and even the breakfast staff wished us a Happy Anniversary.
There were plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity, one just down the street to the right of the hotel if you didn't wish to travel far.
Thank you River Palace Hotel for making our first stay in Rome so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Second floor and above, away from the lift (as with all hotels I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The following is the main points about this hotel
Good location
Good Staff
Clean rooms
Excellent service
Very small rooms and baths
WI-FI is not that efficient.
So if you are looking for 3 star hotel with good service it is OK. But is very difficult to stay in room because it is too small.

Room Tip: If you looking for big rooms/baths do not chooses this hotel Service and staff are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabuharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a disastrous flight from Malta. We arrived at the hotel at 4 in the morning and had to return to the airport by 12 noon. The hotel bed was great, room was clean, breakfast was great and they bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. Convenient location. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the second part of our honeymoon after the fabulous reviews received here. However I just don't get it. Let me start with the positives. Fabulous location. A stone's throw from the metro. A few steps to the beautiful Piazza Polpolo. We were able to walk everywhere (attractions are closer than they look on the map! ). Reception staff friendly. Great recommendations on restaurants. Happy hour brilliant value. We were apparently upgraded to a deluxe room which was of an adequate size. Now onto the negatives. Quite dark and gloomy decor. Our shower head sprayed water all over the bathroom. We did advise reception and it was looked at once. The shower is just a hose attached to the bath. The 2 lifts are a bit of a pain but we took the stairs. Breakfast is very disappointing. Surly staff. Tired buffet. Wide screen telly on all the time in one room. No friendly atmosphere to be had. Not even an industrial toaster. Just 2 household ones. Cold coffee even when we requested freshly made cappuccinos. Although the half price drinks are great, again a soulless bar area with no atmosphere. I think the hotel is good value for money but they could do better. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had this hotel booked by our travel agent. The staff was so very helpful. From finding a place to eat to booking a ticket to the Vatican, they were on point. This will be a favorite stop when we come back to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#37 of 1,274 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,274 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa
Barocco Hotel
#10 of 1,274 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,274 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing